Chemical Process Design Resources
| Subject Librarian: Beth Blanton-Kent | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| General Sources of Chemical Information | |
|---|---|
|
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Safari Tech Books Online online IT handbooks Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations a> Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry |
Chemical Properties Handbook Brown Library Reference TP200 .Y35 1999 CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Astronomy Library Reference QD65 .H3 Bio/Psych Library Reference QD 65 .H3 Brown Library Reference QD65 .H3 Chemistry Library Reference QD65 .H3 Physics Library Reference QD65 .H3 Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary Brown Library Reference QD5 .C5 2001 Chemistry Library Reference QD5 .C5 2001 Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry Brown Library Reference QD4 .M33 1997 Merck Index Brown Library Reference RS51 .M4 2001 Chemistry Library Reference RS 356 .M524 2001 Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry Brown Library Reference QD5 .D495 2000 Properties of Gases and Liquids Brown Library Reference TP242 .P62 2001 Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry Brown Library Reference TP9 .U57 1985 |
Production and Processing: General Information
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed., 1991-1998
(Brown Library Reference TP9.E685)
Premier source of general information on chemical substances, industrial processes, and on unit operations and processes of chemical engineering. - Ullmann's
Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
(Also available in hardcopy as Brown Library Reference TP9.U57 1985)
Concise, comprehensive, and authoritative source of information on industrial chemistry. - Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design, 1976-
(Brown Library Reference TP9.E66)
Descriptions of chemical materials, processes, methods, practices, standards, and products of the chemical industry. - Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry, 9th ed., 1992
(Brown Library Reference TP 145.R54 1992)
Presents overview of chemical process industry and Products.
Chemical Prices
- Chembargains.com
Chembargains is an online chemicals marketplace where you can search for international suppliers and buyers for all kinds of chemical products. Traded products on the Chembargains platform include all kinds of chemical, pharmaceutical and plastic products. - Chemical Week
(Current issues shelved alphabetically in Brown Library Reading Room; bound volumes by call number in journal stacks TP1.C37)
Each issue of this journal contains the CW Price Report listing prices for a few key chemicals on both the U.S. and European markets. - Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
From the main menu select "Industry and Market News". On the next page, for "Industry Type select Chemicals, Plastics and Rubber News (or Pharmaceuticals and Cosmetics News"), for "Topic" type in the name of the chemical or substance of interest, for "Date" select a date range, then click on the "Search" button. Adding price as a keyword in the "Additional Terms" search box may increase the specificity of your results. - Factiva (formerly Dow Jones Interactive)
Full-text coverage of magazines, trade Journals and newspapers. From the homepage, click the "Publications" checkbox. In the search box enter the chemical name and any additional search terms (e.g. toluene and prices), select a date option and then click on the "Search" button. - Sigma Aldrich
Online catalog and information on over 85,000 biochemicals and organic chemicals. Registration required to view pricing information.
Patents
- United States Patent and Trademark Office
Full Text Database
A database of the full text content of U.S. patents issued from January 1, 1976 to the most recent weekly issue date. - Brown Library's Patent
and Trademark Information Research Guide
Links to other patent servers.
Company and Industry Information
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
- Factiva (formerly Dow Jones Interactive)
Full-text coverage of magazines, trade journals and newspapers. From the homepage, click the "Publications" checkbox. In the search box enter the chemical name and any additional search terms (e.g. toluene and prices), select a date option and then click on the "Search" button. To search for information on a company, click on "Companies/Markets" at the top of the main search page and follow the subsequent directions. - Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Index to engineering journals.
Chemical and Materials Properties
- MatWeb - The Online Materials Information
Resource
A commerical site that covers plastics, ceramics, and metals. - Chemical Products Desk Reference, 1990
(Brown Library Reference TP9.A7494)
Alphabetically listing of over 32,000 tradename chemical products. - Aldrich Catalog and Handbook of Fine Chemicals
(Brown Library Reference TP202.A38)
An extensive catalog of over 37,000 laboratory chemicals. Chemicals are listed in alphabetical order followed by a molecular formula index. Limited chemical properties and brief information about use, storage, etc. is often included. Includes prices for smaller quantities (a few kilograms or less, usually several hundred grams or less), not bulk. Also includes a trademark index. - Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs and Biologicals, 12th
ed., 1996
(Brown Library Reference and Permanent Reserve RS356.M524)
Contains over 10,000 chemicals, drugs and naturally occurring substances crosslisted by chemical name, common name, and formula. The index includes abbreviated lists of properties, uses, chemical structure, and production processes/preparation with some references for their laboratory synthesis. The index also includes a summary of relevant health and safety information. - Brown Library's Guide to Locating Chemical Properties
- Thermo Chemical Properties Estimations
Cost Indexes for Plants, Equipment, and Construction
- Plant Cost Index.
Included in issues of the journal Chemical Engineering. (Brown Library TN1.M45) - Marshall & Swift Equipment Cost Index.
Included in issues of the journal Chemical Engineering. (Brown Library TN1.M45) - Vatavuk Pollution Control Cost Indexes.
Included in issues of the journal Chemical Engineering. (Brown Library TN1.M45) - Builder's Construction Cost Indexes.
Included quarterly in issues of the journal ENR. (Brown Library TA1.E61) - Nelson-Farrar Cost Indexes.
Included the first issue of each month of the journal Oil and Gas. (Brown Library TN860.O4)
Equipment Information
- Chemical Process Equipment: Selection and Design, by Stanley M. Walas
(Brown Library TP157.W334 1988) - Chemical Engineering v.6, by J.M. Coulson
(Brown Library TP 155 .C69 1983 v.6)
These two books contain extensive information on the following categories of equipment:- mixing and agitation (agitated vessels and in-line mixers)
- evaporation and drying
- cooling towers
- solid-liquid separation (filtration, centrifugation, sedimentation)
- distillation and gas absorption
- disintegration, agglomeration and size-enlargement
- transfer of solids (conveyors, elevators)
- solid-gas separation (cyclones, filters)
- fluid transport equipment (pumps, compressors)
- heat-exchange
- direct fire heating (furnaces)
- crystallization
- extraction and leaching
- adsorption and ion exchange
- storage of gases and liquids (tanks)
- Ullmann's
Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, v.B4.
(Also available in hardcopy as Brown Library Reference TP9.U57 1985)
Covers reactors of various types and basic information on plant design.
Process Economics
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design, 1976-
(Brown Library Reference TP9.E66 v.43)
Volume 43 has a substantial chapter on process economics. - Ullmann's
Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, v.B4
(Also available in hardcopy as Brown Library Reference TP9.U57 1985)
Contains a chapter on process economics.
Environmental Regulations and Information
- EPA - Laws and Regulations.
EPA's listing of environmental laws and regulations. - State Environmental Regulatory
Agencies
A state-by-state list generated by the Environmental Resource Center. - Chemical Fact Sheets
A listing of chemicals from the Toxic Release Inventory. Provides information on each chemical's identity, production, use, and environmental fate.
Journals
- Chemical and Engineering News
(Held in Chemistry Library, shelved alphabetically by title. Recent issues are available on the web at http://pubs.acs.org/cen) - Chemical Engineering
(Current issues shelved alphabetically in Brown Library Reading Room; bound volumes by call number in journal stacks TN1.M45). - Chemical Market Reporter
Available through Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: click on "Industry & Market News". On the next page, for "Industry Type" select Chemicals, Plastics, and Rubber News, for "Topic" enter a search term, for "Additonal Terms" enter the publication name chemical market reporter, then click on the "Search" button. Also available in Factiva (formerly Dow Jones Interactive. - Chemical Week
(Current issues shelved alphabetically in Brown Library Reading Room; bound volumes by call number in journal stacks TP1.C37). - ENR: Engineering News Record
(Current issues shelved alphabetically in Brown Library Reading Room; bound volumes by call number in journal stacks TA1.E61). - Hydrocarbon Processing
(Current issues shelved alphabetically in Brown Library Reading Room; bound volumes by call number in journal stacks TP690.A1P4). - Oil and Gas Journal
(Current issues shelved alphabetically in Brown Library Reading Room; bound volumes by call number in journal stacks TN860.O4).
Health and Safety Resources
Chemicals and Hazardous Materials Data
- Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
(Brown Library Reference T55.3.H353 1992)
Provides hazard information for over 15,500 materials and includes chemical and physical properties. - Risk Management for Hazardous Chemicals
(Brown Library Reference T55.3.H3V55)
Profiles of chemicals and information on their risks to health, environment, and business operations. - Safe Handling of Chemicals in Industry
(Brown Library Reference T55.3.H3C37 1988)
Overviews of safety issues in handling chemicals. Includes a substantial chapter on safety in chemical and process plant design and operation. - Materials Safety Data Sheets
Texts on Chemical Process Safety
- Inherently Safer Chemical Processes
(Brown Library TP149.I47 1996)
Published for the Center for Chemical Process Safety, this text reviews design strategies. - Guidelines for Integrating Process Safety Management, Environment, Safety,
Health, and Quality
(Brown Library TP149.G8356 1996)
Guidelines developed by the Center for Chemical Process Safety (part of the AICLE). A systems approach. - Environmental, Health, and Safety Portable Handbook
(Brown Library TD145.W6697 1998)
Includes environmental, health, and safety regulations, and a section on chemical hazards. - What Went Wrong?
(Brown Library TP155.5.K54 1998)
Case histories of process plant disasters.
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
