More Materials Science Databases
ACS Publications 1962-Present
Good first database for undergraduate research. Full text of articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Compendex 1964-present
Compendex, now part of Engineering Village, is a large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences, and adds over 220,000 new abstracts each year. Includes book reviews.
CSA Materials Research Database 1966-Present
Best databases for graduate research. Compilation of materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. These specific databases are searched: Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, METADEX, WELDASEARCH
Digital Dissertations 1861-present
Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some Canadian, British, and other European universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
Engineered Materials Abstracts - Ceramics 1986-Present
CSA Illumina is designed to provide a simple, more user-friendly approach to searching for novice users while maintaining powerful options for users who require them. The interface provides access to more than 100 databases published by CSA and its publishing partners.
ENGnetBASE
An online database features 688 titles. Categories includes: Aerospace Engineering,
Civil Engineering,
Electrical Engineering,
Electronics,
General,
Industrial Engineering Management,
Machine Design,
Mechanical Engineering,
Packaging,
Biomedical Engineering,
Computer Engineering,
Electrical Engineering Communications,
Engineering Management,
Industrial Engineering & Manufacturing,
Lasers & Optical Engineering,
Manufacturing Processing,
Nanoscience/Nanotechnology,
Systems Engineering.
Knovel Library
Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection
Large collection of handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering.
METADEX 1966-Present
Comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.
NTIS - National Technical Information Service 1983-Present
NTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports.
ScienceDirect
Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
Web of Science/Web of Knowledge 1981 - Present
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately. Lists articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, 1,700 social sciences journals, and 1,100 arts and humanities journals. Frequent updates make it a good source for very recent information. Journal Citation Reports (JCR) a tool for journal evaluation (Used to find impact factors for journals), using citation data taken from over 8,000 journals in the areas of science and technology is one of the components of this database.
Good database for graduate research. Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS database includes bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals. Updated weekly.
Top of Page
Google Books
Google Book Search finds pretty much any kind of book you can imagine -- fiction, non-fiction, reference, scholarly, textbooks, children's books, scientific, medical, professional, educational, and other books of all kinds. As we add books from our library partners, our book selection will continue to broaden, and you'll also be able to find out-of-print, rare, and public domain books.
VIRGO
Information on over 5 million books, journals, and other items in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health and sciences, and law.
WorldCat
Online catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide as catalogued by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Top of Page
Materials Science Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc.
Annual Book of ASTM Standards
Call Number: TA401 .A653 (BSEL Reference)
Annual book of American Society for Testing and Materials standards
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The online version of "Handbook of Chemistry & Physics". The most accurate, reliable, and current resource available on data needed by chemists, physicists, and engineers. Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.
CRCnetBASE
CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE.
ENGnetBASE
An online database features 688 titles. Categories includes: Aerospace Engineering,
Civil Engineering,
Electrical Engineering,
Electronics,
General,
Industrial Engineering Management,
Machine Design,
Mechanical Engineering,
Packaging,
Biomedical Engineering,
Computer Engineering,
Electrical Engineering Communications,
Engineering Management,
Industrial Engineering & Manufacturing,
Lasers & Optical Engineering,
Manufacturing Processing,
Nanoscience/Nanotechnology,
Systems Engineering.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Call Number: TP9 .K54 2004 (BSEL Reference)
Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information.
Knovel Library
Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection
Large collection of handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering.
Mineral Powder Diffractin File
Call Number: QE369 .X2M58 1993 (BSEL Reference)
Search manual : sets 1-42 / compiled by the International Centre for Diffraction Data in cooperation with the American Ceramic Society
Referex
Part of Engineering Village, contains a large collection of engineering e-books and references.
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations
Online, searchable, version of the print "Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations".
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc.
Top of Page
Material Properties Web Resources
Ceramics WebBook
From the Natioanl Institute of Standards and Technology: Evaluated data, guide to data centers & sources, tools & resources.
Chemistry WebBook
This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
MatWeb: Material Property Data
Searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
MEMS & Nanotechnology Clearinghouse: Material Index
Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (MEMS). Index to materials.
Top of Page
Crystallographic Data Web Resources
Crystal Lattice Structures
This page offers a concise index of common crystal lattice structures. A graphical representation as well as useful information about the lattices can be obtained.
Crystallography Open Database
Public domain data upload to search and share.
Database of Zeolite Structures
This database provides structural information on all of the Zeolite Framework Types that have been approved by the Structure Commission of the International Zeolite Association (IZA-SC). It includes descriptions and drawings of each framework type, user-controlled animated displays of each framework type, crystallographic data and simulated powder diffraction patterns for representative materials, relevant references, detailed instructions for building models, descriptions of some families of disordered zeolite structures.
Mineralogy Database
This mineral database contains 4,442 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library.
Top of Page