Physics Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Beth Blanton-Kent | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics Also available in hardcopy in ASTR
and SEL Reference, QB14 .E534 2001 Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- eConf Electronic Conference Proceedings Archive
This site provides a fully electronic, Web-accessible archive for the proceedings of scientific conferences in High-Energy Physics and related fields. From Stanford University. - INSPEC 1969+ (Engineering Village)
INSPEC includes citations to conference proceedings in computing, electrical engineering, physics.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon
(
).
- Additional physics databases are available on the SEL
Databases page.
- Astrophysics Data System 1975+
Good for astrophysical topics.
- INSPEC 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Best database for faculty/graduate student/undergrad major research. Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in computing, electrical engineering, physics.
- INSPEC Archive Science Abstracts 1898-1968 (Ovid)
The Inspec Archive Science Abstracts provides access to 71 years of science abstracts in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, and control technology. In addition to the abstracts, this database includes the accompanying tables, graphs and diagrams when available. - IOP Electronic Journal Search
The Institute of Physics (IOP) provides full-text searching of their entire electronic journals archive back to 1874. This includes 172,000 articles. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Technical Reports Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- NTIS Database 1964+ (Engineering Village)
NTIS is the official source for government-sponsored U.S. and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. The database includes 3 million citations to reports on business and management studies, international marketing reports, materials and chemical science data, technology innovations, and training tools from 1983 to the present. - See also the library's Technical Reports Guide Page for additional resources for locating technical report literature.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Academic Info Physics
- Eric's Treasure Trove of Physics
- EINet Galaxy - Physics
- FirstGov for Science
- HyperPhysics
- National Science Digital Library
- Online Particle Physics Information
- Physics Central
- Phibot - Physics Index
- PhysicsWeb - I.O.P.
- PhysLink.com
- PhysNet
- PSIGate - Physics
- Spectroscopy Now
- WWW Virtual Library - Physics
- Yahoo Index - Physics
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- American Institute of Physics
- American Physical Society
- European Physical Society
- Institute of Physics
- International Association of Physics Students
- The Nobel Foundation
- Physics and Astronomy Departments Worldwide Directory
Preprints
- CERN Preprint Server
- Journal of Chemical Physics
- Los Alamos XXX Preprint Archive
- Mathematical Physics Preprint Server
- Particle Physics
- Preprint Database System (Dept. of Physics, UMIST)
Software, Applets, Images and Datasets
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
