Psychology Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Rebecca Pappert | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - PsycINFO 1872+ (Ebsco)
PsycINFO includes descriptions of book chapters and books in psychology and related fields. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online
Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. -
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. For each test, the database provides the name of the test author, publication information, scoring information, and the number of the Mental Measurements Yearbook in which the test was described originally. The full text for each record includes an overview of the test, a description of the test materials and time needed, and one or more reviews of the test. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon
(
).
- Additional psychology databases are available on the SEL
Databases page.
- ASSIA: Applied Social Science
Index & Abstracts 1987+ (CSA)
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. - PsycINFO 1872+ (Ebsco)
Best database for faculty/graduate student/undergrad major research. Descriptions of journal articles, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters and books in psychology and related fields. - ERIC 1966+ (Ebsco)
400 core international English-language journals and monographic series in all areas of education. - Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
A premier resource for online content from hundreds of newspapers and news programs worldwide, as well as business and legal information, medical information, statistical data and related materials. - Medline 1966+ (Ovid) or
Medline 1966+ (Ebsco)
Medline covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. - Physical Education Index 1970+ (CSA)
Covers physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sports law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, health education and physical therapy. - Sport Discus Database 1973+ (Ebsco)
Serves as a comprehensive reference library for all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. - Psychology: A Sage Full-Text Collection 1970+ (CSA)
Includes the full text of 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies and encompasses over 21,600 articles. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full-text in PDF format. - Sociological Abstracts 1963+ (CSA)
Sociology and related fields. All languages. 2000 scholarly journals. Updated quarterly. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts 1973+ (CSA)
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. - Social Services Abstracts 1980+ (CSA)
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. - Web of Science (Science Citation
Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
- Expanded Academic ASAP 1980+ (Infotrac Web)
Articles covering astronomy and general sciences, as well as religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, and sociology. - Psychology Indexes,
Abstracts, Bibliographies, and Table of Contents Services
From the University of Houston libraries. - PsycLine
Provides information about, links to, and searching of journals in psychology and social science which have an online presence.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Academic Info Psychology
- Cognitive and Psychological Sciences on the Internet
- EINet Galaxy - Psychology
- Encyclopedia of Psychology
- FirstGov for Science
- History and Philosophy of Psychology Web Resources
- Mental Health Infosource
- Mental Health Net
- National Science Digital Library
- Yahoo Index - Psychology
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- Academy for Educational Development
- American Psychological Association
- National Institute of Mental Health
Preprints
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
