Statistics Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms Safari Tech Books Online |
Dictionary of Applied Math for Engineers and Scientists |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- MathSciNet 1940+
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - Mathematical Fiction
Compiled by Alex Kasman of the College of Charleston, this database of nearly 500 stories and novels is an attempt to collect information about all significant references to mathematics in fiction. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon
(
).
- Additional statistics databases are available on the SEL
Databases page.
- Current Index to Statistics - UVA
Only. There is also a List of titles
indexed in CIS.
See also printed index:SciEngr Reference -- Z 7552 .C8 - Mathematics
Web (Elsevier)
Mathematics Web provides an integrated search of journal articles and preprints from Elsevier journals, as well as services to facilitate research in pure mathematics, applied mathematics and statistics. - Statistical Universe (Federal Service) - UVA Only
- MathSciNet 1940+
Based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, leading publications that catalog and review research literature in mathematics.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Computational Probability and Statistics Resources
- FirstGov for Science
- Internet Resources for Mathematics [pdf file, British slant]
- Internet Resources for the Mathematics Student
- Mathematical Atlas - a Guide to Modern Mathematics
- Mathematics Survey
- MathGate - An Internet Resource Catalogue for Mathematics
- MathSearch
- National Science Digital Library
- Probability Web
- Second Moment
- Statistical Science Web
- Statistics and Statistical Graphics Resources
- Statistics on the Web
- Statoo
- St@tServe
- WWW Virtual Library - Statistics
- Yahoo Index - Statistics
Preprints
- ArXiv: Math
- Mathematical Statistics Preprints (Chalmers University of Technology)
- Mathematics Preprint Server
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- American Mathematical Society
- American Risk and Insurance Association
- American Statistical Association
- Bernoulli Society
- Finnish Statistical Society
- Institute of Mathematical Statistics
- International Society for Bayesian Analysis
- International Society for Clinical Biostatistics
- International Statistical Institute
- National Institute of Statistical Sciences
- Royal Statistical Society
- Society of Actuaries
- Statistical Society of Australia
- Statistical Society of Canada
Software and Datasets
- Guide to Available Mathematical Software
- Interactive Statistical Calculation Pages
- Probability/Statistics Object Library
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
