Online Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc.
A Dictionary of Psychology
With over 11,000 entries, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. The second edition has over 400 new entries, including ‘inattentional blindness’, ‘nocebo effect’, ‘positive psychology’, and ‘rubber hand phenomenon’.
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
NetLibrary provides access to your library’s eContent collection. eContent is the digital version of books, journals, and database content. You can access your library’s eContent 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
The Handbook of Brain Theory and Neural Networks
Online version of "The Handbook of Brain Theory and Neural Networks".
The Handbook of Multisensory Processes
Online version of the "Handbook of Multisensory Processes".
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders (MITECD) is a comprehensive volume that presents essential information on communication sciences and disorders. The pertinent disorders are those that affect the production and comprehension of spoken language and include especially disorders of speech production and perception, language expression, language comprehension, voice, and hearing. Potential readers include clinical practitioners, students, and research specialists. Relatively few comprehensive books of similar design and purpose exist, so MITECD stands nearly alone as a resource for anyone interested in the broad field of communication disorders.
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences
MITECS classifies the cognitive and brain sciences into six domains: (1) computational intelligence (2) culture, cognition, and evolution (3) linguistics and language (4) neuroscience (5) philosophy, and (6) psychology. Each section contains an extended series of brief entries on the defining research topics of the domain.
The Oxford Companion to the Mind
A reference collection.
The Visual Neurosciences
Online version of "The Visual Neurosciences Volumes 1 and 2".
Web of Science Journal Abbreviations
List of journal abbreviations used in Web of Science Citation Index. The list shows the abbreviations used for journal titles as cited works. To use them in cited works searching, copy the abbreviated (boldface) title from this list and paste it in the Cited Work field on the Cited Reference Search page.
Top of Page
Selected Print Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc.
APA Dictionary of Psychology
Call Number: BF31 .A63 2007 (Bio-Psych Reference)
The volume casts a wide net over diverse subject areas within psychology's domain and related terms from anthropology, computer programming, medicine, molecular and population biology, pharmacology, physics, social services, statistics, and more.
DSM-IV-TR
Call Number: RC455.2 .C4 D536 2000 (Bio-Psych plus others)
This text revision incorporates information culled from a comprehensive literature review of research about mental disorders published since DSM-IV was completed in 1994. Stay current with important updates to DSM-IV-TR. Benefit from new research into Schizophrenia, Asperger's Disorder, and other conditions. Utilize additional information about the epidemiology and other facets of DSM conditions. Updated information is included about the associated features, culture, age, and gender features, prevalence, course, and familial pattern of mental disorders. The DSM-IV-TR brings this essential diagnostic tool up-to-date, to promote effective diagnosis, treatment, and quality of care. Now you can get all the essential diagnostic information you rely on from the DSM-IV along with important updates not found in the 1994 edition.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
Call Number: BF31 .E44 2006 (Bio-Psych Reference)
In the present dictionary, the strategy of lumping together all the various traditional descriptive labels regarding psychologists best guesses under the single descriptive term theory has been adopted. The descriptive labels of principle, law, theory, model, paradigm, effect, hypothesis and doctrine are attached to many of the entries, and all such descriptive labels are subsumed under the umbrella term theory.
The title of this dictionary emphasizes the term theory (implying both strong and weak best guesses) and is a way of indication, overall, the contents of this comprehensive dictionary in a parsimonious and felicitous fashion.
The dictionary will contain approximately 2,000 terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts. Terms and definitions are in English.
Encyclopedia of Health Psychology
Call Number: R726.7 .E53 2004 (BSEL Reference)
The Encyclopedia of Health Psychology provides a comprehensive overview of this rapidly growing field. With over 200 entries from the leading researchers, educators, and practitioners in health psychology, The Encyclopedia of Health Psychology provides the most current, extensive, and accessible single-volume treatment of the subject available. Teachers, practitioners, school nurses, healthcare providers, students, as well as expert and non-expert readers will appreciate its organization and clarity. Readers interested in the psychology of health issues throughout the lifespan will find its entries engaging and instructive, whether they deal with chronic conditions, mind-body connections, or the consequences of increased life expectancy.
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Call Number: HM626 .E53 2006 (Bio-Psych Reference)
Social evolution, human evolution, developmental psychology, and human behavior are the focus of this encyclopedia.
Handbook of Child Psychology
Call Number: BF721 .H242 1998 (Bio-Psych Reference & Education)
This authoritative four-volume reference spans the entire field of child development and has set the standard against which all other scholarly references are compared. Updated and revised to reflect the new developments in the field.
Publication Manual of the APA
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2001 (Bio-Psych & BSEL Reference plus others)
Style manual for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals across all fields. Provides clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style. Includes examples, new guidelines and advice, and more.
Top of Page
Psychology General Web Resources
American Psychological Association
The American Psychological Association aims to advance psychology as a science and profession and as a means of promoting health, education, and human welfare by the encouragement of psychology in all its branches in the broadest and most liberal manner, the promotion of research in psychology and the improvement of research methods and conditions, the improvement of the qualifications and usefulness of psychologists through high standards of ethics, conduct, education, and achievement, the establishment and maintenance of the highest standards of professional ethics and conduct of the members of the Association and the increase and diffusion of psychological knowledge through meetings, professional contacts, reports, papers, discussions, and publications
Cognitive Sciences Eprint Archive
Welcome to CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g., ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behaviour genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
History and Theory of Psychology Eprint Archive
Offered as a free service to the community of scholarly historians and theoreticians of psychology with the goal of promoting the rapid dissemination of new work in the field.
National Institute of Mental Health
Reducing the burden of mental illness and behavioral disorders through research on mind, brain, and behavior
National Mental Health Information Center
Offers resources and research on mental illness and substance abuse.
National Science Digital Library
NSDL is the Nation's online library for education and research in
Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics. Resources available through NSDL include images, video, audio, animations, software, datasets, and of course text documents such as journal articles and lessons plans. In addition, NSDL provides services such as search, browse, help, news reports, and online community discussions.
World Health Organization – Mental Health
Provides links to descriptions of activities, reports, news and events, as well as contacts and cooperating partners in the various WHO programmes and offices working on this topic. Also shown are links to related web sites and topics.
Top of Page
Psychology Career Web Resources