Databases

University of Virginia Library

PO Box 400113

Charlottesville VA 22904-4113

434.924.3021

fax: 434.924.1431

Browse By Title

A

ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature   1922-present

Search for monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. There is surprisingly little duplication with the MLA Bibliography. LiON provides an enhanced version of ABELL that adds references from selected journals and books.

ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies    1990-present

Lists articles, books, dissertations, etc. published in the U.S. and Canada and covering all aspects of East Central Europe, Russia, and the other states of the former Soviet Union. For European publications use European bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.

Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering: ANTE   1993-present

US and UK research in emerging technologies including computing, electronics, biotechnology, medicine. and construction, electrical and chemical engineering. Covers articles, tech reports, proceedings, etc.

Academic OneFile   

Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers (NY Times, 1995-) covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.

AccessMedicine   

Collection of e-books on medical science and clinical medicine plus drug information, patient education information, clinical practice guidelines and study guides. RSS feeds and podcasts provide updates. Please logout after use.

AccessUN   1944-present

Locate documents in the United Nations Official Documents System (ODS), on microfiche in Alderman's Government Information Resources department. Includes draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Several thousand of the documents are also available online with AccessUN.

AccessScience: the online encyclopedia of science & technology

Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia and its Yearbooks with additional updates, biographies, and a glossary of scientific terms.

Accessible Archives  

Fully-searchable texts and page images from The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), seven African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1860, and three newspapers of the Civil War period: The New York Herald, the Richmond Enquirer, and The Charleston Mercury.

ACLS Humanities E-Book

Large collection of e-books compiled by the American Council of Learned Societies. Topics covered include many aspects of history plus archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) Digital Library

Citations and full-text of articles from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings relating to the computing industry.

ADS: Astrophysics Data System

Full Text Citations and abstracts of articles in astronomy and physics, with links to published version and to preprints. It is also possible to search the fulltext of documents scanned for ADS.

Aerospace & High Technology Database    1962-present

Find journal articles and technical reports in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. Covers basis and applied research and technological developments in supporting research fields.

African-American Newspapers   1760-1975

Searchable text and page images for 7 African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1860. For more recent (1985-present) newspapers, see Ethnic NewsWatch.

African-American Poetry, 1760-1900

Collection of over 2,500 poems, based on William French's bibliography, Afro-American Poetry and Drama 1760-1975. See also Twentieth century African-American poetry. Both are also searchable with other texts in LION.

African American Song   

Audio recordings documenting the history of African American song, including jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives with many previously unreleased field recordings. When completed the collection will include ca. 50,000 recordings, mostly from the US but also from Haiti and the West Indies.

African Americans   

Works by and about African Americans from the UVA Library's collections.

African Journals OnLine (AJOL)    1998-present

Find articles from journals published in Africa on all subjects or browse lists of the journals by suject or by country of publication. Some articles are available in full-text.

AFSO:American Film Scripts Online

Full text scripts of major American films from the silent era on.

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics

Find full-text of articles and other papers on all aspects of agribusiness and food-related economic topics as well as many other aspects of applied economics. International coverage.

AgeLine

Citations and abstracts for both research and popular articles and books on social gerontology and aging-related research.

AGRICOLA    1970-present

Locate articles, books, tech reports, software, patents, etc. about agriculture and related life sciences.

AICT: Art Images for College Teaching     Prehistory-present

Images of art and architectural works in the public domain. The images on this site were photographed on location by the author, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial.

AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts    1982-present

Find journal articles and other publications on AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics. Concentrates on both basic science research and clinical applications.

Alternative Press Index    1969-present

Indexes alternative, radical and left newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Most are from the US, but some other countries are covered. The Alternative Press Index Archive extends coverage to 1969-1990.

Aluminium Industry Abstracts: AIA    Approximately 1972-present

Locate journal articles, tech reports, conference proceedings, books, and patents on production processes, products, applications, and business developments related to aluminum. .

America History & Life    1964-present

Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews. Old interface, not available after June 30.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies: ABSEES    1990-present

Lists articles, books, dissertations, etc. published in the U.S. and Canada and covering all aspects of East Central Europe, Russia, and the other states of the former Soviet Union. For European publications use European bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies.

American Chemical Society: ACS Publications   

Full text of articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society.

American Civil War   

Primary source material on the American Civil War, including letters, diaries and newspapers from the UVA Library's E-Text Center.

American Civil War Diaries   

Primary source material on the American Civil War, including letters, diaries and newspapers from the UVA Library's E-Text Center.

American Drama   1711-1915

Selected plays by American dramatists. Part of LiON.

American Film Institute Catalog

Provides production and cast information, plot summaries, and notes for American feature films. Part of Film Indexes Online.

American Film Scripts Online: AFSO

Full text scripts of major American films from the silent era on.

American Memory Project: Library of Congress

Primary source documents and archives for American history and culture from the Library of Congress. Includes printed text, collections of photographs, and some scanned manuscripts on topics such as African-American pamphlets, Civil War photographs, women's suffrage documents, etc. Additional collections will be added.

American Periodicals Series (APS Online)  

Full text of over 1000 magazines and journals published in the US between 1740 and 1900.

American Poetry Database     pre 1900

Includes 40,356 poems from 1,288 works by 209 American poets from the Colonial period to the early twentieth century. See also African-American Poetry, 1760-1900. Both are also searchable with other texts in LION.

America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922

Searchable full text collection of US newspapers. . For additional titles see Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers  and Historical Newspapers.  

L'Année Philologique   1949-recent

Indexes articles on the literature, languages, and history of ancient Greece and Rome from journals, books and conference proceedings. Coverage in the online version begins with 1949 and goes up to 2-3 years before the current year.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature: ABELL   1922-present

Search for monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. There is surprisingly little duplication with the MLA Bibliography. LiON provides an enhanced version of ABELL that adds references from selected journals and books.

ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering   1993-present

US and UK research in emerging technologies including computing, electronics, biotechnology, medicine. construction, electrical and chemical engineering. Covers articles, tech reports, proceedings, etc.

Anthropology Plus   1890-present

Locate articles, reports, and other materials in Anthropological Literature from Harvard's Tozzer Library and in Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute. Covers social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts: ASSIA   1987-present

Lists journal articles in areas such as health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education with emphasis on information for the practitioner.

Aqualine    1960-present

Trade, technical and scientific publications on all aspects of water resources including legislation, water management, quality and distribution, wastewater and sewage, ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: ASFA   1971-present

Premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Monitors over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.

Archives USA   

Locate manuscripts and other unique primary material in archival repositories and other collections throughout the United States. Includes the entire National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections from 1959 to the present, as well as the Index to the National Inventory of Documentary Sources.

Art Full Text   1984-present

Find articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected art periodicals published since 1929. The index is divided into two parts, Art Index Retro (1929-1984) and Art Index Full Text (1984-present). Abstracts are included from 1994 on; full-text of articles from selected journals from 1997 on.

Art Images for College Teaching: AICT     Prehistory-present   

Images of art and architectural works in the public domain. The images on this site were photographed on location by the author, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial.

Art Index Retro   1929-1984

Find articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected art periodicals published since 1929. The index is divided into two parts, Art Index Retro (1929-1984) and Art Index Full Text (1984-present). Abstracts are included from 1994 on; full-text of articles from selected journals from 1997 on.

ARTbibliographies Modern   1968-present

Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Subjects covered include 20th century art history and criticism, design, photography (from 1839), architecture, and visual culture.

ARTFL   

A full text database containing a large number of French literary works and Diderot's Encyclopédie. Although all full texts can be searched, many works can be displayed only a few pages at a time.

Article First    1990-present

Find articles from over 16,000 journals on all subjects. Also searchable through WorldCat.org

ARTstor     Prehistory-present

Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, and prints plus architecture and design. Special collections include Asian and American art, Buddhist paintings and sculpture and historic photographs (women, Native American culture). Tips on using ArtStor.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index   1981-present

Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), which can be searched together or separately. Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.

ASCE Research Library (American Society of Civil Engineers)   1995-present

Search journals and conference proceedings published by the society. Topics include engineering and architecture, coasts, energy, environment, materials, transportation, and water resources.

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts   1971-present

Locate journal articles, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature in aquatic sciences.

Asian American Drama

Searchable full text of over 250 plays, many of them otherwise unpublished. Also playbills and other production information.

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts   1987-present

Lists journal articles in areas such as health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education with emphasis on information for the practitioner.

Associated Press Photo Archive     1840-present

Large collection of photographs documents news events from 1840 to the present day with hundreds of new pictures each day. Emphasis is on North America with selective international coverage.

Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library

Citations and full-text of articles from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings relating to the computing industry.

Astrophysics Data System: ADS

Full Text Citations and abstracts of articles in astronomy and physics, with links to published version and to preprints. It is also possible to search the fulltext of documents scanned for ADS.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials

Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.

The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas

A media database with images documenting many aspects of the slave trade.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals    1973-present

Locate articles and book reviews in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history in journals from many countries. General coverage begins in the 1930s, but some journals are indexed back to the the 1860s. Many citations include abstracts.

B

Beazley Archive

Large collection of photographs and commentary on Athenian vases with smaller colelctions of gems and sculpture.

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art    1973-present

Indexes and abstracts periodicals, catalogs, essays, etc.; subjects include all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world. Includes book reviews.

The Bible in English   1530-1976

Twenty-one versions of the Bible. In addition to the thirteen complete Bibles, there are five New Testaments, two versions of the Gospels, and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah.

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft: BDSL   1983-present

The most comprehensive listing of books and articles about German literature and language.

Bibliographie Linguistique/Linguistic Bibliography: BL Online   1993-present

BL Online lists articles, books and reviews in all aspects of linguistics and on all languages. It includes the data from the print volumes of the Bibliographie Linguistique from 1993-2001 and new data from then to the present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies   1971-present

Lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.

Bibliography of Native North Americans   1500-present

Lists articles, books and other publications about the native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. Lists all titles from the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. Includes book reviews.

Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA    1973-present

Indexes and abstracts periodicals, catalogs, essays, etc.; subjects include all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world. Includes book reviews.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index   Ancient history-present

Locate biographical articles included in who's whos, general and specialized encyclopedias and biographical dictionaries.

Biography Resource Center   Ancient history-present

The full text of biographical articles from general and specialized biographical dictionaries, the Marquis Who's Who series, and a selection of journals and magazines.

Biological Abstracts   1985-present

Find journal articles on biological and biomedical research and related areas such as environmental studies, agriculture, biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology and bioengineering

Biological Sciences   1982-present

Search together most CSA databases in biological sciences. Covers a broad range of topics including biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Biology Digest   1989-present

Find key articles on the latest developments in biological research. Lengthy, descriptive abstracts.

BioMed Central   

Open access (no subscription fee) journals in the life sciences and medicine.

BioOne   1985-present

Provides searchable, full-text access to a group of journals from societies and small publishers focusing on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts   1982-present

Search a group of CSA journal indexes covering research, regulatory developments and new patents in all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, environmental and marine biology.

Birds of North America Online   

Information on bird species that nest in the U.S. and Canada, including image and video galleries and recordings of bird songs.

BL Online: Bibliographie Linguistique/Linguistic Bibliography   1993-present

BL Online lists articles, books and reviews in all aspects of linguistics and on all languages. It includes the data from the print volumes of the Bibliographie Linguistique from 1993-2001 and new data from then to the present.

Black Drama   1850-present

Searchable full text of over 1200 plays by African American dramatists. Also includes playbills and other production information.

Blackwell Synergy   

Searchable collection of the journals published by Blackwell.

Book Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences

This page is maintained by University Library staff to help you find book reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Books In Print   

Lists in-print, out-of print, and forthcoming books from the US, UK, Canada, and some other English-speaking countries. For some titles, reviews, tables of contents, and the full-text of the first chapter are also provided. Also called Global Books in Print.

British History Online    1066-present

Digital versions of many core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles, including parliamentary journals, tax records, church documents, many calendars and indexes, directories, Ordnance Survey maps, and volumes in the Victoria County History.

British Library Integrated Catalogue

Search the over 12 million works in the British Library. To search this along with other British research library catalogs use COPAC

British Poetry 1780-1910: a Hypertext Archive    1780-1910

Scholarly editions of books of poetry produced between 1780-1910.

Business and Company Resource Center   

Information about companies and industries around the world. Data includes business journals, consumer marketing data, corporate information and press releases, emerging technology reports, and various investment reports.

Business Index ASAP   1980-present

Lists articles from business, finance, management and industry periodicals, many with abstracts and full text. All titles are also included in InfoTrac Onefile.

C

CAB Direct   1973-present

Find articles, books, tech reports, bulletins, and conference proceedings in the life sciences: plant and animal science, health and nutrition, weed and pest management, natural resources, ecology, forestry, and rural development.

Cambridge Companions Complete Collection

Each of the several hundred Cambridge Companions is a collection of introductory essays on aspects of a writer, artist, philosopher, religious thinher, cultural topic or period.

CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online   prehistory-present

Images from many art museums around the world, including paintings, drawings, photographs, textiles, fashion, jewelry, books, architecture, installations, video, and performance arts.

Canadian Poetry

Poetry of Canadian authors whose works were published up to and including 1900. Part of LiON.

The Cape Coast Archive

Inventory and images of the architecture of the Cape Coast region in Ghana. A project of the Library's Digital Media Archive.

Catalogue Collectif de France: CCFR

Search simultaneously the catalogs of libraries in France.

CCH Internet Research NetWork (Business and Finance)

Online version of CCH looseleaf services, providing primary sources, analysis, and daily news updates in securities, banking, trade regulation, product liability and safety, government contracts, information technology, intellectual property, energy, and transportation law.

CCH Internet Research NetWork (Human Resources/Health, and Medical)

Online version of CCH looseleaf services, providing primary sources, analysis, and daily news updates in employment law, human resources management, payroll, pension/benefits, food and drug law, health law, and safety/OSHA/workers compensation.

CCH Internet Tax Research NetWork

Online version of CCH looseleaf services, providing primary sources, analysis, and daily news updates in securities, banking, trade regulation, product liability and safety, government contracts, information technology, energy, and transportation law.

[Census] Historical Census Browser

Examine United States population census data for any census year from 1790 to 1960, producing tables and sorting data by location and by category. Also examine selected topics across several censuses. An interactive feature allows producing a map of the selected data.

Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts   1975-present

Search for publications of all kinds on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.

CHANT: CHinese ANcient Texts   Pre-Han (pre 220AD-Six Dynasties 581 AD)

Provides full text of works from the Pre-Han (pre 220AD) period up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD). Chinese traditional IME is required for input.

Chemical Abstracts Service

Part of SciFinder Scholar which includes the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. Access requires the SciFinder software. More information and instructions on downloading SciFinder Scholar.

Chicago Tribune   1849-1985

In ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), Los Angeles Times (1881-1985). and the Washington Post (1877-1990). For more recent issues, use the Factiva database.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database   1993 - present with some older records

This database contains information and reviews on children's books, videos and audio books ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.

China Academic Journals (Zhongguo qi kan quan wen shu ju ku)  1979-Present

Over 7,200 Chinese journals in 9 collections: Science and Engineering (ABC), Agriculture, Medicine/Hygiene, Literature/History/Philosophy, Economics/Politics/Law, Education/Social Science, Electronics/Information Science. All are searchable, but UVa has full text of articles only for Literature/History/Philosophy and Economics/Politics/Law.

China Data Online

Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO's, conference proceedings, current tables of contents and article abstracts from selected journals, and full-text of selected books. Best with Internet Explorer.

Chinese Text Initiative

A project of the UVa Library's Electronic Text Center to make literary texts available.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online

Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO's, conference proceedings, current tables of contents and article abstracts from selected journals, and full-text of selected books.

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing, Allied Health Literature   (EBSCO) or CINAHL (OVID) 1982-present

Lists articles from English-language journals plus healthcare books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, professional standards, software and audiovisual materials.

Civil Engineering Abstracts    1966-present

Search for publications on civil engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.

Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse

Documents and information about civil rights cases in the United States in categories such as child welfare, school desegregation, election/voting rights, immigration, police profiling, and conditions in public housing, jails and prisons, mental health facilities, and nursing homes.

The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective   1860--1865

Searchable text and page images from The New York Herald, the Richmond Enquirer, and The Charleston Mercury, published between November 1, 1860 and April 30, 1865, including many battlefield maps and other illustrations.

CLASE/PERIÓDICA    Mid 1970s-present

Find articles in journals from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries. CLASE covers journals specializing in social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.

Classical Music Library

Over 50,000 recordings of classical music available for listening. Search or browse for works by composer, performer, instrument, period, etc.

The Cochrane Library   

A collection of databases that contain evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Contents include systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.

CogNet

Searchable collection of electronic texts, journals, and reference works for cognitive and brain sciences. The Library contains works from the MIT Press, as well as content and links to resources from other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and open source materials.

Columbia Gazetteer of the World

Encyclopedia of geographical places and features profiles every country in the world with information on demography, geography, industry, agriculture, cultural and historical points of interest, transportation, and pronunciations.

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

Full text of over 250,000 poems, mostly in English, but also including poems in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Information about and citations from thousands more poems, plus biographies of poets and analyses of poems.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGO's, conference proceedings, current tables of contents and article abstracts from selected journals, and full-text of selected books.

Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus)   1964-present

A large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.

Complete Corpus of Old English

Over 3,000 different texts in Old English.

Computer and Information Systems Abstracts   1981-present

Lists journal articles, conference proceedings, tech reports, patents, books, and industry news on topics such as artificial intelligence, information systems, computer applications and programming, hardware, software engineering and mathematics of computing.

Computer Database ASAP   1980-present

Articles about computer-related product introductions, news, and reviews about hardware, software, electronics, engineering, and communications from 1994 on. Many full-text articles. Includes book reviews.

Conference Papers Index    1982-present

Search for papers and poster sessions presented at scientific meetings. Focus is on the life sciences (including clinical medicine) and on environmental and aquatic sciences.

Congressional Universe    1789-present

Find full-text information by and about the U.S. Congress including publications, legislative histories of laws, biographical information on members, and testimony from congressional hearings; and also search the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and the National Journal.

Consortium of University Research Libraries: COPAC

Search simultaneously the catalogs of 24 of the largest university research libraries in the UK and Ireland, plus the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.

Contemporary Authors

Now a part of Literature Resource Center, CA provides detailed listings for over 100,000 writers of the 20th century from current and retrospective sources. Many entries include personal information, career summary, writings, interviews, and biographical and critical resources.

Contemporary Women's Issues   1992-present

International coverage on issues relating to women. Includes book reviews. Updated weekly.

COPAC: Consortium of University Research Libraries

Search simultaneously the catalogs of 24 of the largest university research libraries in the UK and Ireland, plus the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.

Copper Data Center Database   

Lists journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, industry news, patents, and books on copper, copper alloys and copper technology. Comprehensive, international coverage since 1965, selective coverage from 1863 to 1964.

Cornell University Library Historical Mathematics Monographs

A collection of 571 classic 19th and early 20th century mathematical works.

Corrosion Abstracts    1980-present

Search for publications of all kinds on general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance, and equipment.

CQ Political Reference Suite

Congressional Quarterly publications on the U.S. government (Congress and the Nation, Supreme Court Yearbook, Washington Information Directory, Politics in America, Vital Statistics on American Politics, Historic Documents) and world affairs (Political Handbook of the World). Emphasis is on recent information, but US document coverage begins in 1972 and legislative histories in 1945.

CQ Researcher 1991-present

In depth reports on selected issues in the news with lists of recommended books and articles.

CQ Weekly    1983-present

In depth coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.

CRCnetBase

Searchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.

CSA Illumina

Over 40 databases in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple CSA databases at the same time. Mirror Site - use if main site is down.

Current Index to Statistics   1975-present

International coverage of journals and some books in all areas of statistics including applications, methods, and theory.

D

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index   1973-present

Find articles from design and craft journals and newspapers including news items, conference reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Also includes a directory of design and craft journals with descriptions.

Database of Recorded American Music: DRAM   

Recordings of music by American composers and artists. Most of the recordings are US art music from the 20th century, but there are also collections of jazz, folk, and popular music covering particular genres and periods.

Declassified Documents Reference System   1940-1979

Searchable collection of over 70,000 scanned declassified U.S. documents from the 1940s to the 1970s taken from presidential libraries, the CIA, the FBI and other agencies. Covers the Cold War, Vietnam, the civil rights movement and other events.

Design and Applied Arts Index: DAAI   1973-present

Find articles from design and craft journals and newspapers including news items, conference reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Also includes a directory of design and craft journals with descriptions.

Diary Research: A Guide to Selected Library and Web Resources

Prepared by Alderman's Reference Services

Dictionary of American Biography (DAB)

Long essays on almost 20,000 figures from US history. DAB is included in History Resource Center.

Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds

Information about over 101,000 representative organometallic, inorganic, and coordination compounds, including formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry Numbers, synthesis, physical properties, and key literature citations

Dictionary of Literary Biography   

Now a part of Literature Resource Center, DLB traces the lives and careers of selected authors, critics, screenwriters, journalists, scholars, and publishers from all eras and genres, with lists of recommended books and articles about them.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography    Ancient history-2002

Lives of British persons from the earliest times to the end of the 20th century.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

Survey of the history of Western thought and culture. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of an important idea.

Digital National Security Archive    1985-present

Contains over 35,000 declassified documents used in foreign policy decision-making by the U.S. government. Includes some photographs. These documents have been gathered since 1985 through the use of the Freedom of Information Act by the National Security Archive.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text    1861-present

Full text (PDF) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some Canadian, British, and other European universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980.

Documenting the American South

Primary sources that document the cultural history of the American South from the Southern point of view. Includes diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles about slavery, and regional literature. Emphasis is on the 19th century.

Dyabola    1956-present

Search for book and journal articles on classical and early medieval art and archaeology. Other databases cover specific archaeological projects and the reception of classical art in the early modern period. Click in the box for "IP-Access," then on the START button.

E

Early American Fiction     1789-1850

583 volumes (440 titles) by 80 authors of early American fiction. Also searchable with other texts in LION.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800

Searchable full text with page images of books published in 17th- and 18th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language. Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography. For other early books see Early English Books Online: EEBO and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819

Searchable full text with page images of books published in early 19th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language.

Early American Newspapers, Series I. 1689-1879

Now known as America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922

Early English Books Online: EEBO    1475-1700

Searchable collection of every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. The works appear as page facsimile images and include books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars and other primary sources in all subjects. For other early books see Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.

Early English Prose Fiction    1500-1700

Contains over 200 complete works in English prose, from the period 1500 to 1700, by writers from the British Isles. Also searchable with other texts in LION.

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts   1971-present

Search for articles and research reports relating to earthquake engineering and hazard mitigation. Most citations include abstracts.

ebrary

Over 30,000 recent electronic books from university presses and other scholarly publishers. Individual titles are listed in Virgo. NOTE: Viewing texts requires onetime download of a small client program. Use Firefox for ebrary books on computers in ITC labs.

Ebsco Electronic Journals Service   

Large database listing articles from many publishers, usually with links to full text.

ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online    1701-1800

Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons printed between 1701-1800 in any language in the British Isles and North America, and in the English language throughout the rest of the world. For other early books see Early English Books Online and Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.

Ecology Abstracts   1974-present

Current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines. Includes book reviews.

EconLit   1969-present

International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews.

Economagic   

A collection of more than 100,000 economic time series that can be manipulated to produce forecasts, regression analyses and charts or downloaded to Excel spreadsheets.

Editions de Physique   

Full-text of physics journals published by Editions de Physique, including some titles on optics and materials science.

EdITLib Digital Library for Information Technology and Education   

Get articles from journals and proceedings published by the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education on all aspects of educational technology and e-learning.

Education Full Text   1983-present

Search for articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks about all aspects of education. From 1994 on includes abstracts, from 1996 on inlcudes the full text of major articles from selected journals. Includes book reviews. See Education Index Retro for coverage 1929-1983.

Education Index Retro   1929-1983

Search for articles about all aspects of education from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published before 1984. See Education Full Text for coverage 1983-present.

EEBO: Early English Books Online    1475-1700

Searchable collection of every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. The works appear as page facsimile images and include books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars and other primary sources in all subjects. For other early books see Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.

EEVL: Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library   

EEVL has been replaced by Intute: Engineering.

eHRAF WorldCultures

A searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files. Old title: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.

Ei Compendex*Plus   

A large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.

Eighteeenth Century Collection Online: ECCO   1701-1800

Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons printed between 1701-1800 in any language in the British Isles and North America, and in the English language throughout the rest of the world. For other early books see Early English Books Online and Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.

Eighteenth-Century Fiction     1700-1780

77 complete works by British novelists from the period 1700 to 1780. Also searchable with other texts from Chadwyck-Healey in LION. For related works see ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online.

Electronic Text Center - UVA Library   

The UVa Electronic Text Center's holdings include over 51,000 on- and off-line books and other texts in twelve languages, with more than 350,000 related images (book illustrations, covers, manuscripts, newspaper pages, page images, museum objects, etc.).

Electronics and Communications Abstracts   1961-present

Search for publications on such topics as circuits, components, photonics, telecommunications and telecommunications equipment.

Encyclopedia Britannica   

Fully searchable and browsable encyclopedia, also including Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Many entries have links to related web sites.

Encyclopaedia Judaica   

Comprehensive encyclopedia with over 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics   

Search the full text or browse topics. including cosmology, archeoastronomy, instrumentation, space missions, solar system, stars, and galaxies.

Encyclopaedia of Education   

The 2nd edition includes biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and a collection of documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods. Coverage is international.

Encyclopaedia of Islam   

Comprehensive encyclopedia of Islamic religion and of the culture and history of the Islamic regions. Click on "Login" to enter. Requires special fonts that can be downloaded from the site.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences   

Lengthy overview articles on many aspects of life sciences.

Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems: EOLSS   

16 interlinked encyclopedias to show "transdisciplinary aspects of the relationship between nature and human society." Covers topics in social sciences and humanities as well the life, physical, and applied sciences.

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics   

The articles consider both the professional ethics of science and technology and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa   

Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, including Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Articles on each country detail its population, economy and government.

Energy Citations Database    1948-present

Scientific and technical research results on topics of interest to the Department of Energy, including citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.

EngNetBase   

Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.

Engineered Materials Abstracts   1953-present

Lists articles, dissertations, technical reports, etc. on all aspects of polymers, ceramics, and composites.

Engineering Village

Combines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.

English Poetry     AD 600-1900

Poems in English from Anglo-Saxon times to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles. An expanded edition with works by additional British poets and by poets from Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland is available with other texts in LiON.

English Prose Drama     Dates vary: see database

1,653 plays masques, and entertainments, which are either wholly or predominantly in prose. Includes works originally written in English and also adaptations and translations. Also searchable with other texts from Chadwyck-Healey in LION.

English Short Title Catalogue    1473- 1800

Bibliographic description and library locations for books and pamphlets in English on all subjects printed from 1473 to 1800 anywhere in the world. For full texts see EEBO: Early English Books Online, ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online, and Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.

English Verse Drama     1300 to 1900

More than 2,200 works from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century. Also searchable with other texts from Chadwyck-Healey in LION.

ENVIROnetBASE   

Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of the environment.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management   1967-present

Multidisciplinary database of environmental sciences information from over 4000 journals as well as conference proceedings and books.

EOLSS: Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems   

16 interlinked encyclopedias to show "transdisciplinary aspects of the relationship between nature and human society." Covers topics in social sciences and humanities as well the life, physical, and applied sciences.

ERIC (CSA) and ERIC (EBSCO)   1966-present

This database provides citations and abstracts for education-related journal and magazine articles. It also provides full text access to "unpublished" items such as conference papers, technical reports, some doctoral dissertations, monographs, government reports, and more from 1993- present. Citations only are provided for the "unpublished" items from 1966-1992, however, the full text is available in the ERIC microfiche collection in the UVA Education Library. Two companies, CSA and EBSCO provide access to this database. The 2 companies may update their respective versions of the database at different times, but otherwise the content is the same. The U.S. Government also provides a version of ERIC, however, it does not provide full text access to journal articles.

ERIC Digests   1966-2003

A search in this database will retrieve short fulltext articles providing an overview of the topic.

Ethnic NewsWatch    1985-present

Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.

Europa World Plus   

In-depth, up-to-date profiles of over 250 countries on all continents, including basic statistics plus information and links for political, economic, social and cultural affairs.

European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies    1990-present

Lists articles, books, dissertations, etc. published in Europe and covering all aspects of East Central Europe, Russia, and the other states of the former Soviet Union. For North American publications on eastern Europe use ABSEES.

Expanded Academic Index ASAP   

Find academic articles in all aspects of the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology. Many full text articles with images. Includes book reviews. InfoTrac OneFile includes the same data and also business articles and articles from popular magazines.

Explorations in Black Leadership  

Video, audio, and text versions of interviews with leaders in the black community, conducted chiefly by Julian Bond. These oral histories focus on issues of black leadership and the transformational role of the civil rights movement in America.

F

Factiva   

Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Logout at the end of a session to avoid problems connecting the next time.

Facts On File   1940-present

Brief summaries of major news stories from 1940 to the present. Links allow the stories to be followed from day to day. Good source of obituaries. Includes the Reuters News Service for the last two weeks, see Factiva for a full archive of Reuters stories and pictures.

Faculty of 1000 Biology

Reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 selected leading researchers.

Fiction Catalog

Brief descriptions and lists of reviews for twentieth century novels and story collections written in or translated into English. Less commonly read authors are covered in the Fiction Catalog Archive.

Fiction Catalog Archive

Brief descriptions and lists of reviews for twentieth century novels and story collections written in or translated into English. Less commonly read authors are covered in the Fiction Catalog Archive.

Film & Television Literature Index

Finds reviews of films and articles on theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and technical aspects of both film and television in the US and internationally.

Film Index International

Provides plot summaries, cast and crew lists, and citations to reviews and journal articles for over 120,000 films from all over the world. Part of Film Indexes Online.

Film Indexes Online

Film Index International provides plot summaries, cast and crew lists, and citations to journal articles for over 120,000 films from all over the world. The American Film Institute Catalog provides production and cast information, plot summaries, and notes for American feature films.

FirstSearch

Includes WorldCat and various journal indexes from Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). Menu allows searching of multiple databases.

G

Gale/Infotrac PowerSearch   

Cross-search Academic OneFile, General OneFile, Computer Database, Health Reference Center, General BusinessFile, LegalTrac, and several other collections. There is also a menu of all Gale/InfoTrac databases, including Biography Resource Center, Business and Company Resource Center, and Literature Resource Center.

General BusinessFile ASAP    1980-present

Information about business and industry from broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings. Many items in full text.

General OneFile    1980-present

Large general database of articles from popular magazines, scholarly journals, and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Formerly called InfoTrac OneFile.

General Reference Center Gold    1980-present

Contains the full text of 1600 general interest and business periodicals, reference books, maps, historical images, and newspaper articles (including The Washington Post from 1996).

GEOBASE    1980-present

International information from 5000 journals. Books, theses, maps, reports in geography, geology, ecology. Includes book reviews.

GeoRef    1693-present

Search for all types of publications on the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. This search also includes international publications from GeoRef in Process.

Global Books In Print   

Lists in-print, out-of print, and forthcoming books from the US, UK, Canada, and some other English-speaking countries. For some titles, reviews, tables of contents, and the full-text of the first chapter are also provided.

Google Book Search

Search the boooks Google has scanned from libraries and from publishers or search US and some other library catalogs. Note that full-text search of books originally printed in non-Roman alphabets is largely useless.

Google Scholar   

Find articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Note that some publishers (e.g. Elsevier - UVa gets almost 2000 of their journals) and most aggregators (e.g., InfoTrac, Journals@Ovid) do not participate, and of course there are no links to paper-only journals. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to RefWorks.

Government Information Resources Master Index   

Browse all sites listed on the University of Virginia Library's Government Information Web pages. Hundreds of Web sites listed alphabetically.

GPO Monthly Catalog    1976-present

List all types of publications from US government agencies that are issued by the Government Printing Office.

(Columbia) Granger's World of Poetry

Full text of over 250,000 poems, mostly in English, but also including poems in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Information about and citations from thousands more poems, plus biographies of poets and analyses of poems.

Grant Adviser Plus    1983-present

Searchable database with information on criteria and contact information for available grants from Federal and other funding agencies. Does not include grants given by the National Institute of Health.

GreenFILE   

Find journal articles and other information on environmental issues such as global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. GreenFILE supports both research on environmental issues and practical steps for individuals who want to reduce their negative impact on the environment.

Grove Art Online   

Comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.

Grove Music Online

Comprehensive music encyclopedia, with coverage of music history, theory and practice, musical terminology, and biographies. Includes works lists and musical examples.

H

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies   1936-present

Annotated list of selected new publications on social sciences and humanities concerning Latin America.

Health and Wellness Resource Center   1980-present

Journal articles and reference works on a broad range of health issues. Includes a medical dictionary and drug information.

Health Reference Center Academic    1980-present

General database covering core medical journals as well as consumer-oriented health journals. Some full-text articles.

Hein Online   

Lists nearly 225,000 law review articles, with searchable full text and page images.

HeritageQuest

A collection of family and local histories and genealogy and local history periodicals from the US and Canada, and of US census data.

Historical Abstracts   1954-present

Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life. Old interface, no longer available after June 30.

Historical Census Browser

Examine United States population census data for any census year from 1790 to 1960, producing tables and sorting data by location and by category. Also examine selected topics across several censuses.

Historical Newspapers   

Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-2001), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1997), the Chicago Tribune (1890-1984) and the Washington Post (1877-19887). For more recent issues, use the Factiva database. For additional titles see Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers  and America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922.

History E-Book Project

Now called ACLS Humanities E-Book.

History Resource Center

Integrated collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day. Includes resources such as Scribner's Dictionary of American History and the Dictionary of American Biography and 65 scholarly periodicals.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Database provided by the Homeland Security Agency. Find articles, government documents, research papers, and books on all aspects of homeland security, most with links to online full text.

Horn Book Guide Online   1989-present

Horn Book Guide publishes short, critical reviews of virtually every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people. As of 2003 there were more than 49,000 reviews published.

Human Relations Area Files: eHRAF

A searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Now called eHRAF World Cultures.

Humanities E-Book

Large collection of e-books compiled by the American Council of Learned Societies. Topics covered include many aspects of history and archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

I

ICPSR

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Users may view documentation, download raw data, and search a bibliography of data-related literature.

IEEE Xplore

Find articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.

IIMP: International Index of Music Periodicals: IIMP

Find articles from over 300 international music periodicals from over 20 countries and view full text of articles from some 80 journals. Also indexes feature music articles, book reviews, and obituaries appearing in the New York Times and the Washington Post.

IIPA: International Index to the Performing Arts

Lists articles from scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, television, theater, opera, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more. Some journals include full text.

Illumina: CSA

Over 40 databases in many subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple CSA databases at the same time. Mirror Site - use if main site is down.

IMB: International Medieval Bibliography   1968-present

Lists articles from books and journals on any topic relating to the European Middle Ages (ca. 400-1500). Click the blue Enter Databases button to start and choose the IMB from the menu on the next page. NOTE: There have been problems using IMB with Internet Explorer on some UVA computers. If you have a problem, try Netscape or Firefox instead.

In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives

Indexes collections of oral histories, letters, diaries, autobiographies, and other personal narratives in the first-person in English from around the world, with some full text included.

Index of German Journals 1750-1815 (Index deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750-1815 - IDZ)

Search over 100,000 articles on all topics by author, title, and subject.

Index Islamicus

Search for books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.

Index of Christian Art

A bibliographic and iconographic database listing over 100,000 works of art produced from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Entries include citations to articles and books about the object.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals    1985-present

Lists journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews on all legal subjects from journals published outside the United States.

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text   1985-present

Lists articles from English-language legal periodicals from 1982-present and has full text for some 200 articles, mostly beginning in the mid 90s. See Index to Legal Periodicals Retro for coverage 1918-1981.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retro   1918-1981

Indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered. See Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text for coverage 1985-present.

Index to Military Periodicals (Air University Library)    1949-present

Lists articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. Current index begins in 1988, but the Historical Index of AULIMP Titles goes back to 1949.

Index to Printed Music, Collections & Series

Search for individual pieces of music in printed collections and scholarly editions.

InfoPOEMS   

[Patient-Oriented Information that Matters] Consists of 8 separate databases that provide new research information, basic drug information, evidence-based clinical guidelines, and clinical decision-making tools

InfoTrac General OneFile    1980-present

Large general database of articles from popular magazines, scholarly journals, and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Name Change: Now called General OneFile.

INSPEC    1969-present

Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in computing, electrical engineering, physics. Updated monthly.

Institute of Physics

Access to 33 journals published by the Institute of Physics.

International Financial Statistics    1969-present

Thousands of time series covering more than 200 countries and areas. Includes all series appearing on the IFS Country Pages; exchange rate series; major Fund accounts series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS World Tables.

International Index to Music Periodicals: IIMP

Find articles from over 300 international music periodicals from over 20 countries and view full text of articles from some 80 journals. Also indexes feature music articles, book reviews, and obituaries appearing in the New York Times and the Washington Post.

International Index to the Performing Arts: IIPA

Lists articles from scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, television, theater, opera, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more. Some journals include full text.

International Medieval Bibliography: IMB   1968-present

Lists articles from books and journals on any topic relating to the European Middle Ages (ca. 400-1500). Click the blue Enter Databases button to start and choose the IMB from the menu on the next page. NOTE: There have been problems using IMB with Internet Explorer on some UVA computers. If you have a problem, try Netscape or Firefox instead.

Internet Library of Early Journals

Searchable text and page images for selected British journals from the 18th and 19th centuries.

iPoll

iPOLL contains nearly a half-million questions from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, including CNN, Gallup, AP, the Wall Street Journal, and many others.

Iter Bibliography

Look for books, journal articles, and essays in books on all topics for the Middle Ages and Renaissance (ca. 400-1700). Click the Iter Bibliography link to begin.

J

Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte   1985-present

Lists journal articles, books and dissertations on all aspects of German history. Coverage begins in 1985; earlier years in paper and CD-ROM at Alderman Reference Z2236.J26.

Japanese Text Initiative

A project of UVa Library's Electronic Text Center to bring works of classical Japanese literature to the Web.

JCR: Journal Citation Reports

Tool for journal evaluation, using citation data taken from over 8,000 journals in the areas of science and technology. Used to find impact factors.

Jefferson Digital Archive

Works by Jefferson and letters from and to him. More than 1,700 items, including some color manuscript images.

Journal Citation Reports: JCR

Tool for journal evaluation, using citation data taken from over 8,000 journals in the areas of science and technology. Used to find impact factors.

Journals@OVID Full Text

Includes the full-text of many prominent medical journals.

JSTOR Journal Storage Project

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Humanities and social science articles are also listed in Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online which have more articles from similar journals.

K

Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog: KVK

Search simultaneously many library catalogs from Germany, Austria, and Switzerland, as well as other major catalogs worldwide.

kcdlonline. Kraus Curriculum Development Library

Database of curricula, frameworks, and standards brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. Includes PDF reproductions of complete curriculum documents from school systems covering core disciplines such as math, science, English and language arts, foreign language, and social studies.

Knovel Library

Large collection of handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering.

KVK: Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog

Search simultaneously many library catalogs from Germany, Austria, and Switzerland, as well as other major catalogs worldwide.

L

Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) Digital

Growing collection of sources for legal history, including federal and state court reports, the U.S. Statutes at Large, and federal administrative decisions, as well as the English Reports other British and Canadian court reports, and some other foreign and international sources and treatises. Also includes subject collections on British Empire studies, military law, and Native American legal documents.

Legal Periodicals Full Text    1985-present

Lists articles from English-language legal periodicals from 1982-present and has full text for some 200 articles, mostly beginning in the mid 90s. See Index to Legal Periodicals Retro for coverage 1918-1981.

Legal Periodicals Retro   1918-1981

Indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered. See Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text for coverage 1985-present.

LegalTrac

Indexes North American and a few other journals in law and related areas. Some journals include the full text of the articles.

LexisNexis Academic

News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.

LexisNexis Congressional

Full-text information by and about the U.S. Congress including publications, Legislative Histories for public laws, biographical information, and testimony from hearings. Search the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and the National Journal.

LexisNexis Statistical

Statistical information of all kinds, current and historical, US and international.

Library Catalogs Around the World

Geographic listing of links to many library catalogs around the world.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts: LISTA   1966-present

Journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. on topics such as librarianship, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text   1984-present

Indexes over 230 journals covering libraries, information science, copyright, publishing, and the history of the book. Includes book reviews. Full text of selected journals begins with 1994.

LIBRO, The Library of Iberian Resources Online

Includes several dozen works on the history of peninsular Spain from the 5th to the 17th centuries. Most are twentieth century publications from US and UK university presses.

Libweb

Geographic listing of links to many library catalogs around the world.

Linguistic Bibliography/Bibliographie Linguistique (BL Online)   1993-present

BL Online lists articles, books and reviews in all aspects of linguistics and on all languages. It includes the data from the print volumes of the Bibliographie Linguistique from 1993-2001 and new data from then to the present.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts   1973-present

Search for journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language. Includes book reviews. Updated monthly.

LiON - Literature Online

The "Criticism and Reference" search includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and references from articles and books. Many cited journals are available in full text. LiON also includes the full text of many works from American and British literature.

LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts   1966-present

Journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. on topics such as librarianship, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing.

Literature Resource Center

Includes the full text of articles from the Dictionary of Literary Biography and other biographical and critical compilations about authors, along with journal articles and book chapters about literary works and topics. Also includes the MLA Bibliography. Strongest for English and American literature, but includes much on other literatures.

Live Search Books

Tens of thousands of English-language books covering a variety of subjects. Most were originally published before 1923. Part of Microsoft's Live Search.

LLMC (Law Library Microform Consortium) Digital

Growing collection of sources for legal history, including federal and state court reports, the U.S. Statutes at Large, and federal administrative decisions, as well as the English Reports other British and Canadian court reports, and some other foreign and international sources and treatises. Also includes subject collections on British Empire studies, military law, and Native American legal documents.

Los Angeles Times   1881-1985

In ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), Los Angeles Times (1881-1985). and the Washington Post (1877-1990). For more recent issues, use the Factiva database.

M

Magazine Stacks: Tables of Contents of Historical Journals in German and English

Search by keyword the tables of contents of most German historical journals, many British titles, and a few titles from France and Spain. Many older journals are included, and most are covered from the first issues.

Making of Modern Law, Legal Treatises 1800-1926

Searchable full text of casebooks, manuals, pamphlets, letters, speeches, etc. showing the development of US and British law in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Materials Business File

Search for publications of all kinds on industry news, international trade data, government regulations, and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. Updated monthly.

Materials Research Database with METADEX

Search for articles and other publications on all aspects of materials science. Includes the data from METADEX and other more specialized materials databases.

Math Book Collection (Cornell)   1990-present

A collection of 571 classic 19th and early 20th century mathematical works.

MathSciNet   1940-present

MathSciNet is based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, publications that catalog and review research literature in mathematics.

MD Consult   

Includes an extensive collection of more than 35 leading medical books, 48 clinical journals, drug information, over 600 practice guidelines, 2,500 patient handouts, and more.

Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts

Search for publications of all kinds on mechanical and transportation engineering and related fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, and theoretical mechanics and dynamics.

Mechanical Engineering Abstracts

Search for publications of all kinds on mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering.

Medline (EBSCO),    Medline (OVID),    Medline (CSA)   1966-present

All aspects of biomedicine and allied health fields plus biological and physical sciences and humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Three companies, EBSCO,;OVID; and CSA provide access to the Medline database. The 3 companies may update their respective versions of the database at different times, but otherwise the content is the same.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. For each test, the database provides the name of the test author, publication information, scoring information, and the number of the Mental Measurements Yearbook in which the test was described originally. The full text for each record includes reliability and validity, an overview of the test, a description of the test materials and time needed, and one or more reviews of the test.

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
Merriam-Webster Online Thesaurus

Handy online dictionary and thesaurus. Has online audio pronunciations and includes the Abbreviations, Foreign Words and Phrases, Biographical Names, and Geographical Names sections from the print version.

METADEX

Comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. To search METADEX with other, related indexes, use Materials Research Index.

Michigan Early Modern English Materials

Index to the grammatical usage of English terms from 1450-1700. The Primary Index, arranged alphabetically by key words, includes 28,000 textual excerpts that illustrate the use of the keywords as various parts of speech. The Secondary Index provides access to other vocabulary in the textual excerpts. There are also Forward and Reverse Word Occurrence Lists.

Middle English Compendium   1990-present

Access to the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources, including a large collection of Middle English texts.

Military Periodicals Index   1996-present

Articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics, and related military history. Covers a wide range of journals but lists only articles relevant to the Joint Forces Staff College.

MLA International Bibliography   1926-present

Lists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America. Also searchable through Literature Resource Center.

Modern English Collection   AD 1500-present

Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest. From the UVA Library's E-Text Center.

MUSE

Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.

Music & Performing Arts Online

Search simultaneously the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

Music in Print

Search for music currently in print by genre, instrumentation or using the Master Index.

Music Literature: RILM Abstracts   1967-present

International musicological bibliography, listing scholarly works in all areas and formats.

N

NACSIS Webcat

Search catalogs of Japanese libraries. Search interface in English or in Japanese.

NASA Astrophysics Data System

Citations and abstracts of articles in astronomy and physics, with links to published version and to preprints. It is also possible to search the full text of documents scanned for ADS.

National Academy Press

Reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, written by leading researchers, on science, health, and engineering.

National Center for Biotechnology Information: NCBI

NCBI provides access to molecular databases such as GenBank with sequencing, structural, and taxonomic data. Also available are literature databases such as PubMed, PubMed Central, and OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man).

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (CSA)   1972-present

Lists journal articles, books, reports and other publications on research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control. Published by the Department of Justice.

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books

Declassified U.S. documents.

National Technical Information Service:NTIS (Engineering Village)    1983-present

Now a part of Engineering Village. NTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports.

National Trade Data Bank

International trade data and export promotion from the U.S. Government. Includes international market research, export opportunities, how-to market guides, and reports on demographic, political, and socio-economic conditions.

Naxos Music Library

Large collection of recordings of classical and world music from the Naxos and Marco Polo labels. Descriptive information is available for most recordings. NOTE: 1) Please logout at the end of your session. 2) Bookmarks will not work unless "default.asp" is removed from the end of the URL.

NCBI: National Center for Biotechnology Information

NCBI provides access to molecular databases such as GenBank with sequencing, structural, and taxonomic data. Also available are literature databases such as PubMed, PubMed Central, and OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man).

netLibrary

Electronic books by university presses and other scholarly publishers, as well as a collection of older titles by major authors. Individual titles are listed in Virgo. Some books require download of a viewer.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

Survey of the history of Western thought and culture. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of an important idea.

New York Times   1851-2003

In ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), Los Angeles Times (1881-1985). and the Washington Post (1877-1990). For more recent issues, use the Factiva database.

Newspapers - onlinenewspapers.com

Easy to use menu to find newspapers from all around the world. Some newspapers are not available full text for free but may be included in databases the Library subscribes to. Use Find@UVa to check.

Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers

Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library. For The Times see its Digital Archi