E-book Collections

University of Virginia Library

PO Box 400113

Charlottesville VA 22904-4113

434.924.3021

fax: 434.924.1431

 

ACLS Humanities E-Book

Large collection of e-books compiled by the American Council of Learned Societies. Topics covered include many aspects of history plus archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

African-American Poetry, 1760-1900

Collection of over 2,500 poems, based on William French's bibliography, Afro-American Poetry and Drama 1760-1975. See also Twentieth century African-American poetry. Both are also searchable with other texts in LION.

African Americans

Works by and about African Americans from the UVa Library's collections.

American Drama     1711-1915

Selected plays by American dramatists. Part of LION.

American Film Scripts Online: AFSO

Full text scripts of major American films from the silent era on.

American Poetry Database     pre 1900

Includes 40,356 poems from 1,288 works by 209 American poets from the Colonial period to the early twentieth century. See also African-American Poetry, 1760-1900. Both are also searchable with other texts in LION.

ARTFL   

A full text database containing a large number of French literary works and Diderot's Encyclopédie. Although all full texts can be searched, many works can be displayed only a few pages at a time.

Asian American Drama

Searchable full text of over 250 plays, many of them otherwise unpublished. Also playbills and other production information.

The Bible in English     1530-1976

Twenty-one versions of the Bible. In addition to the thirteen complete Bibles, there are five New Testaments, two versions of the Gospels, and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah.

Biography Resource Center     Ancient history-present

Large compilation of current and retrospective biographical dictionaries with sketches of individuals from all geographic locations and time periods. Includes Marquis Who's Who titles.

Black Drama   1850-present

Searchable full text of over 1200 plays by African American dramatists. Also includes playbills and other production information.

British History Online    1066-present

Digital versions of many core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles, including parliamentary journals, tax records, church documents, many calendars and indexes, directories, Ordnance Survey maps, and volumes in the Victoria County History.

British Poetry 1780-1910: a Hypertext Archive     1780-1910

Scholarly editions of books of poetry produced between 1780-1910.

Cambridge Companions Complete Collection

Each of the several hundred Cambridge Companions is a collection of introductory essays on aspects of a writer, artist, philosopher, religious thinher, cultural topic or period.

Canadian Poetry

Poetry of Canadian authors whose works were published up to and including 1900.

CHANT: CHinese ANcient Texts     Pre-Han (pre 220 AD-Six Dynasties 581 AD)

Provides full text of works from the Pre-Han (pre 220 AD) period up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD). Chinese traditional IME is required for input.

Chinese Text Initiative

A project of the UVa Library's EText Center to make literary texts available.

CogNet

Searchable collection of electronic texts, journals, and reference works for cognitive and brain sciences. The Library contains works from the MIT Press, as well as content and links to resources from other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and open source materials.

Complete Corpus of Old English

Over 3,000 different texts at the UVa Library's E-Text Center.

Cornell University Library Historical Mathematics Monographs

A collection of 571 classic 19th and early 20th century mathematical works.

CRCnetBase

Searchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.

Digital Dissertations     1861-present

Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some Canadian, British, and other European universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980.

Documenting the American South

Primary sources that document the cultural history of the American South from the Southern point of view. Includes diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles about slavery, and regional literature. Emphasis is on the 19th century.

Early American Fiction     1789-1850

583 volumes (440 titles) by 80 authors of early American fiction. Also searchable with other texts in LION.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800

Searchable full text with page images of books published in 17th- and 18th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language. Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography. For other early books see Early English Books Online: EEBO and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819

Searchable full text with page images of books published in early 19th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language.

Early English Books Online: EEBO     1475-1700

Digital collection of every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. The works appear as page facsimile images and include books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars and other primary sources in all subjects. For books printed after 1701, see Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

Early English Prose Fiction    1500-1700

Contains over 200 complete works in English prose, from the period 1500 to 1700, by writers from the British Isles. Also searchable with other texts in LION.

ebrary

Over 30,000 recent electronic books from university presses and other scholarly publishers. Individual titles are listed in Virgo. NOTE: Viewing texts requires onetime download of a small client program.

ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online     1701-1800

Searchable fulltext and page images for works printed between 1701-1800 in any language in the British Isles and North America, and in the English language throughout the rest of the world. Includes books on every subject, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons. For books before 1701, see Early English Books Online.

EEBO: Early English Books Online     1475-1700

Digital collection of every significant work published in English from 1475 to1700. The works appear as page facsimile images and include books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars and other primary sources in all subjects. For books printed after 1701, see Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

eHRAF WorldCultures

A searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files. Old title: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.

Eighteeenth Century Collection Online: ECCO     1701-1800

Searchable fulltext and page images for works printed between 1701-1800 in any language in the British Isles and North America, and in the English language throughout the rest of the world. Includes books on every subject, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons. For books before 1701, see Early English Books Online.

Eighteenth-Century Fiction     1700-1780

77 complete works by British novelists from the period 1700 to 1780. Also searchable with other texts from Chadwyck-Healey in LION. For related works see ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online.

Electronic Text Center - UVa Library

The UVa Electronic Text Center's holdings include over 51,000 on- and off-line books and other texts in twelve languages, with more than 350,000 related images (book illustrations, covers, manuscripts, newspaper pages, page images, museum objects, etc.).

Encyclopedia Britannica

Fully searchable and browsable encyclopedia, also including Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Many entries have links to related web sites.

EngNetBase

Over 220 handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.

English Poetry     AD 600-1900

Poems in English from Anglo-Saxon times to the end of the nineteenth century by writers from the British Isles. An expanded edition with works by additional British poets and by poets from Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland is available with other texts in LiON.

English Prose Drama     Dates vary: see database

1,653 plays masques, and entertainments, which are either wholly or predominantly in prose. Includes works originally written in English and also adaptations and translations. Also searchable with other texts from Chadwyck-Healey in LION.

English Verse Drama     1300 to 1900

More than 2,200 works from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century. Also searchable with other texts from Chadwyck-Healey in LION.

ENVIROnetBASE

Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of the environment.

Google Book Search

Search the boooks Google has scanned from libraries and from publishers or search US and some other library catalogs. Note that full-text search of books originally printed in non-Roman alphabets is largely useless.

History E-Book Project

Now called ACLS Humanities E-Book.

Japanese Text Initiative

A project of UVa Library's Etext Center to bring works of classical Japanese literature to the Web.

Jefferson: Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive

Works by Jefferson and letters from and to him. More than 1,700 items, including some color manuscript images.

Knovel Library

Large collection of handbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering.

Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) Digital

Growing collection of sources for legal history, including federal and state court reports, the U.S. Statutes at Large, and federal administrative decisions, as well as the English Reports other British and Canadian court reports, and some other foreign and international sources and treatises. Also includes subject collections on British Empire studies, military law, and Native American legal documents.

LIBRO, The Library of Iberian Resources Online

Includes several dozen works on the history of peninsular Spain from the 5th to the 17th centuries. Most are twentieth century publications from US and UK university presses.

LiON: Literature Online

The "Criticism and Reference" search includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and references from articles and books. Many cited journals are available in full text. LiON also includes the full text of many works from American and British literature.

Literature Resource Center

Includes the full text of articles from the Dictionary of Literary Biography and other biographical and critical compilations about authors, along with journal articles and book chapters about literary works and topics. Also includes the MLA Bibliography. Strongest for English and American literature, but includes much on other literatures.

Live Search Books

Tens of thousands of English-language books covering a variety of subjects. Most were originally published before 1923. Part of Microsoft's Live Search.

Michigan Early Modern English Materials

Index to the grammatical usage of English terms from 1450-1700. The Primary Index, arranged alphabetically by key words, includes 28,000 textual excerpts that illustrate the use of the keywords as various parts of speech. The Secondary Index provides access to other vocabulary in the textual excerpts. There are also Forward and Reverse Word Occurrence Lists.

Middle English Compendium     1990-present

Access to the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources, including a large collection of Middle English texts.

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books

Declassified U.S. documents.

netLibrary

Electronic books by university presses and other scholarly publishers, as well as a collection of older titles by major authors. Individual titles are listed in Virgo. Some titles require download of a viewer.

Nineteenth Century Fiction

Selected works by authors from the British isles. Part of LiON.

On-Line Books (UPennsylvania)

Includes more than 25,000 English works in various formats. The archive can be searched and browsed.

Oxford English Dictionary: OED Online

Has definitions for most of the words in the English language but also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.

Oxford Reference Online

A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.

Oxford Scholarship Online - Economics and Finance

Several hundred recent books published by Oxford University Press. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

Oxford Scholarship Online - Philosophy

Several hundred recent books published by Oxford University Press. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

Oxford Scholarship Online - Political Science

Several hundred recent books published by Oxford University Press. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

Oxford Scholarship Online - Religion

Several hundred recent books published by Oxford University Press. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.

Past Masters

Full-text electronic editions in philosophy.

Perseus Digital Library

Access to selected Greek and Latin texts as well as related criticism and reference works and a collection of images.

Edgar Allan Poe

A collection of his fiction and letters from the UVa Library's E-Text Center.

POPLINE

Legal, social and health aspects of family planning and population. Includes research in human fertility, contraceptive methods, maternal and child health care, program operation and evaluation, demography and related issues.

Referex Engineering

Large collection of e-books from Elsevier and some other publishers. Search for keywords or for particular books or browse subject lists. Includes titles on materials, mechanical, electronic, electrical, chemical, petrochemical, and process engineering.

Religious Resources

Several Bibles, the Book of Mormon, and the Koran at the UVa Library's E-Text Center.

Safari Tech Books Online

Books on all aspects of computers, programming and the Web from such publishers as O'Reilly, Sams, New Riders, Adobe.

Shakespeare - Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare

Including The Shakespeare First Folio and various other editions and adaptions of Shakespeare; includes 2,272 color digital facsimiles. From the UVa Library's E-Text Center.

Si ku quan shu (Wen yuan ge edition)

Compiled during the period of 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong, the collection contains 3,460 Chinese works in 36,000 volumes, including history, astronomy, geography, politics, economics, and more. Fully-searchable full-text. Login ID: sikuuva ; Password: siku@uva

SourceOECD         1998

Full text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae: TLG

This full-text database of more than 80 million words contains virtually all surviving Greek texts from the time of Homer to the fall of Byzantium.

Twain: Mark Twain in His Times (UVa)

This interpretive archive focuses on how Mark Twain and his works were created and defined, marketed and performed, reviewed and appreciated.

Twayne Author Series

Full text of ca. 600 books on the lives and works of U.S. and international authors. Recommended books and articles. Now included in Literature Resource Center .

Twentieth Century African American Poetry

Over 9,000 poems by 62 prominent poets. See also African American Poetry, 1760-1900 and Twentieth-Century American Poetry. All are also searchable with other texts in LiON.

Twentieth-Century American Poetry

Includes the works of most major poets from 1919 to the present. See also Twentieth Century African American Poetry and American Poetry Database, pre-1900. All are also searchable with other texts in LiON.

Twentieth-Century English Poetry

Selected books by poets writing in English along with some translations. Part of LiON.

UVa Digital Collections Repository   

Images of art and architecture and electronic texts, almost all of which include full text and page images. New content is added monthly, and will eventually include other formats such as finding aids, printed music, video, datasets, audio, and GIS. A tool called Collectus is available for users to save personal collections from the Repository, generate web pages and slide shows, and manipulate images.

Women Writers

Works from the seventeenth to twentieth centuries at the UVa Library's E-Text Center.

Women Writers Online (Brown)

Writing by women from the Renaisssnce through the first half of the 19th century.

eHRAF WorldCultures

A searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files. Old title: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.