Images

University of Virginia Library

PO Box 400113

Charlottesville VA 22904-4113

434.924.3021

fax: 434.924.1431

AICT - Art Images for College Teaching     Prehistory-present

Images of art and architectural works in the public domain. The images on this site were photographed on location by the author, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial.

American Memory Project: Library of Congress

Primary source documents and archives for American history and culture from the Library of Congress. Includes printed text, collections of photographs, and some scanned manuscripts on topics such as African-American pamphlets, Civil War photographs, women's suffrage documents, etc. Additional collections will be added.

ARTstor     Prehistory-present

Images of world art from all periods. Paintings drawings and prints plus architnecture and design are represented. Special collections include Asian and American art, Buddhist paintings and sculpture and historic photographs (women, Native American culture). Tips on using ArtStor.

Associated Press Photo Archive    1840-present

Collection of 500,000 photographs documents news events from 1840 to the present day. Hundreds of spot news and feature pictures enter into the Archive each day, and a selection of historical images are scanned in weekly. The Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as the best of the international photo report.

The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas

A media database with images documenting many aspects of the slave trade.

Birds of North America Online   

Information on bird species that nest in the U.S. and Canada, including image and video galleries and recordings of bird songs

Beazley Archive

Large collection of photographs and commentary on Athenian vases with smaller colelctions of gems and sculpture.

CAMIO     Prehistory-present

Images from many art museums, including paintings, drawings, photographs, textiles, fashion, jewelry, books, architecture, installations, video, and performance arts.

The Cape Coast Archive

A US-ICOMOS sponsored repository of digital information on the architecture of Ghana.

Factiva

Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Logout at the end of a session to avoid problems connecting the next time.

Poets on Screen

Video clips of poets reading their own and also older poems. Part of LiON.

UVa Digital Collections Repository   

Images of art and architecture and electronic texts, almost all of which include full text and page images. New content is added monthly, and will eventually include other formats such as printed music, video, datasets, audio, and GIS. A tool called Collectus is available for users to save personal collections from the Repository, generate web pages and slide shows, and manipulate images.

Zeno Kunstwerke

40,000 paintings, drawings and prints taken from CDs created by the Digitale Bibliothek. The interface is entirely in German.