Recently Added Databases

University of Virginia Library

PO Box 400113

Charlottesville VA 22904-4113

434.924.3021

fax: 434.924.1431

08/24

World Who's Who

Biographical facts about 60,000 prominent people of the 21st century, including obituaries for those who have recently died.

08/16

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics   

Search the full text or browse topics. including cosmology, archeoastronomy, instrumentation, space missions, solar system, stars, and galaxies.

08/16

African Journals OnLine (AJOL)    1998-present

Find articles from journals published in Africa on all subjects or browse lists of the journals by suject or by country of publication. Some articles are available in full-text.

08/16

Quarterly index of African periodical literature   1991-present

Lists articles from (mostly) scholarly journals published in Africa. All subject areas are covered, but the emphasis in on articles about Africa.

08/13

Music & Performing Arts Online

Search simultaneously the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

07/17

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

A large collection of primary sources, journal articles, and other instructional materials for the history of women in social movements in the U.S.

05/15

CRCnetBase

Searchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.

04/25

AccessScience: the online encyclopedia of science & technology   1993-present

Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia and its Yearbooks with additional updates, biographies, and a glossary of scientific terms.

04/25

WorldCat: FirstSearch

Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. This version has all WorldCat holdings and provides the full bibliographic citation for each item.

WorldCat.org

Online listing with locations of books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide. This version also includes articles and has an easy to use interface, but lacks some holdings and some bibliographic information.

01/31

UVa Digital Collections Repository   

Images of art and architecture and electronic texts, almost all of which include full text and page images. New content is added monthly, and will eventually include other formats such as finding aids, printed music, video, datasets, audio, and GIS. A tool called Collectus is available for users to save personal collections from the Repository, generate web pages and slide shows, and manipulate images.

01/25

Database of Recorded American Music: DRAM   

Recordings of music by American composers and artists. Most of the recordings are US art music from the 20th century, but there are also collections of jazz, folk, and popular music covering particular genres and periods.

01/24

Encyclopaedia Judaica   

Comprehensive encyclopedia with over 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion.

01/23

African American Song   

Audio recordings documenting the history of African American song, including jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives with many previously unreleased field recordings. When completed the collection will include ca. 50,000 recordings, mostly from the US but also from Haiti and the West Indies.

01/22

Public Documents Masterfile   1774-

Lists documents from US federal and some state and local agencies from the beginnings of the US to the present. This is a work in process, both historical and current citations are added regularly. Consult Government Information Resources in Alderman for access to the items themselves.

01/22

Los Angeles Times   1881-1985

In ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-2001), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1987), Chicago Tribune (1890-1984), Los Angeles Times (1881-1985). and the Washington Post (1877-1988). For more recent issues, use the Factiva database.

01/18

Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds

Information about over 101,000 representative organometallic, inorganic, and coordination compounds, including formulae, chemical structures, CAS Registry Numbers, synthesis, physical properties, and key literature citations

Referex Engineering   

Large collection of e-books from Elsevier and some other publishers. Search for keywords or for particular books or browse subject lists. Includes titles on materials, mechanical, electronic, electrical, chemical, petrochemical, and process engineering.

01/10

Political Reference Suite

Congressional Quarterly publications on the U.S. government (Congress and the Nation, Supreme Court Yearbook, Washington Information Directory, Politics in America, Vital Statistics on American Politics, Historic Documents) and world affairs (Political Handbook of the World). Emphasis is on recent information, but US document coverage begins in 1972 and legislative histories in 1945.

01/09

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819

Searchable full text with page images of books published in early 19th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language.

12/21

Patent Search     1790-present

This Google service searches the full text of all US patents and displays them as page images. There are also links to the images at the US Patent Office.

12/11

Live Search Books

Tens of thousands of English-language books covering a variety of subjects. Most were originally published before 1923. Part of Microsoft's Live Search.

12/11

Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) Digital

Growing collection of sources for legal history, including federal and state court reports, the U.S. Statutes at Large, and federal administrative decisions, as well as the English Reports other British and Canadian court reports, and some other foreign and international sources and treatises. Also includes subject collections on British Empire studies, military law, and Native American legal documents.

12/08

British History Online    1066-present

Digital versions of many core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles, including parliamentary journals, tax records, church documents, many calendars and indexes, directories, Ordnance Survey maps, and volumes in the Victoria County History.