University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021
fax: 434.924.1431
Searchable text and page images for 7 African-American newspapers published between 1827 and 1860. For more recent (1985-present) newspapers, see Ethnic NewsWatch. See also a by-state listing of historical (19th-20th century) microfilm available at UVA.
Indexes alternative, radical and left newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Most are from the US, but some other countries are covered. The Alternative Press Index Archive extends coverage to 1969-1990. See also information about the Underground Newspaper Collection in microfilm.
Includes Early American Newspapers, Series I, Series II and Series III. Searchable full-text collection of hundreds of U.S. newspapers.
Free resource from the Brooklyn Public Library. Searchable full-text.
Search this resource for newspapers in microform, not held at UVA, that may be requested through Interlibrary Loan by the UVA community. This catalog contains holdings of U.S. general circulation, black and ethnic newspapers, as well as the underground press.
Chicago Tribune is part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database. Search and read full text of articles.
From the Library of Congress. This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 from California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia (Richmond Times-Dispatch, only.) Users can also find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Searchable text and page images from The New York Herald, the Richmond Enquirer, and The Charleston Mercury, published between November 1, 1860 and April 30, 1865, including many battlefield maps and other illustrations. See also the Richmond Daily Dispatch, 1860-1865 a free, full-text resource.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press published in the U.S. Coverage back to 1970's for some titles, for many others not till the 1980's or 1990's.
In-depth, up-to-date profiles of over 250 countries on all continents. See the Directory: Society and Media section for each country entry for links to the Web sites of major newspapers.
Full-text articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Newspaper coverage back to about 1980 for some titles, varies by title. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries. Use for full-text of Wall St. Journal back to 1979.
Brief summaries of major news stories from 1940 to the present. Links allow the stories to be followed from day to day. Good source of obituaries. Includes the Reuters News Service for the last two weeks, see Factiva for a full archive of Reuters stories and pictures.
Free resource from the University of Florida's Special Collections, "approximately 1500 articles... from non-Florida newpapers" about Florida.
Full-text of hundreds of U.S. and some foreign newspapers. Coverage back to about 1980, varies by title.
The New York Times is part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database. Search and read full text of articles 1851-2003. For more recent issues, use Factiva.
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; advertisements and illustrations included. Several hundred newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Searchable full-text for this newspaper founded by Ben Franklin.
Indexed, searchable database of over 50,000 full-text articles. Contains references to music, lyrics, dance and theater found in American newspapers, including those in French and German. Available only on CD-ROM in the Fine Arts Library, Call Number PN2237 .C67 1997.
Searchable and browseable. New York Times (1851-2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), the Chicago Tribune (1849-1985), the Washington Post (1877-1990) and Los Angeles Times (1881-1985). For more recent issues of these titles, use Factiva.
Free full-text resource from the Gallaudet University Archives. A popular national newspaper among the U.S. deaf population bewteen 1888 and 1929.
Free full-text resource from the Library of Congress. U.S. Army newspaper published from February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919.
Published weekly in Williamsburg, 1736-1780; the news covered all Virginia and included some information for other colonies, Scotland, England etc. Not all the issues survived, but you can browse by date some of those that did or search the index.
Links to information from all 50 states about the microfilm holdings of historical newspapers in each state. See Newspapers in Virginia searchable database (titles only, not full-text.) See also full-text resources from states that have digitized their collections: Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Missouri, Utah.
Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database. Search and read full text of articles 1889-1989. For more recent issues, use Factiva.
Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database. Search and read full text of articles 1877-1990. For more recent issues, use Factiva.
See information on CRL's huge collection foreign newspapers and search the CRL Catalog. See also the ICON database which may be searched by country as well as by title. NOTE: Newspapers in microfilm from CRL may be requested through Interlibrary Loan by the UVA community if the newspaper is not available at UVA.
Full-text of thousands of sources from all over the world, in 22 languages. Coverage back to 1980's, varies by title.
Indexed full-text source covering many foreign papers. Coverage back to about 1980, varies by title. To determine the titles that are covered, click onSources on black banner at top of any search screen.
Archive of this Beirut, Lebanon newspaper available only on CD-ROM in Alderman Scholars Lab.
Searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library.
Easy to use menu to find contemporary newspapers from all around the world. Some newspapers are not available free. Use FACTIVA or LexisNexis Academic to get at many of them.
Complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Full-text translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. news sources. See their sources list. Continues the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) series.