University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021
fax: 434.924.1431
A toolbar for your Web browser. Highlight a citation in an article and go quickly to the full text. Speed up VIRGO searching. Link from Amazon to VIRGO. Currently available only for Firefox; coming soon for Internet Explorer.
A Firefox add-on that puts a "More information" link in each item of a VIRGO results list. Lets you see the full record with one click and easily compare several records.
Get e-mail or RSS notification of new journals issues including tables of contents or of newly indexed articles of interest to you.
Provides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database.
Information the Libraries license from other sources ordinarily has to be used at a UVa computer. Access from home is possible using ITC's proxy server or UVaAnywhere service.
Collect and manage citations to books, articles and Web pages. Format and export your citations to footnotes and bibliographies. Share your data with friends and colleagues. Download Write 'n Cite to integrate RefWorks with Word. Download RefGrab-It to pull citations out of Web pages.
Most of the journal articles in the Libraries' collections are in the PDF format produced with Adobe Acrobat. This is Adobe's free PDF reader. Problems with viewing and printing PDFs can often be solved by upgrading to the current version.
Collect images or text objects from the Library's Digital Collections. The Object Collection Window allows a user to view and organize newly created or previously saved object collections, and to generate slide shows for classroom use or HTML pages. The ImageViewer provides zooming, panning, brightness and contrast, and rotating functions.
Some ebooks use this viewer.