Go to

Hours: Mon.-Thu. 8 a.m. to 12 mid. | Fri. 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sat. 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. | Sun. 1 p.m. to 12 mid.
Thanksgiving Holiday Hours: Nov. 25 - Nov. 30, 2008

Contact: (434) 924-6938 or finearts@virginia.edu

Home | Contact Us | Where We Are

 
Go to Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library home

LAR 514: Theories of Modern Landscape Architecture

VIRGO

Google Scholar: vernacular landscapes


REFWORKS

 

Research Terms : landscape gardening, vernacular, naturalism, functionalism, formal gardening, didactic parks, modernism, pleasure grounds, romantic ecology, cultural landscape, cemeter*

Avery Index
indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.

 

Basic search cultural landscape*
  functionalism

BHA
covers European and American art and architecture from late antiquity (300 A.D.) to the present.

 

Basic Search landscape picturesque

Art Index
indexes articles in all arts media from selected periodicals published since 1929.

 

Advanced search (some full text): landscape design

Building Green Suite
a subscription-based online resource for environmentally sensitive design and construction. BuildingGreen Suite offers you a wide range of information - from articles and product listings to project case studies - to help you build a greener world.

 

Basic Search environmental infrastructure

Science Direct- Environmental Science
from Elsevier, the world's largest scientific, technical and medical information provider and indexes over 1,500 journals as well as books and secondary databases.

 

Basic Search landscape planning

America History and Life
covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.


Basic Search Keyword cemeter* and Subject South

 

Online Resources and Web Sites

UVA Architecture and Landscape Resources

American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920

The Center for Land Use Interpretation

Project for Public Spaces

ASLA-American Society of Landscape Architects

Fine Arts Library Image Resources

Landscape Architecture Image Resource

GeoStat Center at UVA

 

Print Resources

The Burnham Index to Architectural Periodicals, FA REF Z5944 .U5B87 1989
Chicago Botanic Garden Encyclopedia of Gardens, FA REF SB465 .E63 2001, v.1-3
Dictionary of British & Irish Botanists and Horticulturists, FA REF QK26 .D47 1994
Ecological Design Handbook, FA REF SB472.7 .E36 1999
The History of Garden Design, FA REF SB465 .H673 2000
Landscape Modelling, FA REF SB475.9 .D37E79 2001

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Press   |   Jobs

© 2008 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia