ARH 921: Memory and Modernity in Late Medieval England
FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/
| Search strategies: | nave, portal, vault/vaulting, facade, capital, transept
tomb, gisant, saint, monastery, cathedral, Benedictine, abbey England, France/French, gothic, medieval, Norman |
Databases
Avery Index - Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.
| Search: | All fields | KEYWORD lincoln
KEYWORD cathedral |
(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art - Indexes and abstracts periodicals, catalogs, essays, and more; subjects include all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world.
-
Options: e-mail, print
| Search: | KEYWORD England
|
AND KEYWORD gothic
|
Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
| Advanced Search: | KEYWORD england
|
KEYWORD royal tomb
|
(IMB) International Medieval Bibliography - Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.
| Enter Databases | IMB-English
|
All Index Terms abbey
Place england Century 13 |
Index of Christian Art - Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.
| Simple Search: |
|
KEYWORD saint cuthbert
|
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
E-Images
Simple search: wells
Article Search: Ely
Web Sites
Images of Medieval Art and Architecture
NetSerf (http://www.netserf.org/)
Ministere Culture Communications (http://www.culture.fr/culture/arcnat)
The Labyrinth (http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/labyrinth-home.html)
Westminster Abbey (http://www.castles-abbeys.co.uk/Westminster-Abbey.html)
-
Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction