Go to

Hours: Mon.-Thu. 8 a.m. to 12 mid. | Fri. 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sat. 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. | Sun. 1 p.m. to 12 mid.
Thanksgiving Holiday Hours: Nov. 25 - Nov. 30, 2008

Contact: (434) 924-6938 or finearts@virginia.edu

Home | Contact Us | Where We Are

 
Go to Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library home

ARH 870: Venice, Istanbul, and Granada

FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

 

Search strategies: textiles, trade routes, metalwork, glass, ivory, map, ceremony, empire
fortress, palace, garden, piazza, bazaar, city, landscape
Istanbul,Ottoman, byzantine, Venice, Granada, Nasrid, gothic, islamic, Constantinople

Databases

Avery Index - Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.

 

Basic Search KEYWORD fortress venetian
venice byzantine

 

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art - Indexes and abstracts periodicals, catalogs, essays, and more; subjects include all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world.

 

Basic Search KEYWORD venice islamic
garden byzantine

 

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

 

Keywords: gardens and islamic or Granada

 

(IMB) International Medieval Bibliography - Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

 

Enter Databases IMB-English
All Index Terms Istanbul
Place venice
Century 13

Index Islamicus

Lists books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.

 

Keyword: Nasrid or Granada

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This ABC-CLIO database includes over 500,000 annotated entries referencing articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Includes book reviews.

 

Advanced Search: Keyword Constantinople
Subject venice
Century 15

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

E-Images

Grove Art Online

Article Search: Istanbul

Web Sites

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook (http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/islam/islamsbook.html)

Byzantium: Byzantine Studies on the Internet (http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/byzantium/)

Venetian Fortresses in Greece (http://members.tripod.com/romeartlover/Venezia.html)

NetSerf (http://www.netserf.org)

 

Print Resources

Historical Dictionary of the Ottoman Empire. (FA-REF DR436 .S66 2003)
Dictionary of Islamic Architecture. (FA-REF NA380 .P46 1996)
Islamic Art Collections. (FA-REF N6260 .I85 2000)
Historical Ditionary of the Crusades. (FA-REF D155 . S53 2003)
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. (FA-REF DF521 .O97 1991)

.

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Press   |   Jobs

© 2008 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia