More Environmental Sciences Databases
Academic Search Complete 1887 - present
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Also includes reference books such as the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, biographies, speeches and other primary source documents, country reports, and several hundred thousand images of photos, maps, and flags.
AGRICOLA 1970-present
AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, and more--pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. This extensive database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields.
Biological Abstracts 1985-present
One of the premier life science databases that provides international coverage in areas such as genetics, botany, ecology, biomedicine, zoology, microbiology, and biochemistry.
Citations to articles, books, software, etc. in the primary areas of agriculture and the life sciences. Includes book reviews.
BioOne 1985-present
Provides full-text access to over 70 journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Birds of North America Online
Information on bird species that nest in the U.S. and Canada, including image and video galleries and recordings of bird songs.
CAB Direct 1973-present
Searches peer-reviewed journals, academic books, technical reports, bulletins, and conference proceedings in the life sciences: agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources. The database is international with literature from over 125 countries and dozens of originating languages.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) 1973-present
Over 40 science and technology databases in all subject areas. Menu allows searching multiple CSA databases at the same time.
Digital Dissertations 1861-present
Full text (PDF for download) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some Canadian, British, and other European universities. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
ECOLEX--A Gateway to Environmental Law
Information service on environmental law, which combines the environmental law information holdings of FAO, IUCN and UNEP.The ECOLEX database includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature. Users have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each document, as well as to the full text of most of the information provided.
ENVIROnetBASE
Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of the environment.
EPA Publications Search
A central repository of more than 7,000 EPA documents in paper and/or electronic format; available for free distribution.
Geobase 1980-present
International information from 5000 journals. Books, theses, maps, reports in geography, geology, ecology. Includes book reviews.
GeoRef 1693-present
Search for all types of publications on the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. This search also includes international publications from GeoRef in Process.
JSTOR Journal Storage Project
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
National Library for the Environment
A gateway to a wide array of environmental information – Congressional Research Service reports, news, educational resources, and more.
ScienceDirect
Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
Web of Science/Web of Knowledge 1981 - Present
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately. Lists articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, 1,700 social sciences journals, and 1,100 arts and humanities journals. Frequent updates make it a good source for very recent information. Journal Citation Reports (JCR) a tool for journal evaluation (Used to find impact factors for journals), using citation data taken from over 8,000 journals in the areas of science and technology is one of the components of this database.
Good database for graduate research. Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS database includes bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals. Updated weekly.
World Biodiversity Database
Taxonomic database and information system that allows you to search and browse a number of online species banks covering a wide variety of organisms.
Zoological Record 2006-present
Find citations to articles, conference proceedings, books, etc. on all aspects of zoology including biochemistry, behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, taxonomy, and more.
Top of Page
Environmental Sciences Handbooks, Encyclopedias
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The online version of "Handbook of Chemistry & Physics". The most accurate, reliable, and current resource available on data needed by chemists, physicists, and engineers. Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Spanning the entire spectrum of life sciences, the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) features more than 4,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles, making it an essential read for life scientists and a valuable resource for teaching. Aimed at researchers, students and teachers, articles provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage, written by leaders in the field.
Color illustrations and tables accompany articles, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data. Importantly, all articles have been peer-reviewed to ensure a balanced representation of the literature.
Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems
An integrated compendium of sixteen encyclopedias, such as: Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Human Resources Policy and Management, Natural Resources Policy and Management, Technology, Information, and Systems Management, and Regional Sustainable Development Reviews.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science - This encyclopedia covers many aspects of quaternary science from climate change to paleobotany and addresses their significance to modern environments and society.
ENVIROnetBASE
Handbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of the environment.
Treatise on Geochemistry
Treatise on Geochemistry - This major reference work deals with all major subjects in geochemistry from the chemistry of the solar system to estuarine and coastal process.
Top of Page
Environmental Sciences General Web Resources
Coastal Ocean Modeling atUSGS Woods Hole
USGS Science Center for Coastal and Marine Geology. Modeling tools from the center include: Circulation Movies; Cslice - a MATLAB tool designed for easy visual interrogation of ECOM NetCDF files; ECOM-si - a 3D ocean circulation model; ECOM-viz - A Matlab toolbox for analyzing and visualizing NetCDF output files; Gridgen - A MATLAB-based Orthogonal Grid Generator, Large-scale Coastal Modeling Project; MEXCDF - The Matlab/NetCDF Interface; OMVIZ - Development, analysis and visualization tools for the POM, ECOM and ROMS ocean models (Utilizing NetCDF, MATLAB and AVS); and Toxic "Red Tide" Populations in the Western Gulf of Maine: Sources, Transport, and Nutrient Environment.
EarthTrends
EarthTrends is a comprehensive online database, maintained by the World Resources Institute, that focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world. Contains searchable databases, maps, country profiles, and data tables for research topics such as: Coastal and Marine Ecosystems, Energy and Resources, Climate and Atmosphere, etc.
EPA - Environmental Protection Agency
EPA leads the nation's environmental science, research, education and assessment efforts. The web site offers (but not limited to): EPA publications, Print and electronic information produced by the EPA, Dockets (
Collections containing the public record of information used to document Agency rule making), Databases and Software (Online and downloadable tools to access environmental data), and more.
Forest Service Streams Systems Technology Center
The Stream Systems Technology Center, or "STREAM TEAM " is a national technical center chartered to improve knowledge of stream systems and watershed hydrology, develop operational tools and technology, provide training and technical support, and identify research needs for the purpose of coordinating development of needed technology to secure favorable conditions of water flows.
Hydrological Information Center
Information on flooding, river stages, hydrologic outlooks, drought conditions, soil moisture conditions, snow conditions, water supply outlooks, and meteorological outlooks.
Interactive Global Geostationary Weather Satellite Images - GOES
GOES Satellite imagery. Current images.
National Geodetic Survey
The National Geodetic Survey (NGS) defines and manages the National Spatial Reference System, which
determines position, height, distance, gravity, and shoreline throughout the United States. Provides software, data (datasheets), and photographs.
National Science Digital Library
NSDL is the Nation's online library for education and research in
Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics. Resources available through NSDL include images, video, audio, animations, software, datasets, and of course text documents such as journal articles and lessons plans. In addition, NSDL provides services such as search, browse, help, news reports, and online community discussions.
NGDC Coastal Relief Models
This Coastal Relief Gridded database provides the first comprehensive view of the US Coastal Zone; one that extends from the coastal state boundaries to as far offshore as the NOS hydrographic data will support a continuous view of the seafloor.
NOAA
NOAA is a trusted source of accurate and objective scientific information in four particular areas of national and global importance:
* Ecosystems: Ensure the sustainable use of resources and balance competing uses of coastal and marine ecosystems, recognizing both their human and natural components.
* Climate: Understand changes in climate, including the El Niño phenomenon, to ensure that we can plan and respond properly.
* Weather & Water: Provide data and forecasts for weather and water cycle events, including storms, droughts and floods.
* Commerce & Transportation: Provide weather, climate, and ecosystem information to make sure individual and commercial transportation is safe, efficient and environmentally sound.
Rutgers U. Coastal Ocean Observation Lab
This system receives real-time data from NOAA's AVHRR (temperature), SeaWiFS (ocean color) and China'a FY-1C/1D (color and temperature) satellites. They record daily information on surface currents from our HF-RADAR systems (CODAR), surface and underwater weather from their field station in Tuckerton (Little Egg Harbor) NJ, and underwater weather from our group of autonomous underwater gliders. Archived data also available from above the earth and below the ocean: ocean currents, surface currents, buoy tracking data, satellite images.
UN Atlas of the Oceans
The UN Atlas of the Oceans is an Internet portal providing information relevant to the sustainable development of the oceans. The Atlas includes four main entry points to access information:
1. about the oceans - from history, biology, maps and statistics to research, climatology and ecology; 2. uses of the oceans - from fishing, shipping and mining to tourism, dumping and marine biotechnology; 3. issues - from food security and climate change to governance and human health; 4. geography - information categorized by geographical area
USGS Library
Boasts as the "largest earth science library in the world". Search the USGS catalog, Geological Surveys, access databases on maps, geographic names, print journals, photographic images, and more.
WINDandSEA: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Guide
WINDandSEA has over 1,000 selected links to science and policy sites organized by topic and alphabetically within topic. All of these sites have been reviewed and annotated by NOAA Central Library and NOAA Regional Libraries staff.
Top of Page
Environmental Sciences Data Web Resources
Envirofacts (EPA Data)
This website provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. Includes EnviroMapper, Interactive Mapper for Enviro Data and facts.
NASA Goddard - Earth Observing System
links to EOS data services' resources and help. Also have links to other data product resources.
National Climatic Data Center
NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data. Available datasets (those not requiring UVa network access are starred "*"):
Analysis and Forecast Charts *; Divisional Data *; Dynamic Normals Products *; Image and Publications System; Local Climatological Data; NOMADS--Model Data *; Nexrad Radar Imagery *; Precipitation Data, 15 minute (Over 3,400 U.S., some non-U.S. sites); Precipitation Data, Hourly (Over 6,100 U.S., some non-US sites); Precipitation Data, Hourly Rainfall Event Statistics *; Satellite Data; Surface Data, Annual Summary (Over 18,000 U.S., some non-U.S. sites); Surface Data, Daily (Over 19,000 U.S, some non-US sites); Surface Data, Global Summary of the Day *; Surface Data, Hourly Global (Over 10,000 worldwide sites); Surface Data, Marine (version 1.0) *; Surface Data, Monthly (Over 18,000 U.S, some non-US sites); Surface Data, Monthly Extremes - U.S. *; Surface Data, Monthly Global (Over 3,100 worldwide sites); Surface Data, Monthly Global (Over 900 worldwide sites; GSN) *; U.S. Climate Normals;
National Coastal Data Development Center
NCDDC provids access to the nation's coastal data resources.
National Geophysical Data Center
NOAA's National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) provides scientific stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from the Sun to the Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space. Here is a list of some of the datasets available: NOS Data & Maps, Ice Cores, Fishing Maps, Fires, Glaciology, Geothermal, Geomagnetism, Lake Cores, Inoosphere, Ocean Sediment Thickness, and more!
National Oceanographic Data Center
The National Oceanographic Data Center archives & provides public access to global oceanographic and coastal data, products, and information. provide access to the world's most comprehensive sources of marine environmental data and information. NODC maintains and updates a national ocean archive with environmental data acquired from domestic and foreign activities and produces products and research from these data which help monitor global environmental changes. These data include physical, biological and chemical measurements derived from in situ oceanographic observations, satellite remote sensing of the oceans, and ocean model simulations.
US Geological Survey Products
U.S. Geological Survey collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems.
Virginia Tidal Wetlands Impacts Data
You will find information on tidal wetlands management in Virginia, and the results of that management on the state's tidal wetland resource. Contains nontidal wetlands impacts information, general data summaries, and more.
Top of Page
Environmental Sciences Policy Web Resources
ECOLEX--A Gateway to Environmental Law
Information service on environmental law, which combines the environmental law information holdings of FAO, IUCN and UNEP.The ECOLEX database includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature. Users have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each document, as well as to the full text of most of the information provided.
EPA: Laws & Regulations
Description of how laws and regulations come to be and how to find them concerning the Environment and the United States.
National Council for Science and the Environment
A universal, timely, and easy-to-use single-point entry to environmental information and data for the use of all participants in the environmental enterprise.
Top of Page