Biology Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Rebecca Pappert | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms Oxford Dictionary of Biology Brown Library Reference QH13 .D53 2000 CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology Brown Library Reference QH540.4 .E52 1995 CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS) Cambridge Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Brown Library Reference QH307.2 .C36 1985 Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-To get more information about a database, click the information icon (
).
-Additional biology databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- Biological Abstracts 1985+ (Ovid)
Good for graduate research. The world's premiere English-language biological and biomedical indexing and abstracting service.
- BioOne
BioOne provides integrated, full-text access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. - CAB Direct
With over four million records dating back to 1973, CAB Direct covers research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources. - Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Good for graduate research. Use the Natural Sciences subject category or choose specific databases from the master list. - GenBank Databases
A gateway to searching a variety of databases including PubMed, a protein sequence database, a nucleotide sequence database, various genomes, a molecular modeling database, taxonomy, population study data, human genes and disorders, various textbooks, and NCBI's gene expression and hybridization array repository (GEO) data. - Medline 1950+ (Ebsco)
Medline covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
- Zoological Record 2006+ (Ovid)
Find articles, conference proceedings, books, etc. on all aspects of zoology including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc.
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Academic Info - Biological Sciences
- Argus Clearinghouse - Biology
- BioChemLinks
- Biocrawler.com
- BioLinks
- Biology Browser (from BIOSIS)
- Bio-Web - Resources for Molecular and Cell Biologists
- BUBL LINK - Life Sciences
- FirstGov for Science
- Galaxy - Biology
- Infomine - Biological, Agricultural and Medical Sciences
- National Science Digital Library
- Open Directory Project - Biology
- WWW Virtual Library - Agriculture
- WWW Virtual Library - Biosciences
- Yahoo! - Biology
Organizations
Web Resources for Biological Specialties
General Topics
- Amino Acid Information
- Animal Diversity Web
- eNature.com Online Field Guides
- Guide to the Animal Kingdom for Students and Educators
- Index to Organism Names
- NatureServe
- Tree of Life Web Project
Algology (Algae)
Amphibia
Birds
- Fat Birder Web Site
- Introduction to the Aves
- Ornithological Web Library (OWL)
- Spring Migration Reference
- Visual Resources for Ornithology
- Yahoo! - Birds
Botany, Gardening and Horticulture
- D.C. Herbarium - Flora of the Washington-Baltimore Area
- Dendrology at Virginia Tech
- EveryRose The Rose Reference Database
- Garden Gate
- Garden Guides
- Garden Helper
- Gardening Launchpad
- An Illustrated Herbal
- Information Resource about Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products
- International Plant Names Index
- IOPI Database of Plant Databases
- National Forest Web Sites
- National Gardening Association
- Native Plant Information Network
- PlantCare.com
- Plant Facts (OSU)
- Plant Pathology Internet Guide Book
- Southern Gardening
- Synonimized Checklist of the Vascular Flora of North American, Canada and Greenland
- TreeGuide Inc.
- Virtual Foliage
- WebGarden (Ohio State University)
- Virtual Garden
- WWW Virtual Library Gardening Links
- Yahoo! - Botany
Fish
- FishBase
- Ichthyology (Museum of Natural History - Los Angeles)
- WWW Virtual Library - Fish
- Yahoo! - Fish
Genetics and Genomics
Insects
- Antbase
- Beetle Science
- Checklist of the Insects of North America
- Coleoptera Home Page
- Coleoptera World Wide Web Site
- Entomology Index of Internet Resources
- Entomology on the WWW
- European Butterflies
- Insectclopedia
- Insects on WWW
- NMNH Entomology Database Library
- Yahoo! - Insects
Microbiology
Microscopy
Morphology
Mycology (Fungi)
Parasitolgy
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
