Chemical Engineering Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Beth Blanton-Kent | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| General Sources of Chemical Information | |
|---|---|
|
Access Science Online encyclopedia of science. CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Dictionary of Organic Compounds CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Safari Tech Books Online online IT handbooks Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations a> Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry |
Chemical Properties Handbook Brown Library Reference TP200 .Y35 1999 CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Astronomy Library Reference QD65 .H3 Bio/Psych Library Reference QD 65 .H3 Brown Library Reference QD65 .H3 Chemistry Library Reference QD65 .H3 Physics Library Reference QD65 .H3 Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary Brown Library Reference QD5 .C5 2001 Chemistry Library Reference QD5 .C5 2001 Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry Brown Library Reference QD4 .M33 1997 Merck Index Brown Library Reference RS51 .M4 2001 Chemistry Library Reference RS 356 .M524 2001 Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry Brown Library Reference QD5 .D495 2000 Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook Brown Library Reference TP151 .P45 1997 Properties of Gases and Liquids Brown Library Reference TP242 .P62 2001 Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry Brown Library Reference TP9 .U57 1985 |
Databases
Locate Books
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 5 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
i
Locate Journal Articles
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-To get more information about a database, click the information icon (
).
-Additional chemical engineering databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- ACS Publications
Good first database for undergraduate research. Full text of articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society.< /li> - ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies
& Engineering 1981+ (CSA)
Includes new technologies in all areas of engineering, science and allied subject areas. - ScienceDirect
Another good database for beginning your undergraduate research. Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science. - SciFinder
Scholar
Premier database for graduate and faculty research. SciFinder Scholar can be searched by research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and/or author's name. For more info, and instructions for how to install this program on your computer, click here. - Web of Science (Current Contents) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Hum anities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly. - Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Good database for graduate research. The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database.
- Medline 1950+ (Ebsco)
Good for medical applications. - Biological Abstracts (Ovid) 1985-
Good database for graduate research on biological applications of chemical engineering.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- About.com Chemical Engineering
- Academic Info Biotechnology
- Academic Info Chemistry
- BioChemLinks
- Chemical Engineering URL's Directory - from Univ. of Karlsruhe
- Chemical Societies Network
- Chemistry Resource Center
- Chemistry Resources on the Internet
- ChemSoc Timeline
- ChemSpy.com
- EEVL
- EINet Galaxy - Chemical Engineering
- Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry
- FirstGov for Science
- GlobalSpec - Components and Suppliers Database
- Information Retrieval in Chemistry WWW Server
- National Science Digital Library
- Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
- PSIGate - Chemistry
- WWW Virtual Library - Chemical Engineering
- Yahoo Index - Chemical Engineering
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AICHE)
- WWW Virtual Library - Chemical Engineering Organizations
- Yahoo Index - Chemical Engineering Institutes
Patents
Reference Sources
- ChemExper Chemical Directory
- ChemSpy
- F*A*C*T - Facility for the Analysis of Thermochemical Data
- Periodic Table of Elements (EnvironmentalChemistry.com)
- Sigma-Aldrich Search Center
- Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
- WebElements
Standards
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
