Locating Chemical Properties
| Subject Librarian: Beth Blanton-Kent | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| General Sources of Chemical Information | |
|---|---|
|
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Dictionary of Organic Compounds CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Safari Tech Books Online online IT handbooks Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations a> Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry |
Chemical Properties Handbook Brown Library Reference TP200 .Y35 1999 CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Astronomy Library Reference QD65 .H3 Bio/Psych Library Reference QD 65 .H3 Brown Library Reference QD65 .H3 Chemistry Library Reference QD65 .H3 Physics Library Reference QD65 .H3 Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary Brown Library Reference QD5 .C5 2001 Chemistry Library Reference QD5 .C5 2001 Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry Brown Library Reference QD4 .M33 1997 Merck Index Brown Library Reference RS51 .M4 2001 Chemistry Library Reference RS 356 .M524 2001 Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry Brown Library Reference QD5 .D495 2000 Properties of Gases and Liquids Brown Library Reference TP242 .P62 2001 Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry Brown Library Reference TP9 .U57 1985 See also the University of Wisconsin's Physical and Chemical Properties Data database for additional suggestions. Note that the call numbers listed may NOT be the same as ones used at UVA. |
Resources
Reference Books
- ThermoDex
ThermoDex (maintained by the University of Texas General Libraries) contains records for over 120 printed handbooks and compilations of thermodynamic and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and will return a list of handbooks that might contain this data. Full entries include title, a brief abstract explaining the work's scope and arrangement, the properties included, and types of compounds included. Note: Large data compilations (such as Beilstein, Landolt-Börnstein), online datafiles, and the standard one-volume handbooks (such as the CRC and Perry's) are not indexed in ThermoDex. Note that the call numbers shown are for the Univ. of Texas library, not for UVA -- in fact, UVA may not even own all the sources referred to! Consult the VIRGO catalog for local holdings when in doubt. - Index to Physical,
Chemical and Other Property Data
This site is maintained by the Arizona State University Noble Science and Engineering Library and lists many reference works that contain physical and chemical reference data. Note that the call numbers shown are for the Arizona State University library, not for UVA -- in fact, UVA may not even own all the sources referred to! Consult the VIRGO catalog for local holdings when in doubt. - Basic Chemical Encyclopedias and Handbooks
- Advanced Chemical Handbooks and Tables
- Other Sources on Properties published by CRC Press and DECHEMA Chemistry Data Series
Basic Chemical Encyclopedias and Handbooks
The books listed in this category serve as good starting points when the latest, best and most complete data are not necessarily needed.
- Chemical Properties Handbook
(Brown Library Ref -- TP 200 .Y35 1999) McGraw-Hill, 1999.
Contains tables and information on physical, thermodynamic, environmental, transport, safety, and health-related properties for organic and inorganic chemicals. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
(Brown Library Permanent Reserve QD65.H3) CRC Press, 1996-1997.
Basic property information: Molecular weight; Melting point; Boiling point; Density; Refractive index; Molecular formula; Chemical structure; Other property data. - CRC Handbook of Tables for Organic Compound Identification
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 291 .R28) CRC Press, 1987
Provides all the necessary data for identification of organic compounds. - Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design
(Brown Library Ref -- TP 9 .E66) Dekker, 1996.
A collection of useful information on the process and design of chemicals. Many are reprinted from Chemical Engineering and other chemistry journals. - JANAF Thermochemical Tables
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 511 .D67) The Thermal Research Laboratory, Dow Chemical Company, 1971
Provides fundamental property data in table format for all major chemicals. - Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
(Brown Library Ref -- TP 9 .E685) Wiley, 1991.
This is the first reference source to check for information on the properties, manufacture and use of any chemical. - Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
(Brown Library Ref -- TP 151 .H25) McGraw-Hill, 1992.
There are 4 sections in this title that provide property information: Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Thermodynamic Properties, and Physical Properties. Lange's Handbook is one of the most heavily-used sources of physical property data. - The Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals
(Brown Library Ref -- RS 356 .M524) Merck, 1996.
Contains over 10,000 chemical, drugs and biological with notes on preparation, boiling point, toxicity plus chemical structures and miscellaneous tables. - Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook
(Brown Library Ref -- TP 151 .P45) McGraw-Hill, 1984.
Known as the Chemical Engineer's "Bible", this is a compendium that covers 27 sections ranging from transport and storage of fluids and heat transfer to process and control and biochemical engineering. The section on physical and chemical data is 301 pages long with complete references. - Ullmann's
Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry (Also available in hardcopy
as Brown Library Reference TP9 .U57 1985)
A useful reference to check for properties information or data on industrial chemical compounds.
Advanced Chemical Handbooks and Tables
- CODATA Thermodynamic Tables
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 504 .C63) Hemisphere Publishing Corp, 1987
Contains selected property information for some compounds of calcium and related mixtures. - Physical Properties of Hydrocarbons
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 305 .H5G28) Gulf Publishing Co., 1992.
Lists virtually all of the essential physical property data needed to design and operate oil refineries, petrochemical plants and gas processing facilities. - Properties of Non-metallic Fluid Elements
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 162 .P76) Purdue Research Foundation, 1989.
Covers property data for the following chemicals: Argon, Bromine, Chlorine, Deuterium, Fluorine, Helium - 3, Helium - 4, Hydrogen, Iodine, Krypton, Neon, Nitrogen, Oxygen, Ozone, Radon, Tritium and Xenon. - Tables on the Thermophysical Properties of Liquids and Gases: in Normal
and Dissociated States
(Brown Library Ref and Stacks -- QC 145.4 .T5V3713) Hemisphere Publishing Corporation, 1975.
Tables of data for Hydrogen and Hydrogen Compounds; Metals; Carbon Compounds; Hydrocarbon and Organic Compounds; Nitrogen and Ammonia; Oxygen; Sulfur Dioxide; Halogens, Monoatomic Gases; Gas Mixtures and Solutions and Liquid Fuels. - Thermochemical Data of Pure Substances
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 511.8 .B369) VCH, 1995.
Provides comprehensive tables for the thermodynamic properties of almost 2400 pure substances. All of the natural elements and their compounds are included. - Thermochemical Properties of Inorganic Substances
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 511.8 .T47) Springer-Verlag, 1991.
Contains a list of tables with comprehensive data ranging from entropy, enthalpy, vapor pressure, chemical equilibrium to thermal decomposition, stability and metastability and thermochemical energy balance. - Thermodynamic and Physical Property Data
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 504 .Y38) Gulf Publishing Company, 1992.
Comprehensive data for 700 major hydrocarbons and organic chemicals including oxygen, nitrogen, fluorine, chlorine, bromine, iodine, and sulfur compounds. - Selected Values of Thermodynamic Properties of Metals and Alloys
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 171 .H88) John Wiley & Sons Inc., 1963.
Covers methods of evaluation and properties of metallic elements and binary alloys.
Other Sources on Properties published by CRC Press and DECHEMA Chemistry Data Series
- Activity Coefficients at Infinite Dilution
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 541 .A28) DECHEMA Chemistry Data Series, 1986, 1994.
Provides information concerned with the physical and thermodynamic property data of chemical compounds and their mixtures in the fluid state. In particular phase equilibrium data, heat capacity, enthalpy, entropy data and transport and interfacial tension data. - CRC Handbook of Solubility Parameters and Other Cohesion Parameters
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 543 .B22) CRC Press, 1991.
Provides published information on cohesion parameters of liquids, gas, solids and polymers. - Electrolyte Data Collection
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 565 .E424) DECHEMA Chemistry Data Series, 1992.
Contains information on Conductivities, Transference Numbers and Limiting Ionic Conductivities. - Phase Equilibria and Phase Diagrams of Electrolytes
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 565 .E5) DECHEMA Chemistry Data Series, 1990.
Provides proposed method of calculation for phase equilibria on salt solutions and acids. - Properties Aqueous Solutions of Electrolytes
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 565 .P76) CRC Press, 1992.
Offers table of information on experimental values and methods for calculation of physico chemical parameters. - Vapor-Liquid Equilibrium Data Collection
(Brown Library Ref -- QD 503 .G59) DECHEMA Chemistry Data Series.
Emphasizes on non-electrolyte systems. Data included mainly is restricted to mixtures of organic compounds but does not include water.
Journals
- Bulletin of Chemical Thermodynamics
(Brown Library and Chemistry QD 511 .T452)
There are 3 main sections in this bulletin: bibliography, reports on current research worldwide, and index. The bibliography is a listing of papers with chemical thermodynamic content published during the preceding year. The reports section provides summaries of studies completed but not yet published. The index provides access to the other two sections by substance or property. - Journal of Chemical and Engineering Data
(Brown Library QD1.J92)
This is a good example of a current and original source of reliable physical property data for both pure compounds and mixtures. - Journal of Chemical Thermodynamics
(Brown Library QD501.J78)
This is another leading source for locating up-to-date and reliable chemical property information. - Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data
(Available only in Astronomy Library and Chemistry Library QC 1 .J63)
This is a quarterly journal containing data compilations and critical data reviews published for the National Bureau of Standards, by the American Institute of Physics and the American Chemical Society.>
Electronic Databases
- Beilstein, through MDL DiscoveryGate, provides chemical data on organic substances and reactions, including
structures, properties, bioactivity records, preparation details and specific reaction pathways; also provides
citations and some abstracts to the primary organic chemistry literature. Incorporates data from the original
Beilstein Handbuch (1771-1984) and journals abstracted since 1980. Download the software and search
Beilstein here: https://wwwdiscoverygate.com.
Contact Beth Blanton-Kent, 924-6837, or e-mail her at bwb9f@virginia.edu for more information and assistance. - ChemExper Chemical Directory
- EPA Substance Registry
- F*A*C*T - Facility for the Analysis of Thermochemical Data
- JESS - Joint Expert Speciation System
- MatWeb - the Online Materials Information Resource
- SciFinder Scholar
Available in the Chemistry Library on any of the public workstations or on designated Brown Library workstations; software also available for download from the URL above. Contact Beth Blanton-Kent, 924-6837, or e-mail her at bwb9f@virginia.edu for information and assistance. Certain restrictions apply to the use of this software. - Sigma-Aldrich Search Center
- SOLV-DB - Solvents
- Thermo Chemical Properties Estimations
The following databases are available only by appointment. Contact Beth Blanton-Kent at bwb9f@virginia.edu for more info:
- Detherm
Contains thermophysical data important for the design and processes in the chemical industry. More than 500 properties for pure compounds and mixtures and approximately 17,000 inorganic and organic substances are covered. From Fiz Chemie DECHEMA. - GMELIN
Contains the critically reviewed and evaluated data from the GMELIN Handbook Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry. From GMELIN Institute for Inorganic Chemistry. - HODOC
Covers the most frequently used physical and chemical data of organic compounds plus spectral data. The source for HODOC is CRC Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds. From CRC Press. - JANAF
Contains thermochemical property data for more than 1,100 inorganic substances and organic substances with only 1 or 2 carbons. From the Joint Army-Navy-Air Force, National Institute Standards and Technology. - TRCThermo
Contains the evaluated data of the Thermodynamic Research Center. Data includes (when available): boiling point, critical compressibility, critical constants, density, dynamic viscosity, enthalpy and other physical properties. From the Thermodynamic Research Center at Texas A&M University.
Spectra
- NIST Chemistry Web Book
- NMRShiftDB
- SDBS - Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
- Sigma Aldrich Online Catalog
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
