Civil and Environmental Engineering Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations A Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering Brown Library Reference TA9 .D46 2000 CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
ENVIROnetBASE Civil Engineering Handbook Brown Library Reference TA151 .C57 1995 Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers Brown Library Reference TA151 .S8 1995 Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - TLCat - Transportation Library Union Catalog
Contains holdings information on anything related to transportation (engineering, financial, economic, environmental, legal, sociological, human factors, safety, etc.) held by some of the country's top transportation libraries, including the Virginia Transportation Research Council Library. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - Powell's Technical Books
The online version of the legendary Portland, OR, book sellers. Useful for locating and obtaining current, in-print technical books and scientific materials. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- American Society of Civil Engineers
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-To get more information about a database, click the information icon (
).
-Additional civil engineering databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies
& Engineering 1981+ (CSA)
Includes new technologies in all areas of engineering, science and allied subject areas. - Aqualine 1960+ (CSA)
Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment, and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution. - ASCE Civil Engineering Database 1970+
Index to ASCE publications. - Civil Engineering Abstracts (CSA) 1966+
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (CSA) 1971+
- Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Good database for graduate research. The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database.
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts (CSA) 1990+
Environmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. - Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts (CSA) 1966+
Good database for graduate research. Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields.
- TRIS Online 1960s+
Covers transportation research published in books, journal articles, technical reports and other media. Collaborative effort of the Transportation Research Board, National Research Council, National Academies, and the Bureau of Transportation Statistics. A component of the National Transportation Library. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Good database for upper level and graduate research. Covers civil engineering and its complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation.
Provides comprehensive authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Athenus Engineering and Science Search
- Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library
- EINet Galaxy - Civil and Construction Engineering
- GlobalSpec - Components and Suppliers Database
- iCivilEngineer
- National Science Digital Library
- Science.gov
- Scirus - Searching for Science
- Ultimate CE Directory
- WWW Virtual Library - Civil Engineering
- Yahoo Index - Civil Engineering
- Abacus Construction Index (UK Sites)
- AECPortico
- Construction Web Links
- Geotechnical, Rock and Water Resources Library
- ORNL Building Envelopes Program
- Virtual Cement and Concrete Testing Laboratory
- World Wide Web Pages for Dam Design
Environmental Engineering
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts/Illumina)
- Geotechnical & Geoenvironmental Software Directory
Transportation
- AASHTO Transportation Portal
- Department of Transportation Library
- National Transportation Library
- Pocket Guide to Transportation (2004)
- Sources of Information in Transportation
- TransStats Bureau of Transportation Statistics
- Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT)
- Virginia Transportation Research Council
All Topics
Building and Construction
Organizations
Patents
Standards
Toolbox
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
