Computer Science Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
High-Tech Dictionary Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4.5 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - Online Computer and Internet Books
Links to (mostly) free online editions of computing related books. Note that these are often older editions of works that have been updated in print form and may be available in the Science and Engineering Library. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Conference Papers Index provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. - PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon
(
).
- Additional computer science databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- ACM Digital Library 1985+
UVA, through its affiliation with the VIVA Consortium, now offers digital access to the full text of most ACM publications in ACM's Digital Library. Search journals, conference proceedings, special interest group (SIG) publications, and related material. - ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies
& Engineering 1981+ (CSA)
Includes new technologies in all areas of engineering, science and allied subject areas. - CiteSeer.IST
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer indexes PostScript and PDF research articles on the Web and includes a number of citation and tracking features. - Collection of
Computer Science Bibliographies
Contains about 1,200 bibliographies with over 1 million references, including over 100,000 web links to the full text of the article. - CompuScience
WWW Database
A bibliographic database in the field of computer science with about 500.000 citations. The database contains ACM's Computing Reviews from 1976 to current and Guide to Computing Literature from 1977 to current. - Computer and Information Systems Abstracts 1981+ (CSA)
Provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications in computer science from around the world. Includes both journal articles and conference proceedings. Some full text access.
- Computer Database 1996+ (Infotrac Web)
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news, and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. Contains more undergraduate level material than other CS databases. Includes full text of many articles, as well as book and product reviews. - Electronics and Communications Abstracts 1981+ (CSA)
Database covers information about computer and electronics hardware and circuitry, telephone and communications equipment, light, optics, lasers, and sound equipment from journal articles and conference proceedings. Some full text access.
- Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Good database for graduate research. The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database. Information on journal articles, conference proceedings, and selected web sites. Some full text access via links in VIRGO.
- HCI Bibliography: Human-Computer Interaction Resources
The HCI Bibliography is a free-access online bibliographic database on Human-Computer Interaction. The basic goal of the Project is to put an electronic bibliography for most of HCI on the screens of all researchers, developers, educators and students in the field through the World-Wide Web and anonymous ftp access. Contains information on nearly 30,000 items. - IEEE Xplore
Good database for graduate research. Indexes Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers journals and conference proceedings. Provides full-text access from 1998 to the present for 106 journals and magazines and over 345 conferences with content updated weekly. - INSPEC 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Good database for graduate research. Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, technical reports, and theses in computing, electrical engineering, physics. Some full text access via links in VIRGO.
- Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts 1989+ (CSA)
Provides comprehensive information on the latest personal computing products and developments. Some full text access.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Covers news, business, industry, financial, and legal information. Contains full text articles from over 100 major U.S. and foreign newspapers, news magazines, radio and television program transcripts, news wires, trade journals, and legal documents. - SPIEWeb InCite Database 1964+
Indexes over 90,000 papers, abstracts, books, journals and other publications produced by the SPIE, the International Society for Optical Engineering. - Web of Science 1987+
Good database for graduate research. Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS database includes bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals. Updated weekly.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Academic Info Computer Science
- Basic Computer Science Sources
- BUBL Subject Tree on Computing and Computer Science
- Complex Systems Virtual Library
- Computer Science Page (University at Albany Libraries)
- CVonline - Compendium of Computer Vision
- Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library
- FirstGov for Science
- Galaxy - Computer Technology
- GlobalSpec - Components and Suppliers Database
- Guide to Computer Science Internet Resources
- Internet Resources for Computing [pdf file, British slant]
- MachineBrain.com - Robotics and Smart Machines
- National Science Digital Library
- NEC Researchindex Computer Science Directory
- TechTarget.com
- WWW Virtual Library - Computing
- Yahoo! - Computer Science
- Yahoo! - Computers
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- ACM SIG for Artificial Intelligence
- American Association for Artificial Intelligence
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
- Association for Women in Computing
- Black Data Processing Associates
- British Computer Society
- Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility
- IEEE Computer Society
- ZDNet Company Finder
- More Organizations
Patents
- Delphion Intellectual Property Network (formerly the IBM Patent Server)
- Patent Information on the Web
Preprints
- Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
- NCSA Technical Reports and Preprints
- Preprint Servers on the Web
Standards
- Computer Technology Standards (Galaxy)
- Computers and Internet Standards (Yahoo!)
- IEEE Standards
- Scientific Standards Information on the Web
Technical Reports
- Computer Science Department Tech Reports at UVA
- Computer Science Department Tech Reports at VPI
- Bibliographies of Technical Reports of Computer Science Departments
- Computer Science Technical Reports Archive
- NCSA Technical Reports and Preprints
- NetLib Repository at UTK and ORNL
- Networked Computer Science Technical Reports Library (NCSTRL)
- NTIS 1964+ (Engineering Village)
- Online CS Techreports
- Technical Report Services in CS
- Yahoo Index - CS Technical Reports
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
