Earth Science Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Rebecca Pappert | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection ENVIROnetBASE CRC Press Environmental Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - U.S. Geological Survey Library
Established in 1879 to build and organize a collection of scientific materials in the earth sciences, the U.S. Geological Survey Library is now one of the largest libraries of its kind in the world. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-To get more information about a database, click the information icon (
).
-Additional earth sciences databases are available on the SEL
Databases page.
- Aqualine 1960+ (CSA)
- CAB Direct
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
- GEOBASE (FS) 1980+
- GeoRef (CSA) 1785+
- Oceanic Abstracts (CSA) 1981+
- Water Resources Abstracts (CSA) 1967+
- U.S. Geological Survey Publications Database 1880+
Web Resources
Geology and Geophysics
- FirstGov for Science
- GeoGuide
- Geo Index
- Geologic Hazard Slide Show
- Geological Survey of Canada Data Centres
- Geology of Virginia
- Geosource
- Geo&Soft International Meeting Pages
- Geotechnical & Geoenvironmental Software Directory
- State Geological Survey Directory
- Atlas of Igneous and Metamorphic Rocks, Minerals and Textures
- Dendrochronology
- EINet Galaxy - Geosciences
- Gems and Precious Stones
- GeologyLink
- Index for Geoid, Gravity, Deflection, and Data Coverage Grids
- National Science Digital Library
- PACER (EarthRef)
- Plate Tectonics Animations
- PSIGate - Earth Sciences
- Resources for Earth Science and Geography Instruction
- Software and Data for Thermodynamics and Phase Equilibrium Calculations in Geology
- Virtual Geology Labs (Coast, Dating, Earthquake, Groundwater, Landslide, Plate Tectonics, River, Volcano)
- Volcano World
- Web Geologic Time Machine
- WWW Virtual Library - Geophysics
- Yahoo Index - Earth Sciences
- Yahoo Index - Geology and Geophysics
Hydrology and Oceanography
- African Water Page
- BASINS - (Better Assessment Science Integrating Point and Non-point Sources)
- Biological Indicators of Watershed Health
- Center for Coastal Studies - Scripps Institution of Oceanography
- Coastal Ocean Modelling at the USGS Woods Hole Field Center
- Coastal Relief Models
- Coasts in Crisis
- Current Hydrologic Conditions
- Daily Streamflow Conditions Map of the U.S.
- Eastern U.S. Waterfalls
- FirstGov for Science
- Global Hydrology and Climate Center Geostationary Satellite Data
- Hydroecology and Fish Biology
- Hydrology-Related Internet Resources
- National Estuary Program
- National Park Service Water Resources Division
- National Science Digital Library
- Paul Houser's Favorite Hydrology Links
- Plankton Net
- Real Time/Archived Data from the Atlantic Ocean - Rutgers Univ.
- Resources for Earth Science and Geography Instruction
- River Watch (Mississippi River Basin)
- Stream Systems Technology Center
- Tidal Wetlands Impacts Data Home Page
- U.N. Atlas of the Oceans
- Universities Water Information Network
- Water in Africa
- Water Librarian's Home Page
- Water Measurement Manual
- Water Online
- Water Page
- Water Portal
- WaterWiser
- Wind and Sea - The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet Locator
- World's Water
- WWW Virtual Library - Oceanography
- Yahoo Index - Hydrology
- Index of Watershed Indicators
Paleontology
- FirstGov for Science
- National Science Digital Library
- Paleontology Without Walls
- Resources for Earth Science and Geography Instruction
- Yahoo Index - Paleontology
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- American Geological Institute
- American Geophysical Union
- Association of American State Geologists - State Geological Survey Directory
- Meteoritical Society
- North American Benthological Society
- Society of Exploration Geophysicists
Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.
