Environmental Sciences Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection |
ENVIROnetBASE CRC Press Environmental Handbook and Reference Collection Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - National Library for the Environment
Provides links to briefing books, Congressional Research Service reports, news, virtual libraries and more on environmental topics. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries. - National Environmental Publications Information
A database of over 6,000 EPA documents to browse, view, and print online.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon
(
).
- Additional environmental sciences databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
- Aqualine 1960+ (CSA)
Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment, and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution. - Biological Abstracts (Ovid) 1985-
Good database for graduate research on biological and ecological topics.
- BioOne
BioOne provides integrated, full-text access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. - CAB Direct
With over four million records dating back to 1973, CAB Direct covers research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources. - Ecology Abstracts (CSA) 1982+
Covers all areas of ecology including global environmental change and destruction, evolutionary biology, food chains, erosion and land reclamation, pollution and many other related topics.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management 1981+ (CSA)
This multidisciplinary database provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
- GeoRef 1785+ (CSA)
International coverage of 3000 journals in geology and earth science.
- Water Resources Abstracts 1967+ (CSA)
Covers the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
- Zoological Record 2006+ (Ovid)
Find articles, conference proceedings, books, etc. on all aspects of zoology including biochemistry, behavior, ecology evolution, genetics, etc.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Academic Info Environmental History
- Academic Info Environmental Studies
- Amazing Environmental Organization Web Directory
- Aquatic Ecology Page
- BioLinks
- Biology Browser (from BIOSIS)
- ChemReport Smartlink - Air
- ChemReport Smartlink - Environment
- Cyburbia - the Urban Planning Portal
- EarthTrends - The Environmental Information Portal
- Earthwire Africa
- ECOLEX Gateway to Environmental Law
- EINet Galaxy - Environment (Community)
- EINet Galaxy - Environment (Law)
- ELDIS
- Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Network (EREN) U.S. DOE
- Environment
- FirstGov for Science
- Geo Index
- Geotechnical & Geoenvironmental Software Directory
- National Library for the Environment
- National Science Digital Library
- Planet Ark
- World Environmental Library
- WWW Virtual Library - Earth Science
- WWW Virtual Library - Environment
- Yahoo Index - Environment and Nature
EPA (Environmental Protection Agency) Web Sites
- EPA Home Page
- EPA Publications Search
- Air and Air Pollution Topics
- Laws and Regulations
- Pesticides
- Pollutants and Toxics
- Science Inventory
- Wastes
- Water Quality Standards
- Window to My Environment
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- Boyce Thompson Institute Environmental Biology Program
- Center for Health and the Global Environment
- Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)
- Environment Agency U.K.
- Environmental Careers Organization
- Environmental Organization Web Directory
- Environmental Protection Agency
- European Environment Agency
- Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
- National Resources Defense Council (NRDC)
- Nature Conservancy
- United Nations Environment Programme
- Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
- World Forest Institute
Software, Applets, Images and Datasets
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
