Health Sciences Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Rebecca Pappert | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
Encyclopedia
of Life Sciences Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - NLM LOCATORplus
The National Library of Medicine's LOCATORplus is the Library's catalog of books, journals, and audiovisuals and access points to other medical research tools. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
-Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
-To get more information about a database, click the information icon (
).
-Additional health sciences databases are available on the
Brown Library Databases page.
- ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies
& Engineering 1981+ (CSA)
Includes new technologies in all areas of engineering, science and allied subject areas. - ASSIA: Applied Social Science
Index & Abstracts 1987+ (CSA)
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. - BioOne
BioOne provides integrated, full-text access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. - CAB Direct
With over four million records dating back to 1973, CAB Direct covers research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources. - Complementary and
Alternative Medicine Citation Index
The OAM Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) Citation Index consists of more than 90,000 bibliographic citations from 1966 to 1997, obtained from the National Library of Medicine's Medline database. The citations were obtained using MeSH controlled vocabulary terms from the "alternative medicine" tree structure, and other selected MeSH terms. - GenBank Databases
A gateway to searching a variety of databases including PubMed, a protein sequence database, a nucleotide sequence database, various genomes, a molecular modeling database, taxonomy, population study data, human genes and disorders, various textbooks, and NCBI's gene expression and hybridization array repository (GEO) data. - Health Reference Center - Academic 1995+ (Infotrac Web)
Good for undergraduate research. Use this database to find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. - MD Consult
MD Consult will help physicians answer clinical questions, provide knowledge at the point of care, and help stay up-to-date with the latest in medicine. Its integrated collection includes an extensive collection of more than 35 leading medical books, 48 clinical journals, drug information, over 600 practice guidelines, 2,500 patient handouts, and more. - Medline 1950+ (Ebsco)
Best database for graduate research. Medline covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. - Physical Education Index 1970+ (CSA)
Covers physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sports law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, health education and physical therapy. - Sport Discus Database 1973+
Serves as a comprehensive reference library for all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists Health
- General
Reference Collection (UVA Health Sciences Library)
- BioLinks
- CDC Traveler's Health Page
- Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRAP) (Info on Bioterrorism and Biosecurity)
- Drugfacts.com
- Drugs.com
- Drugs@FDA
- EINet Galaxy - Medicine
- Ethnomed (Ethnic Medicine Information)
- FirstGov for Science
- Healthfinder Espanol
- Health Information in Chinese
- Johns Hopkins Division of Infectious Diseases Antibiotic Guide
- MD Consult
- Medical World Search
- MEDLINEplus Health Information
- Merck Manual of Geriatrics
- Micromedex
- NLM Gateway
- National Science Digital Library
- Pill Identifier
- SPIRALSelect Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages
- UVA HealthGate
- VetCentric
- Who Named It? (Medical Eponyms)
- World Health Organization (WHO)
- WWW Virtual Library - Medicine
- Yahoo Index - Health
Comprehensive Subject Lists Nutrition
- About Herbs, Botanicals and Other Products
- National Eating Disorders Association
- Nutrition Data
- Nutrition.gov
- USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
- Whatisinit? (Emphasizes Islamic dietary guidelines)
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
