Science and Engineering Libraries
Search VIRGO Catalog
 
Search Databases
Support the Library Alderman Library home page General Information Resources Services Collections Digital Initiatives Satellite Libraries Reference Services



Materials Science Research Guide

Subject Librarian: Beth Blanton-Kent I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial

 

Databases/Indexes Web Resources Go To
Locate Books
ArrowLocate Dissertations
Locate Journal Articles
VIRGO (Library Catalog)

Comprehensive Subject Lists
Crystallographic Data
Materials Safety Data Sheets
Organizations
Patents
Reference Sources
Scientific Standards
Go To:
Materials Science Department
Chemistry Research Guide

Return To
:
Subject Guides Menu
Brown SEL Homepage

General Sources of Materials Science Information
online sources

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

CRCnetBASE
   CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE

ENGnetBASE
   CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection

Knovel Library
   Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection

Referex
   Large collection of engineering e-books and references

Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
print sources

Annual Book of ASTM Standards
    Brown Library Reference TA401 .A653

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    Astronomy Library Reference QD65 .H3
    Bio/Psych Library Reference QD 65 .H3
    Brown Library Reference QD65 .H3
    Chemistry Library Reference QD65 .H3
    Physics Library Reference QD65 .H3

Mineral Powder Diffraction File
    Brown Library Reference QE369 .X2M58 1993

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
    Brown Library Reference TP9 .U57 1985

 

Databases / Indexes

Book Indexes

Search these databases for books.

  • VIRGO
    Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law.
  • Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information Catalogue
    Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture.
  • Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
    The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services.
  • Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering and Technology
    The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals.
  • WorldCat (FirstSearch)
    Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.

 

top of page

 

Journal Indexes

- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon ( More Info ).
- Additional materials science databases are available on the SEL Databases page.

  • ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies & Engineering 1981+ (CSA)
    Includes new technologies in all areas of engineering, science and allied subject areas.
  • Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
    Good database for graduate research. The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database. More Info
  • Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
    Best databases for graduate research. You can select these specific databases to search:
      Aluminum Industry Abstracts
    Ceramic Abstracts
    Copper Data Center Database
    Corrosion Abstracts
      Engineered Materials Abstracts
    Materials Business File
    METADEX
    WELDASEARCH
  • ScienceDirect
    Premier research site. Full text of articles from journals published by Elsevier Science.
  • Web of Science
    Good database for key articles in many areas of science and technology. Offers citation searching for tracing subjects backward and forward in time.

 

top of page

 

Web Resources

Comprehensive Subject Lists

 

top of page

 

Crystallographic Data

 

 

Organizations

 

top of page

 

Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.

 

Charles L. Brown Science & Engineering Library
University of Virginia
PO Box 400124
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4124
ph: 434.924.3628

Brown Library Home  UVa Library Home
Search the Library Site
  UVa Home
Maintained by: science_library@virginia.edu
  Last Modified: Monday, June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Science and Engineering Libraries home page University of Virginia Library home page University of Virginia Library home page Science and Engineering Libraries home page