Systems Engineering Research Guide
| Subject Librarian: Fred O'Bryant | I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial |
| Recommended Reference Works | |
|---|---|
|
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics CRCnetBASE CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE ENGnetBASE CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection Knovel Library Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection |
ENVIROnetBASE CRC Press Environmental Handbook and Reference Collection Referex Large collection of engineering e-books and references Safari Tech Books Online |
Databases / Indexes
Book Indexes
Search these databases for books.
- VIRGO
Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law. - Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical
Information Catalogue
Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture. - Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services. - Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering
and Technology
The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals. - WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.
Conference Proceedings Indexes
Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.
- Conference Papers Index 1982+ (CSA)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- PapersFirst 1993+ (FS)
Citations of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Updated monthly.
Current Awareness Services
- Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).
- Amedeo.com
- Cambridge Journals Online
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
- EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service
- Emerald Alerts
- Infotrieve
- Kluwer Alert Services
- Ovid
- Oxford Journals Content Alerting
- SARA - Scholarly Articles Research Alerting
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Springer Link Alert
Journal Indexes
- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon
(
).
- Additional systems engineering databases are available on the Brown Library
Databases page.
-Use our Find@UVA Journal Finder
page to locate E-journals, E-magazines, and E-newspapers.
- ACM Digital Library
Full-text, online access to every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). - ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies
& Engineering 1981+ (CSA)
Includes new technologies in all areas of engineering, science and allied subject areas. -
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Good database for faculty/graduate student/undergrad major research in many areas of interest to systems engineers, including computer science, environmental studies, management, marketing and economics, and social sciences. - Energy, Science and Technology Information at OSTI
The U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) provides access to a wealth of energy, science, and technology research and development (R&D) information from the Manhattan Project to the present. - Compendex 1969+ (Engineering Village)
Good database for faculty/graduate student/undergrad major research. The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database.
- EEVL E-Journal Search Engine
The Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library E-journal Search Engine searches the full text of over seventy engineering e-journals. Full text of articles found can be read online or printed. - HCI Bibliography: Human-Computer Interaction Resources
The HCI Bibliography is a free-access online bibliographic database on Human-Computer Interaction. The basic goal of the Project is to put an electronic bibliography for most of HCI on the screens of all researchers, developers, educators and students in the field through the World-Wide Web and anonymous ftp access. Contains information on nearly 30,000 items. - InfoTrac
A good general source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, environmental issues, health care, law, politics, science, social science, and technology. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. -
Risk Abstracts
Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. - TRIS Online (Transportation Research Information Services)
TRIS Online provides access to almost 450,000 records of published transportation research. It also provides the value-added of links to the full text of public-domain documents or document suppliers. - Web of Science (Science Citation Index) 1987+
Good database for faculty/graduate student/undergrad major research. Containing Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Web of Science offers multidisciplinary searching and seamless access to cited reference searching. The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, as well as social sciences and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
Web Resources
Comprehensive Subject Lists
- Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library
- EINet Galaxy - Human Factors and Human Ecology
- FirstGov for Science
- Game Theory .net
- GlobalSpec - Components and Suppliers Database
- Industrial Quick Search Industrial Manufacturers Directory
- Internet Resources for Highway Engineering
- National Science Digital Library
- WWW Virtual Library - Systems and Control Engineering
- Yahoo Index - Quality Management
Organizations
- CIRS.net (Scientific Organization Portal)
- Industrial Research Institute
- Institute of Industrial Engineers
- International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE)
- International Ergonomics Association
- International Federation for Systems Research (IFSR)
- Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences
- National Association of Industrial Technology
- Society of Manufacturing Engineers
Patents
Standards
Questions? Call the Brown Library Information Desk at 924-3628.
