Science and Engineering Libraries
Search VIRGO Catalog
 
Search Databases
Support the Library Alderman Library home page General Information Resources Services Collections Digital Initiatives Satellite Libraries Reference Services



Science, Technology, and Society Research Guide

Subject Librarian: Kathryn D. Soule I'd like to schedule a Research Tutorial

 

 

Databases/Indexes Web Resources Go To
Book Indexes
Conference Paper Indexes
Upcoming Conferences Index
Current Awareness Services
ArrowDissertations
4th Year Thesis Indexes
Journal Article Indexes
VIRGO (Library Catalog)

Comprehensive Subject Lists
Organizations
Patents
Reference Sources
Standards
Go To:
Department of Science, Technology, and Society

Return To
:
Subject Guides Menu
Engr and EnviSci Library
SEL Homepage

Recommended Reference Works
AccessScience
   McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

CRCnetBASE
   CRC Press Handbook and Reference Collection in addition to ENGnetBASE

Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

ENGnetBASE
   CRC Press Engineering Handbook and Reference Collection

ENVIROnetBASE
   CRC Press Environmental Handbook and Reference Collection

Knovel Library
   Engineering and Science Handbook and Reference Collection

Referex
   Large collection of engineering e-books and references

Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations

Safari Tech Books Online

Hurricane Katrina Simulation

Databases / Indexes

Book Indexes

Search these databases for books.

  • VIRGO
    Information on over 4 million books, journals, and other items held in the University of Virginia's libraries, including business, health sciences, and law.
  • Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information Catalogue
    Search for books, technical reports, journals and conference proceedings in all areas of science, engineering, health sciences and agriculture.
  • Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
    The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. These resources include many hard-to-find and scarce items often not readily available elsewhere. UVA faculty and students may request books from CRL's collections via Interlibrary Services.
  • Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering and Technology
    The Linda Hall Library, a private institution funded by endowment, serves the scientific research community as a resource for engineering and technical materials, including over 600,000 volumes, 1.1 million microforms, U.S. Patents since 1946, and subscriptions to 16,500 journals.
  • WorldCat (FirstSearch)
    Contains records from thousands of North American libraries.

 

top of page

 

Conference Proceedings Indexes

Search this database for citations to conference proceedings papers.

 

top of page

 

Journal Indexes

- Search these indexes for citations to journal articles.
- To get more information about a database, click the information icon ( More Info ).
- Additional databases are available on the SEL Databases page.

 

top of page

 

Current Awareness Services

Many journal publishers and database vendors offer alerting services which you can use to have journal tables of contents or other information about articles of interest E-mailed to you on a periodic basis. Some of these services appear below. You can learn more about keeping current in your field at Alison McNab's Keeping Your Research Up to Date web page or at the Engineering Current Awareness Services web page from the Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library (EEVL).

 

top of page

 

4th-Year Theses

The Department of Science, Technology, and Society makes available a Thesis Manual for your use in completing your undergraduate thesis project. This manual contains much useful information, including a Guide to Information Services and Sources, which describes many of the things the Science and Engineering Library can provide for you as you complete your project.

Locating 4th Year Theses in VIRGO

Information about the 4th year engineering theses done by SEAS students is included in the library's VIRGO online catalog. (Access to some older 4th year papers is possible but not simple; ask a librarian for assistance.) The catalog records for 4th year theses can be located in either of two basic ways:

If you are interested in seeing a list of all the theses done for a specific department:
Go to the VIRGO Advanced Search screen. In the "keyword anywhere" box enter the two-letter code for the engineering department that interests you. Acceptable codes are:

  • AE - Aerospace Engineering
  • AM - Applied Mathematics
  • CE - Chemical Engineering
  • CI - Civil Engineering
  • CS - Computer Science
  • EE - Electrical Engineering
  • ES - Engineering Science
  • ME - Mechanical Engineering
  • NE - Nuclear Engineering
  • SE - Systems Engineering

Next, scroll down to the "Search Limits" portion of the screen and from the "Library" pull-down menu select SCI-ENG. Then from the "Item Type" pull-down menu select THESIS-4th. Click on the SEARCH button; you should receive a list of those 4th year papers done in the selected category. Note that some categories have many more papers than others. The normal sorting order is most recent year first; you can select other sorting arrangements by using the "Sort by" pull-down menu option, if you wish.

You can also search for a keyword (or keywords) in the title of a 4th year paper:
Enter the keyword(s) in the "keyword anywhere" search box and set the "Item Type" and "Library" as described above. You can limit your keyword search to a particular year by entering the desired year in the "Publication year" box. If you are interested in a paper by a particular author, enter that person's name in the "Author" keyword search box.

Note that 4th year papers do NOT have normal Library of Congress subject headings assigned to them; thus, a "Subject" keyword search will NOT work. Use the "keyword anywhere" search box to perform the equivalent of a subject search.

Locating 4th Year Theses Using the STS Online Thesis Database

The Department of Science, Technology and Society also makes available an online database of 4th year theses written since the 200/2001 academic year. You may search this online database here. Note that while this database includes information about a thesis that is not currently included in VIRGO, the database does not include the call number for theses shelved in the Brown Science and Engineering Library. You will need to consult VIRGO to obtain these call numbers. The STS database is particularly useful, however, for searching for the names of technical and STS faculty advisors.

If you have questions about searching for 4th year theses, do not hesitate to contact a library staff member for assistance.

Web Resources

Comprehensive Subject Lists

 

top of page

 

Organizations

 

top of page

 

Patents

 

Standards

 

top of page

 

Questions? Call the Information Desk at 924-3628.

 

Charles L. Brown Science & Engineering Library
University of Virginia
PO Box 400124
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4124
ph: 434.924.3628

Brown Library Home  UVa Library Home
Search the Library Site
  UVa Home
Maintained by: science_library@virginia.edu
  Last Modified: Tuesday, April 08, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Science and Engineering Libraries home page University of Virginia Library home page University of Virginia Library home page Science and Engineering Libraries home page