AMST401B/ENAM382/LAR524

READING THE BLACK COLLEGE CAMPUS

Selected Resources in Alderman Library

 

 

1.VIRGO

Try doing “first wordssubject searches along these lines:

            Virginia state university                      

            Petersburg (VA)                                              

            African American universities and colleges

            Virginia census

            University of Virginia

 

 

NEWSPAPERS—Historical Coverage

2.ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-1999), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and the Washington Post (1877-1987).  (VIRGO Databases)

 

3.Virginia Newspapers

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/news/collvirginia.html

 

4.Virginia Historical Newspapers on Microfilm

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/permic/news_search.html

 

5.African American Newspapers on Microfilm in Virginia:

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/permic/afampap.html

 

6.Lexis-Nexis

Wonderful source for full text of current Newspapers and other media, including the New York Times, Washington Post, etc.  Current 10 years or so and growing.   (VIRGO Databases)

 

 

Magazines – Historical Coverage

7.Readers’s Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-   (Index Table #1)

Indexes general interest periodicals and magazines.

 

8.Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature , 1802-1906.  (Index Table #1)

Indexes general interest periodicals and magazines.

 

9.International Index to Periodicals, 1907-   (Index Table #1)

Scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.

 

 

UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA

10.Cavalier Daily, 1890-present (print in Reference Rm; microfilm in PerMic Rm)

Index:Slip catalog beside newspapers in back of Reference Room.

 

11.Calendar of the Jefferson Papers at the University of Virginia. (online guide)  http://ead.lib.virginia.edu/vivaead/published/uva-c/vivadoc.pl?file=viu00007.xml

 

12.The Jackson Davis Collection of African American Photographs.

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/collections/jdavis/

 

13.Grizzard.  Documentary history of the construction of the buildings at the University of Virginia, 1817-1928

http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/jefferson/grizzard/  

 

14.Corks and Curls, UVA Catalogs, Alumni Directories, Student Directories, Alumni News, going back to the founding of the University, can be found in the Reference Room in the LD section.

 

15.UVA Clippings file and Local History File

A collection of newspaper clippings and other documents arranged in files in the staff offices Reference Room.  Turn right as you enter the room.  There are lists of subject headings on top of the file cabinets.

 

 

16.VIRGO – DATABASES for Scholarly Journals

Go to blue sidebar of VIRGO and select “Journal Articles” (under Databases)to find indexes to articles in all subjects and in many cases, the full text of the article itself.  Find other types of electronic databases as well.  Some  examples:

           

America: History and Life – American History

Art Index – Architecture

Artbibliographies modern --Architecture

Avery Index – Urban Planning, landscape arch., environmental design.

ERIC – Education

Expanded Academic Index – All subjects and full text.

History Resource Center  -- Lots of full text.

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) – Public Affairs, Government, etc.

Sociological Abstracts -- Socialogy

 

 

STYLE MANUALS

17.MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing.  PN147.G444 1998 (Ref Desk)

 

18.MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web.  http://www.mla.org/style_faq4

 

 

19.GETTING BOOKS OR ARTICLES OUR LIBRARY DOESNT OWN

When in VIRGO, choose Interlibrary Services from the blue side bar on the left and fill out a request form for items we don’t own or which are missing from our collection.  We try to get books to you within a week.  Journal articles come sooner, sometimes on the same day.

 

 

20.SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

 http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/

Alderman Library, 2nd fl.

Hours: 9:00am-9:00pm Monday-Thursday and 9:00am to 5:00pm Friday-Saturday.

Extraordinary collection of unpublished materials, e.g. diaries, letters, manuscripts; plus rare and valuable published works, including first editions of most significant American literature.  All of their holdings are searchable in VIRGO and your search can be limited to Special Collections, or more specifically, to Manuscripts.

 

 

21.GeoSpatial and Statistical Data Center.

http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/

Alderman Library, 3rd fl.

 

 

22.Virginia Gazetteer:
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/gis/vagaz/

23.Sanborn Maps at UVA:
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/maps/sanborn/

 

 

24.GOVERNMENT INFORMATION RESOURSES

 http://www.lib.virginia.edu/govdocs/

Alderman Library, 3rd fl.

A repository for the entire output of the U.S. Government, including Census material, and Virginia and international documents as well.  Visit the GeoStat Center for statistical and geographical data.

 

 

 

25.ACCESSING UVA DATABASES FROM OFF-GROUNDS

To access all of the databases we looked at today, plus more, from off grounds or when away from Charlottesville, set up a proxy server account or use “UVA Anywhere”.  For instructions see:

http://www.itc.virginia.edu/desktop/proxy/

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/authent.html

 

 

 

Karen K. Marshall * Alderman 511* 982-2677 * kmarshall@virginia.edu * Feb. 2004

 

 

 

Alderman LIBRARY DIRECTORY

 

4th fl.     Main floor

            East side (turn right as you walk in)         Reference Room

            Center                                                   Reference Help and Circulation

            West Side                                             InterLibrary Loan

 

3rd fl.     East side                                              Periodicals, Newspapers, Microfilms

            Center                                                   Government Information

            West Side                                             GeoSpatial Data Center

 

2d fl.     East Side                                              Special Collections Library