Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights in Context
Alderman Library Visit
VIRGO
1.Browse VIRGO for subjects:
Do a FIRST WORDS SUBJECT search on
Bronte Emily
2.To do a KEYWORD search in VIRGO
wuthering heights
Bronte and publishing
Bronte and publish$
Bronte and (publish$ or author$ or serial$)
3.To Browse
the stacks (either in person or in VIRGO with a Call Number Search)
PR4162 – editions
PR4168 – biography
PR4169 – criticism
ELECTRONIC TEXTS
4.To find electronic
texts in VIRGO
Select “Ebooks, etc” Search
from the top of the blue sidebar under “Search Virgo” and do
an author search, e.g.
Emily
Bronte
For texts on the Etext
server you can browse/read the whole text or search texts word
for word:
·download the whole text
and the use the find function in your browser.
OR
·choose
“All on-line databases”; “English”; “Modern English Collection” (for most)
·”Search
all the texts”
·put
in your search and constrain by author or title, e.g. word: wild and author: bronte
For texts not
on the etext server, there will be other specific
instructions.
5.LION -
Literature Online (VIRGO Databases / Journal Articles)
One stop
shopping for primary and secondary sources in literature.
INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES
6.MLA International Bibliography, 1963-. (VIRGO
Databases / Journal Articles)
Covers the subject of literature and language. Scholarly periodical articles, books,
chapters in books, etc. Also included in #9
Bronte
and sexuality
Bronte and (disability or madness)
Bronte and (mad* or sick*
or insane*)
7.Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-. (VIRGO
Databases / Journal Articles)
Covers the subject of English literature and language. Scholarly periodical
articles, books, chapters in books, and book reviews. Suprisingly little duplication with the MLA. Also included in #10 LION.
8.Expanded Academic Index (InfoTrac OneFile) (VIRGO
Databases / Journal Articles)
Very general. Scholarly and more popular
journals. Some Full
Text. 1980-present.
9.
One stop shopping for
secondary sources in literature. Includes MLA Bibliography (# 6) and
Dictionary of Literary Biography (#18 )
Emily Bronte
10.LION -
Literature Online (VIRGO Databases / Journal Articles)
One stop
shopping for primary and secondary sources in literature. Includes Annual Bibliography of English
Language and Literature (# 7)
Emily Bronte
NEWSPAPERS
11.Lexis-Nexis (VIRGO
Databases; Newspaper Articles)
http://web.lexis-nexis.com/universe
Wonderful source for full text of current Newspapers and other
media, including the New York Times, London Times, Irish Times. Find Book reviews,
articles, interviews, etc. Truncation=*
12.The Times,
Digital Archive 1785-1985 (VIRGO
Databases / Journal Articles)
Search the full text of The
Times (
Origin
of species
Emily
Bronte
13.Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 ((VIRGO Databases / Journal Articles)
Search
for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social
sciences journals published from 1770-1995. Includes full
text of articles in some 300 journals and links to the humanities and social
science titles from JSTOR.
BIOGRAPHY
14.Dictionary of Literary Biography (VIRGO
Databases / References Sources / Biographical)
Biographical bibliographical critical essays. Also included in #9 Literature Resource Center.
Emily
Bronte
15.Oxford Dictionary
of National Biography (VIRGO Databases / References Sources
/ Biographical)
Biographies
of British persons from the earliest times to the end of the 20th century.
Emily Bronte
Charles Darwin
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
AND DICTIONARIES
16.Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E363 (current
& 1910) http://searcheb.com
17.
NEW
Third Edition: http://dictionary.oed.com/
[first known usage]
18.To find a bibliography
(listing) of all criticism written about an author do a VIRGO KEYWORD SUBJECT
search. Many of these will be annotated.
Emily Bronte and
bibliography
19.Crump. Charlotte and
Emily Brontë : a reference guide.
Z8122 .C78 (Ald Ref)
Critical
reception and other secondary sources. v. 1. 1846-1915--v. 2. 1916-1954--v.
3. 1954-1983.
FILM
20.Film Index International
(VIRGO Databases / Journal Articles)
Information on films and film
personalities from the early silents to the present:
casts, credits, brief plot summaries, lists of books, articles, and reviews.
21. Internet
Movie Database http://www.imdb.com
Amazing filmography of movies, actors, directors, producers,
genres, etc. Includes
several supplemental databases including movie reviews, quotations, industry
statistics, historic movie events, movie glossary, and more. Allows for extended
searching.
22. The Movie
Review Query Engine http://www.mrqe.com
Search engine with links to
over 300 commercial and personal movie review
sites from the New York Times to Mr. Cranky. Allows for complex
searching. Many reviews date back to the 1980s.
Use Infotrac SearchBank and Lexis Nexis for
articles and reviews of the current film scene going back to 1990 or so,
and coming right up to the present.
23.To get a listing of how many times each word in a work is used and in
what context, do a VIRGO search for concordances:
Bronte and concordances
ARCHIVES
24. The Brontë manuscripts MicroFilm 5859 (Alderman 3rd fl.
Periodicals Rm)
Includes
Guide. The literary manuscripts
and correspondence of the Brontë family from the Brontë Society collection at Haworth Parsonage and the
British Library,
25. http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/
Hours:
Extraordinary
collection of unpublished materials, e.g. diaries, letters, manuscripts; plus
rare and valuable published works, including first editions of most significant
American literature.
All of their holdings are
searchable in VIRGO and your search can be limited to Special Collections, or
more specifically, to Manuscripts.
WEBSITES
26. Victorian Web http://www.victorianweb.org/
Literature, History, and Culture in the Age of
STYLE MANUALS
27.MLA Style Manual and Guide to
Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 1998 (Ald
Ref Desk)
28.MLA Style: Documenting Sources
from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/style_faq4
Karen Marshall * Alderman
511* 982-2677 * kmarshall@virginia.edu
* June 2005
IM: Karma0412 (when I am
online) * UVALibRef (Reference chat service)