Purchase Requests  | English Department | User Education | Uncover | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

ENEC982  POETICS OF SPACE, PROSE OF THINGS

Selected Library and Web Reference Sources

 

1. IMPORTANT WEB SITES

VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/

Find what the library owns, including electronic materials. Use "Other Databases" to find journal and newspaper indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.

Library Web Page http://www.lib.virginia.edu/

Links to VIRGO, journal indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic texts, etc.

Electronic Text Center

http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/eng-on.html

For collections of searchable and browsable texts, most of which are cataloged and accessible as individual titles through VIRGO

Library Web Page for English Research Resources http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html

Among other things you will find a copy of this guide under "Library Guides".

2. INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES

MLA International Bibliography, 1963-. (VIRGO Other Databases)

http://gateway2.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&D=mlab&PAGE=main

Covers the subject of literature and language. Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc. for all languages, periods, and genres of literature.

 

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-. (VIRGO Other Databases)  http://collections.chadwyck.com/abell/

Covers the subject of English literature and language. Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, and book reviews.  Surprisingly little duplication with MLA.

Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 (VIRGO Other Databases)

http://pci.chadwyck.com/

Covers all subjects.

3. CONTEMPORARY PERIODICALS AND REVIEWS

English Literary Periodicals Series, 1681-1914  Micfilm S-83 (Ald Microforms Rm)

233 periodical titles from this period including the Tatler (1709-11) and the Spectator                   (1711-14). 

Accompanied by: Accessing English Literary Periodicals, A Guide to the Microfilm Collection, provides access by title, subject, editor, and reel number. For more information see http://www.umi.com/hp/Support/Research/Files/68.html

Early British Periodicals, 1681-1921 Micfilm 1667  (Ald Microforms Rm)

170 periodical titles from this period including Gentleman's Magazine(1731-1907) and the Edinburgh Review (1802-1906). 

Accompanied by: A guide to the early British periodicals collection on microfilm, with title, subject, editor, and reel number indexes.  For more information see http://www.umi.com/hp/Support/Research/Files/60.html

 

Literary reviews in British periodicals, a bibliography : with a supplementary list of general (non-review) articles on literary subjects. (Ald Reference Rm)

1789-1797             Z2013 .W36 1979

1798-1820             Z2013 .W36 v.2

1821-1826             Z2013 .W36 1977

Index to book reviews in England, (Ald Reference Rm)

1749-1774    Z1035 .A1 F67  1990

1775-1800             Z1035 .A1 F672 1997

Combined retrospective index to book reviews in humanities journals, 1802-1974. Z6265 .C65 1982  (Ald Reference Rm Index Table #2)

Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 (VIRGO Other Databases)

http://pci.chadwyck.com/

Covers all subjects.

4. BIOGRAPHY

Dictionary of Literary Biography  ( VIRGO Other Databases)

http://www.galenet.com/servlet/GLD/form?l=4

Traces the lives and careers of authors, critics, journalists, scholars, and publishers from all eras and genres, summarizing critical response to their work and their role within literary movements. Based on the print set by the same name which organizes its volumes around genres, movements, periods, and countries, the online version allows full browsing and searching of the entire set.

Dictionary of National Biography. DA28 .D4 (Ald Reference Rm)

Authoritative signed lengthy scholarly articles on distinguished British people, including literary figures.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index. ( VIRGO Other Databases)

http://galenet.gale.com/m/mcp/db/bgmi/

Tells you where you can find biographical information on otherwise hard to find subjects from all genres and periods.

5. DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Oxford English Dictionary. 

Most authoritative dictionary of the English Language based on historical usages.

Second edition: http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html

NEW Third Edition: http://dictionary.oed.com/

The Samuel Johnson: A Dictionary of the English Language (1755) (CD-ROM)

Compiles both the first and fourth editions of Johnson's massive lexicographical work. Displays the transcription as well as the page images of the dictionary. Fully searchable.  (Located and can be used in the Electronic Text Center).

Diderot. Encyclopedie; ou Dictionnaire raisonne des sciences, des arts et des metiers. 1751. AE25 .E55 1751 (Ald Special Collections)
One of the most representative monuments of the Enlightment. English translations of sections of Encyclopedie are available in Alderman Stacks.

Encyclopedia Britannica. http://www.britannica.com/
The notable 11th ed. (1910) AE5 .E36 (Ald Reference Rm)

Encyclopedia of the novel. PN41 .E487 1998 (Ald Reference Rm)

The New Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics.  PN 1021 .N39 1993 (Ald Reference Desk)

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.  http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/encyphil/

6. NEWSPAPERS

The Times (London), 1785-     Microfilm.  (Ald Microforms Rm)

full-text of articles from 1785 -1870 (coming very soon on web). http://historynews.chadwyck.com/

World's most famous and authoritative daily newspaper.

Palmer's Index to the (London) Times, 1790-1905. http://historynews.chadwyck.com/

7. FULL TEXT COLLECTIONS

Early English Books Online, 1475-1700  (VIRGO Other Databases)

http://wwwlib.umi.com/eebo

Digital collection of every significant work published in the English world from the advent of printing in 1475 to the close of the 17th century. The works appear as page facsimile images and include books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars and other rich primary sources in all subjects. The bibliographic citations can be searched by keyword.  Instructions for use at http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/eebo.htm

English Short Title Catalogue (1475-1800) (ESTC) (VIRGO Other Databases)

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/citrix.htm

Offers extensive bibliographic description and holdings information for materials in all subjects printed from 1473 to 1800 in Great Britain, or any of its dependencies, in any language, as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world.

For full-text of  the 18th century texts, use microfilm set called Eighteenth Century Micflm S-976 (Ald Microforms Rm)

The following collections can be accessed, browsed, and searched from the Electronic Text Center page at http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/eng-on.html

The Modern English Collection (AD 1500-present)

The English Poetry Database (AD 600-1900)

Early English Prose Fiction (AD 1500-1700)

Eighteenth-Century Fiction

Past Masters Philosophy Databases


Karen Marshall 982-2677 Alderman Rm. 511 kmarshall@virginia.edu January 2001

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021   fax: 434.924.1431

English Subject Guide  Subject Guides Home
UVa Library Home
  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Karen Marshall   Last Modified: June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page English Subject Guide