Purchase Requests  | English Department | User Education | Uncover | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

ENLT252: WOMEN IN LITERATURE

British Women Writers of the Twentieth Century

Alderman Library Presentation

 

VIRGO

twentieth century women
women and war
women and brit$ [to retrieve british or britain]
women and (engl$ or brit$) and war

HANDBOOKS

Oxford Companion to English Literature. PR19.D73 (Ref Desk)

INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.

MLA International Bibliography, 1964- present. ( VIRGO Other Databases)

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of literature and language. Periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc.

Expanded Academic Index (InfoTrac), 1980-to present. ( VIRGO Other Databases)
Very general. Scholarly and more popular journals. Some Full Text.

Film Index International ( VIRGO Other Databases CDROM Network) Information about 90,000 films dating back to the approximately 1930, with film reviews, articles, and biographical information.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Evaluative lists of works about authors, literary works, subjects. To find in VIRGO do a subject keyword search: virginia woolf and bibliography Also look in the Z8000 section of the reference room and in the stacks.

NEWSPAPERS AND CONTEMPORARY JOURNALS

The Times (London)
World's most famous and authoritative daily newspaper.
1990-present online through Lexis-Nexis (VIRGO Other Databases
1900-1989 on microfilm (Ald Periodicals Rm, 3rd fl.East)
Index:
1990-present: see Lexis-Nexis above. 1900-present: AI21.T42/46 (Ald Periodicals Rm, 3rd fl.East)
1900-1905: Palmer's Index to the Times (Virgo Other Databases)

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890- present. (Index Table #1) (Ald Ref)
1983-present: (Virgo Other Databases)
Indexes general interest periodicals and magazines.

Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 (Virgo Other Databases
Good coverage of British journals

Poole's Index to Periodical Litrature, 1900-1906. (Index Table #1) (Ald Ref) Indexes general interest periodicals and magazines, mostly British coverage.

LEXIS NEXIS (VIRGO Other Databases)
Lots of full-text newspaper and journal coverage, mostly 1990-present, but in some cases may go back further. Includes London Times, New York Times, Washington Post.

CHRONOLOGIES

The Timetables of History. D11.G78 (Ald Ref)
Chronology of Women's History. HQ 1121 .O47 (AldRef)
Goes through each year and lists important events in history, poliics, literature, theater, religion, science, music, etc.

BIOGRAPHY

Biography and Genealogy Master Index. ( VIRGO Other Databases)
Tells you where you can find biographical information.

Contemporary Authors. (VIRGO Other Databases )
Full text articles on the writers of the 20th century. Includes personal information, career summary, writings, interviews, and biographical and critical resources.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (PN466.D52) (Ald Ref)
Biographical bibliographical critical essays. Use the index at the back of the most recent volume to locate other authors.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIORIES

Encyclopedia Britannica http://search.eb.com

Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html

STYLE MANUALS

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 (Ref Desk)

MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/style/sources.htm

Chicago Manual of Style. Z253 .U69 (Ref Desk)

WEB SITES

Library: http://www.lib.virginia.edu

VIRGO: http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu

Alderman Periodicals, Newspapers, Microforms: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/permic/index.html

Look her for Women’s newspapers, magazines, and microform sets.

Electronic Text Center: http://etext.virginia.edu

English Web (This guide is here under "Library Guides") http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html

Short Courses: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/usered/courses.html


 

Karen Marshall 982-2677 Alderman Rm. 511 kmarshall@virginia.edu September 1999

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021   fax: 434.924.1431

English Subject Guide  Subject Guides Home
UVa Library Home
  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Karen Marshall   Last Modified: June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page English Subject Guide