ENNC382 LIVES OF THE VICTORIANS
Selected Library Sources in the Alderman Reference Room and on the Web
1.Library Web Page http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Links to
VIRGO, journal indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic texts,
manuscripts (letters, diaries, etc.)
2.VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/
Find what the library owns,
including electronic materials. Use "Other Databases" to find journal
and newspaper indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. Renew and recall books
that are checked out.
margaret oliphant [keyword
anywhere]
trollope anthony [“first
words”subject for an index]
jane carlyle and biography [keyword
subject]
josephine butler and (correspondence or diar$ or memoir$) [keyword subject]
BIOGRAPHY
3.Dictionary of National Biography. DA28.D4 1950
Authoritative signed lengthy
scholarly articles on distinguished people.
4.Dictionary of Literary Biography (PN466.D52) (VIRGO
Databases)
http://www.galenet.com/servlet/GLD/form?l=4
Biographical bibliographical lengthy essays. The print version includes good portraits. Use the index at the back of the most recent volume to locate other authors.
m.e.braddon
5.
http://www.galenet.com/servlet/BioRC?finalAuth=true
Includes full-text sketches, articles, and
portraits.
isambard kingdom brunel
CONTEMPORARY NEWSPAPERS AND PERIODICALS
6. The Times, Digital Archive 1785-1985 (VIRGO
Databases)
http://web2.infotrac.galegroup.com/itw/infomark/0/1/1/purl=rc6_TTDA?sw_aep=viva_uva
Search
the full text of The Times (
Ellen Terry [for obituary
limit by death year]
7.ProQuest Historical Newspapers (VIRGO Databases)
http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=U01EPTYmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTFBQ0QrMUFDQysyNjhB&clientId=3507
Search and see
full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-1999), the Wall
Street Journal (1889-1995), and the Washington Post
(1877-1987). Good for reviews and
interviews. Truncation=* Elizabeth Blackwell
8.Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1995 (VIRGO Databases)
Search for articles and book
reviews in over 4000 international journals in all subjects. Includes full text of
articles in over 300 journals.
Elizabeth
Blackwell
9.
10.Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890- present. (Index Table #1)
Mostly
American coverage.
DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
11.Oxford English Dictionary
http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html
Most authoritative
dictionary for English language. Based on historical
principles.
12.Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E36 (1910, 11th ed.) http://search.eb.com/
13.Grove Dictionary of Art. http://www.groveart.com/
whistler
14.Victorian
15.Encyclopedia of the
Victorian World. DA550.E53
16.
17.1890’s:
an Encyclopedia of British Literature, Art, and Culture. DA560.A18
CHRONOLOGY
18.The Timetables of History: A Horizontal Linkage of People
And Events. D11.G78
SPECIALIZED INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.
19.MLA International
Bibliography, 1964- present. ((Virgo
Databases)
Covers the
subject of literature and language.
Periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc
20.Expanded Academic Index
(InfoTrac), 1980-to present. (Virgo
Databases)
Covers all
subjects. Scholarly and popular journals.
Some Full Text.
21.
Indexes 45 of the most
important periodicals published in
22.For a list of all our
specialized indexes go to:
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/finders.html
Web Pages
23.The Victorian Web http://landow.stg.brown.edu/victorian/victov.html
Covers
literature, history, and culture. Check out individual writers.
23a.Victorian Research Web http://victorianresearch.org/
Dedicated to the scholarly study of nineteenth-century
STYLE MANUALS
24.MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing.
PN147.G444 1998 (Ref Desk)
25.MLA Style: Documenting
Sources from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/style_faq4
26. http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/
Hours:
Extraordinary
collection of unpublished materials, e.g. diaries, letters, manuscripts; plus
rare and valuable published works, including first editions of most significant
American literature. All of their holdings are searchable in VIRGO
and your search can be limited to Special Collections, or more specifically, to
Manuscripts.
27.ACCESSING
UVA DATABASES FROM OFF-GROUNDS
To access all of the
databases we looked at today, plus more, from off grounds or when away from
http://www.itc.virginia.edu/desktop/proxy/
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/authent.html
When in VIRGO, choose Interlibrary
Services from the blue side bar on the left and fill out a request form for
items we don’t own or which are missing from our collection. We try to get books to you within a
week. Journal articles come sooner,
sometimes on the same day. We can also
purchase titles that we don’t own and have them for you within a week. Fill out a purchase request form
to have this done.
Karen Marshall * Alderman 511* 982-2677 * kmarshall@virginia.edu * September
2004
IM HELP From Reference Desk -- UVALibRef
IM
Help from Karen --
Karma0412 (whenever I’m
logged on)