Purchase Requests  | English Department | User Education | Uncover | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

ENRN 482B

EROTIC POETRY OF THE ENGLISH RENAISSANCE

Alderman Library Presentation

Note: Materials are located in the Alderman Reference Room unless otherwise indicated.

HANDBOOKS

Oxford Companion to English Literature. PR19.D73 1995 (Ref Desk)

New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. PN 1021 .N39 1993 (Ref Desk)

DICTIONARIES

Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. PE1625.087 1989 (WWW)

(http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html)

BIOGRAPHY

Seventeenth-century British Nondramatic poets. PN 466 .D52 Vol. 131
Or other appropriate volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography Series. Use Index.

Dictionary of National Biography. (DNB) DA28.D4 1950

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND BACKGROUND

Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E363 (1998 & 1910) http://search.eb.com

London Encyclopaedia. DA 677.L85 1993

William Shakespeare: his world, his work, his influence. PR2976.W5354 1985

CHRONOLOGY

Timetables of History. D11.G78 1979

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

You can find bibliographies in VIRGO on authors. In VIRGO do a subject search, e.g.

philip sidney and bibliography

homosexuality and bibliography

CONCORDANCES

Concordances list every word in a work or an author and tell you where and how many times each occurs. To find them in VIRGO do a subject search, e.g.
john milton and concordances

INDEXES TO JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.

Expanded Academic Index (InfoTrac SearchBank)
http://www.searchbank.com/searchbank/viva_uva
Very general. Some Full Text.

MLA International Bibliography. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of literature and language. Periodical abstracts, books, chapters in books, etc.

Historical Abstracts (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers subject of European and Asian history. Periodical abstracts, books, chapters in books, etc.

Sociological Abstracts (sociofile) (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of sociology, including historical treatment. Periodical abstracts, books, chapters in books, etc.

STYLE MANUALS

Mla Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 1998 (Ref Desk)

MLA Style Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. (WWW)
http://www.mla.org/style/sources.htm

 

Chicago Manual of Style. Z253 .U69 1993 (Ref Desk)

WEB SITES

Library
UVA Library http://www.lib.virginia.edu

VIRGO
http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu

Electronic Text Center
http://etext.virginia.edu

English Web
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html

Short Courses
http://poe.acc.virginia.edu/~libinstr/courses.html


 

Karen Marshall 982-2677 Alderman Rm. 511 kmarshall@virginia.edu February 1999

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021   fax: 434.924.1431

English Subject Guide  Subject Guides Home
UVa Library Home
  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Karen Marshall   Last Modified: June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page English Subject Guide