ENWR 210-10
AMERICAN REVOLUTIONS
VIRGO—THE LIBRARY
CATALOG
Virgo.lib.virginia.edu
1.Browse VIRGO for specific
items:
Do a FIRST WORDS search
on:
Melville [subject]
Hopi [subject]
Benito cereno [title]
Putnams [journal title]
2. KEYWORD search
VIRGO to search every word.
Melville
and benito
Mutiny and slave$
Revolution and (hopi
or pueblo)
INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL
ARTICLES
3.MLA International
Bibliography, 1963-. (VIRGO
Databases / Journal Articles)
Covers the subject of literature and
language. Scholarly periodical
articles, books, chapters in books, etc.
Mutiny and slave*
4..Annual Bibliography
of English Language and Literature, 1920-.
(VIRGO Databases / Journal
Articles)
Covers the subject of English literature
and language. Scholarly
periodical articles, books, chapters in books, and book reviews. Suprisingly little duplication with the MLA. Also included in #10 LION.
5.Expanded Academic
Index (InfoTrac OneFile)
(VIRGO Databases / Journal
Articles)
Very general. Scholarly and more popular
journals. Some Full
Text. 1980-present.
Amistad and review*
Mutiny and slave*
6Literature
One stop
shopping for secondary sources in literature.
Includes MLA Bibliography (# 6) and Dictionary of Literary Biography (#18 )
Benito cerino
7LION - Literature Online (VIRGO Databases / Journal Articles)
One stop shopping for primary and secondary
sources in literature. Includes Annual
Bibliography of English Language and Literature (# 7)
Herman melville
NEWSPAPERS
8.Lexis-Nexis (VIRGO
Databases; Newspaper Articles)
Wonderful source for full text of current
Newspapers and other media, including the New York Times, London Times, Irish
Times. Find Book reviews, articles, interviews, etc. Truncation=*
amistad
9.ProQuest Historical Newspapers (VIRGO
Databases; Newspaper Articles)
Search and see full text of
articles from the New York Times (1851-1999), the Wall Street Journal
(1889-1995), and the Washington Post (1877-1987).
10.The Times, Digital Archive 1785-1985 (VIRGO Databases; Newspaper Articles)
Search the full text of The Times (
HISTORY
11.
Integrated collection of primary
documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas
of
12.
Literature of the History of the
Hopi revolution
FULL TEXT DATABASES
BY HISTORICAL PERIODS
13.Early
American Imprints, Series I, Evans (1639-1800) (VIRGO
/ Databases/E-Books) Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography this
database lists books published in 17th- and 18th-century America and links to
images of the books themselves.
almanacs
14.Eighteeenth
Century Collection Online (ECCO) (VIRGO / Databases/E-Books) Searchable
fulltext and page images for works printed between
1701-1800 in any language in the British Isles and North America, and in the
English language throughout the rest of the world. Includes
books on every subject, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and
sermons. For books before 1701, see Early
English Books Online.
15..Early
English Books Online (EEBO) (VIRGO / Databases/E-Books)
Digital collection of every significant work published in
English from 1475 to1700. The works appear as page facsimile images and include
books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars and other
primary sources in all subjects. For books printed after 1701, see Eighteenth
Century Collections Online.
Leviathan
16Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5
.E363 (current & 1910) (VIRGO / Databases/Reference)
17.
NEW Third Edition: http://dictionary.oed.com/
STYLE MANUALS
18.MLA Style Manual and Guide
to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 1998 (Ald
Ref Desk)
19.MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/style_faq4
IMAGES
19a. Archive of Early
American Images
http://www.brown.edu/Facilities/John_Carter_Brown_Library/pages/ea_hmpg.html
A database of pictures of the colonial
20. http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/
Harrison-Small Library (one floor down)
Hours:
Extraordinary collection of unpublished
materials, e.g. diaries, letters, manuscripts; plus rare and valuable published
works, including first editions of most significant American literature.
All of their holdings are searchable in VIRGO and your
search can be limited to Special Collections, or more specifically, to
Manuscripts.
21.ACCESSING UVA DATABASES FROM
OFF-GROUNDS
To access all of the databases we looked at today, plus
more, from off grounds or when away from
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/authent.html
22.REQUEST
A TITLE BE PURCHASED
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/purch/purch.html
Request that the library buy a book, journal, or database
that the Library does not own. In the
case of books, request an additional copy if book is frequently checked out.
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/leo/
When in VIRGO, choose Interlibrary
Services from the blue side bar on the left and fill out a request form for
items we don’t own or which are missing from our collection. We try to get books to you within a
week. Journal articles come sooner,
sometimes on the same day.
24.REFWORKS
BIBLIOGRAPHIC CITATION MANAGER
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/endnote.html
RefWorks has the
ability to import citations, store them in a database until you need them, and
then format them for use in your footnotes and bibliographies. Go to www.refworks.com, sign up for an account,
and then go to the RefWorks Web site whenever you
want to add to your data or use it.
Karen Marshall *
Alderman 511* 982-2677 * kmarshall@virginia.edu
* September 2005
IM: Karma0412 (when I
am online) * UVALibRef (Reference chat service)