ENNC 482 FICTIONS OF THE BRONTES

Alderman Library

 

 

1.Browse VIRGO for subjects:

Do a BEGINS WITH SUBJECT search on

            Bronte

 

2.To do a KEYWORD search in VIRGO

            Bronte and religion

            Bronte and religio$

            Bronte and (religio$ or supernatural$ or spiritual$)

 

3.To Browse the stacks (either in person or in VIRGO with a Call Number Search)

PR4162 – editions

PR4168 – biography

PR4169 – criticism

 

4.To find ELECTRONIC texts in VIRGO

Select “Ebooks” from the pull-down menu and do an author search, e.g.

            Bronte

 

5.VIRGO – OTHER DATABASES (Green Buttons)

Find indexes to journal articles in all subjects and in many cases, the full text of the article itself.  Find other types of electronic databases as well.  Some  examples:

            MLA  --  English Literature

            Religion Index – Religion

            Historical Abstracts – History

 

INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.

6.MLA International Bibliography, 1963-.  (VIRGO Other Databases)

Covers the subject of literature and language.  Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc.

Bronte and sexuality

            Bronte and (disability or madness)

Bronte  and (mad$ or sick$  or insane$)

 

7.Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-.  (VIRGO Other Databases)

Covers the subject of English literature and language.  Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, and book reviews.  Suprisingly little duplication with the MLA.

 

8.Expanded Academic Index  (InfoTrac SearchBank) (VIRGO Other Databases)

Very general.  Scholarly and more popular journals.  Some Full Text.  1980-present.

 

 

CONTEMPORARY PERIODICAL COVERAGE

9.Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 (VIRGO Other Databases)

Covers all subjects and includes some full text. 

 

 

 

10.The Times (London), 1790-present

World's most famous and authoritative daily newspaper.
on microfilm (Ald Periodicals Rm, 3rd fl.East)

 

Index:
1790-1905: Palmer's Index to the Times (VIRGO Other Databases)

The current release of Palmer's Full Text Online contains data from the years 1800 (January 9) to 1870.

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

To find a bibliography (listing) of all criticism written about the Brontes in VIRGO

Do a KEYWORD SUBJECT search:

            Bronte and bibliography

 

11.Crump. Charlotte and Emily Brontë : a reference guide.  Z8122 .C78  (Alderman Reference)

 v. 1. 1846-1915--v. 2. 1916-1954--v. 3. 1954-1983.

 

 

CONCORDANCES 

12.To get a listing of how many times each word in a work is used and in what context, do a VIRGO search for concordances:

            Bronte and concordances

 

 

ARCHIVES

13. The Brontë manuscripts  MicroFilm 5859 (Alderman 3rd fl. Periodicals Rm)

Includes Guide.

The literary manuscripts and correspondence of the Brontë family from the Brontë Society collection at Haworth  Parsonage and the British Library, London.

 

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

14.Encyclopedia Britannica.  AE5 .E363  (current & 1910) http://searcheb.com

 

15.Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html

NEW Third Edition: http://dictionary.oed.com/

 

 

BIOGRAPHY

16.Dictionary of Literary Biography (VIRGO Other Databases)

Biographical bibliographical critical essays.

 

 

STYLE MANUALS

17.MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing.  PN147.G444 1998 (Ref Desk)

 

18.MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/

Select “Style”, and then FAQ.

 

19.The Bronte Sisters Web

http://www.lang.nagoya-u.ac.jp/~matsuoka/Bronte.html

 

 

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

20. http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/

Alderman Library, 2nd fl.

Hours: 9:00am-9:00pm Monday-Thursday and 9:00am to 5:00pm Friday-Saturday.

Extraordinary collection of unpublished materials, e.g. diaries, letters, manuscripts; plus rare and valuable published works, including first editions of most significant American literature.

All of their holdings are searchable in VIRGO and your search can be limited to Special Collections, or more specifically, to Manuscripts.

 

 

Karen Marshall * Alderman 511* 982-2677 * kmarshall@virginia.edu * March 2002