ENAM 481E MEN IN AMERICAN NARRATIVES
Selected Library and Web Sources
1.Library Web Page http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Links to VIRGO, journal indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic texts, etc.
2.VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/
Find what the library owns, including electronic materials. Use "Other Databases" to find journal and newspaper indexes, dictionaries,
encyclopedias, etc. Renew and recall books that are checked out.
henry james and men [keyword]
henry james and (ambassadors or men) [keyword subject]
edith wharton and (dictionar$ or encyclopedia$ or handbook$) [keyword subject]
faulkner william [begins with subject to get list of topics]
narrative of the life ["begins with" title for specific title]
differences a journal of ["begins with" journal title]
professors house [Elibrary.Virginia title search for electronic version]
INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES (Secondary Sources)
3.MLA International Bibliography, 1963-. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of literature and language. Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc.
Faulkner and bear
Faulkner and cooper
Faulkner and men
Faulkner and (man or men or masculin$ or male$)
4.Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of English (and American) literature and language. Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, and book reviews.
Suprisingly little duplication with the MLA.
5.Expanded Academic Index (InfoTrac SearchBank) (VIRGO Other Databases)
Very general. Scholarly and more popular journals. Some Full Text. 1980-present.
6.American Literary Scholarship, 1963-. PS3 .A47 (Ald Ref)
A selective evaluative survey of the research of the year (books and articles). Good source for studing literary trends. Good evaluative essays.
Most recent 5 years in Reference; the rest in stacks.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
7.Evaluative lists of works about the authors, literary works, subjects. Often chronologically arranged. To find in VIRGO do a subject keyword
search: cooper and bibliography
Also look in the Z8000 section of the reference room and in the stacks.
NEWSPAPERS AND CONTEMPORARY JOURNALS
8.New York Times Index, 1851- AI21.N45 (Microforms Rm)
We also have the actual newspaper on microfilm in the same room.
9.Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers all subjects.
10.Readers's Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890- (Index Table #1) (Ald Ref)
Indexes general interest periodicals and magazines.
11.Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.(Index Table #1) (Ald Ref)
Indexes general interest periodicals and magazines.
12.International Index to Periodicals, 1907- (Index Table #1) (Ald Ref)
Scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
BOOK REVIEWS (Index Table #2) (Ald Ref)
Many of the titles mentioned in this guide are excellent sources of book reviews. See also Index Table #2, second on the left as you are walking
down the reference room, and filled with excellent sources of book reviews -- contemporary and retrospective
13.Book Review Digest, 1905- (Index Table #2) (Ald Ref)
14.Guide to finding Book Reviews:
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/usered/reviews.html
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES
15.Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E363 (current & 1910) (Ald Ref)
16.Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. PE 1625 .O87 1989 (Ald Ref)
http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html
WEBSITES
17.Electronic Text Center (UVA) http://etext.virginia.edu
Find full text of literary works and then search or browse them. You can also find these texts by searching in Virgo.
18.English Web http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html
This guide will be here under "Guides"
19.Author Sites
JAMES FENNIMORE COOPER http://www.oneonta.edu/~cooper/
UVA E-text: http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/modeng/modengC.browse.html
FREDERICK DOUGLASS http://www.cr.nps.gov/csd/exhibits/douglass/index.htm
E-text: http://metalab.unc.edu/docsouth/douglass/menu.html
WILLIAM FAULKNER http://www.mcsr.olemiss.edu/~egjbp/faulkner/faulkner.html
Page on The Bear: Resources has yet to be developed; check instead page on Go Down, Moses, the episodic novel that contains The Bear amongst other short stories.)
HENRY MILLER http://www.hmbiblio.com/millink.html
ABRAHAM CAHAN http://www.nagasaki-gaigo.ac.jp/ishikawa/amlit/c/cahan19re.htm
E-text: http://eldred.ne.mediaone.net/cahan/rdl.htm, so this site could be used for Searching the text with the Browsers EditàFind command (Hint: a good demonstration is to Find the word dream as in the American dream and the immigrants personal dreams--throughout the text!!!).
EDITH WHARTON http://www.gonzaga.edu/faculty/campbell/wharton/index.html
http://classiclit.about.com/arts/classiclit/library/weekly/aa041600a.htm
UVA e-text: http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/modeng/modengW.browse.html
HENRY JAMES http://www.newpaltz.edu/~hathaway
Correspondence: http://jamescalendar.unl.edu
E-text: http://www.newpaltz.edu/~hathaway/ambassa.html
WILLA CATHER http://www.courses.fas.harvard.edu/~cather/
http://fp.image.dk/fpemarxlind/ Section on Fiction and Poetry has links to full-text and brief list of suggested criticism for The Professors House (+ link to full text of Frank Elders essay, Language and Being in Cathers The Professors House).
U.Va. e-text version of The Professors House at http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/modeng/modengC.browse.html
WILLIAM DEAN HOWELLS http://www.gonzaga.edu/faculty/campbell/howells/index.html
STYLE MANUALS
20.Mla Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 1998 (Ald Ref Desk)
21.MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/www_mla_org/style/style_main.asp?level=2&mode=page&page=1&link=sty72800121438§ion=sty51800124510
BIOGRAPHY
22.Dictionary of Literary Biography PN466 .D52 (Ald Ref)
http://www.galenet.com/servlet/GLD/form?l=4
Biographical, bibliographical, and critical essays on authors. Search an individual author and then find out who his contemporaries were by searching the whole volume that the essay was in.
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT 2d fl., Alderman
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/
The Special Collections Department offers a wealth of primary source materials, e.g. first editions, letters, diaries, manuscripts, etc., particularly rich in the area of American History. Manuscript collections and Rare Books are cataloged in VIRGO. You can also limit a search to Manuscript Collections by using the pull-down catalog search menu in VIRGO on the blue sidebar. Consult the Special Collections staff for more details.
