Purchase Requests  | English Department | User Education | Uncover | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

ENAM482B

EARLY AMERICAN TRAVEL WRITING

Alderman Library Presentation

NOTE: Materials are located in the Alderman Reference Room unless otherwise indicated.

Library Web Page http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Links to VIRGO, journal indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic texts, etc.

VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/
Find what the library owns, including electronic materials. Use "Other Databases" to find journal and newspaper indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. Renew and recall books that are checked out.

women and (west(u.s.) or frontier or pioneer$)
women and migration
lewis and clark and jefferson
ginsberg and indian
underground railroad
mormons and (frontier or travel$)

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E363 (current & 1910) http://search.eb.com/

Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html

NEWSPAPERS AND CONTEMPORARY JOURNALS

New York Times Index AI21.N45 (Microforms Rm)
Goes back to 1851. We also have the actual newspaper on microfilm in the same room.

Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 (VIRGO Other Databases)

Readers’s Guide to Periodical Literature (1890- Index Table #1)

Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906 - Index Table #1)
Indexes general interest periodicals and magazines.

LEXIS NEXIS (VIRGO Other Databases)
Lots of full-text newspaper coverage. Covers mostly 1990-present, but in some cases may go back further. Includes New York Times and Washington Post.

BIOGRAPHY

Dictionary of National Biography. DA28.D4 1950 (Ald Ref)
Authoritative signed lengthy scholarly articles on distinguished people.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (PN466.D52) (Ald Ref)
Biographical bibliographical critical essays. Use the index at the back of the most recent volume to locate other authors.

Biography Resource Center. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Includes full-text sketches, articles, and portraits.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Tells you where you can find biographical information. Good for minor characters, as well as major.

American diaries: an annotated bibliography of published American diaries and journals. Z 5305 .U5 A74 (Ald Ref)
Name, subject (wives, travel, etc), geographic index. Arranged by date.

The published diaries and letters of American women. Z5305 .U5 G66 1987 (Ald Ref)
Name, subject (travel, marriage, pioneers, westward migration, single women, geographic, etc.) Arranged by date.

INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.

MLA International Bibliography. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of literature and language. Periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc.

America: History and Life. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of American and Canadian History. Periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc. Good abstracts in the full display.

Expanded Academic Index (InfoTrac SearchBank) (VIRGO Other Databases)
Very general. Scholarly and more popular journals. Some Full Text. 1980-present.

WEB SITES

Women's travel writing 1830-1930. http://www.lib.umn.edu/etrc/womtrav.htm

Diaries. http://www.lib.virginia.edu/~mjb7q/classes/hius361.htm

Guide to the Great Depression http://tlc.ai.org/depressi.htm

Dorothea Lange http://www.masters-of-photography.com/L/lange/lange.html

Paul Strand http://www.masters-of-photography.com/S/strand/strand.html

Ernest Hemingway http://www.timelesshemingway.com

Lewis and Clark Internet Archive http://www.vpds.wsu.edu/Wahistcult/trail.html

American Women's History: A Research Guide http://frank.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women.html

Immigrant Women http://frank.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women/wh-immig.html

Women of the West http://www.over-land.com/westpers2.html

Immigration History Research Center http://www1.umn.edu/ihrc/index.htm

Allen Ginsberg http://www.ginzy.com/Home.html

Elizabeth Bishop http://iberia.vassar.edu/bishop/

U.S. Civil War Center http://www.cwc.lsu.edu/cwc/civlink.htm

Underground Railroad Site http://education.ucdavis.edu/NEW/STC/lesson/socstud/railroad/contents.htm

Latter-day Saint Pioneers http://www.lds.org/library/pio_sto/pio_sto.html

John Steinbeck http://www.sjsu.edu/depts/steinbec/srchome.html

Provence Cuisine http://www.enprovence.com/ljones/cuisine

Electronic Text Center (UVA)http://etext.virginia.edu
Find full text of literary works.

English Web http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html
This guide will be here under "Guides"

MICROFORM SETS (Ald 3rd Fl. East)

Lydia Maria Child's collected correspondence. "Fugitive slaves" and "fugitive slave rescues" are indexed in the guide. (Micfich 751)

History of WomenGuide. Subject index entries for "Slavery in the United States" and sub-entries: "Fugitive Slaves", "Personal narratives". (Micfilm 2159).

Pamphlets in American History. Section on "Mormons and Mormonism". Micfich 557 Index (v.5).

History of Women Micfilm 2159. Look at title index.

Women's Diaries - Southern Women (Micfilm 2246)
Reel 5: diary of Martha E. Crawford has entries on her trip to Shanghai,China in 1851 and her settling in Tung Chow to become a missionary with her husband.
Reel 12: diary of Sarah Gray: info on her trips to Niagra Falls, and Brooklyn NY as a young woman (1874)

Women's Diaries - New England Women Micfilm 1741
Reel 1 - diary of Ruth Bascom (1801-1803) - has narrative of trip from home in Massachusetts by stagecoach to Norfolk Va - and observations of slave market there . Return trip by ship also described.
Reels 16-21: diary of Caroline Barrett White entries from 1855 describe trip she and husband took to Europe in which she notes reactions of Europeans to American slavery issue

Travels in the Confederate States. Miccard 3 & guide
Includes many personal accounts of camp, battle and prison experience from Confederate and Union soldiers.

STYLE MANUALS

Mla Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 1998 (Ref Desk)

MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/style/sources.htm


 

Karen Marshall 982-2677 Alderman Rm. 511 kmarshall@virginia.edu February 2000

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021   fax: 434.924.1431

English Subject Guide  Subject Guides Home
UVa Library Home
  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Karen Marshall   Last Modified: June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page English Subject Guide