Purchase Requests  | English Department | User Education | Uncover | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

ENAM482A

AMERICAN 1920's IN PROSE

Alderman Library Presentation

Note: Materials are located in the Alderman Reference Room unless otherwise indicated.

 

HANDBOOKS

Oxford Companion to American Literature. PS21.H3 1995 (Reference Desk)

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E363

http://viva.lib.virginia.edu:10002/@www.eb.com(180)/

Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. PE1625.087 1989 (WWW)

(http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html)

 

BIOGRAPHY

Dictionary of Literary Biography (PN466.D52)

Vol. 9 American Novelists, 1910-1945

Use the index at the back of the most recent volume to locate other authors.

Biographical bibliographical critical essays.

American Women Fiction Writers 1900-1960. PS374.W6A455

There are lots of good sources for women's biography in this area of the Reference Room.

 

CHRONOLOGIES

The Timetables of History. D11.G78

Goes through each year and lists important events in history, politics, literature, theater, religion, science, music, etc.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Evaluative lists of works about the authors, literary works, subjects. To find in VIRGO do a subject keyword search: willa cather and bibliography

Also look in the Z8000 section of the reference room and in the stacks.

 

NEWSPAPERS AND CONTEMPORARY JOURNALS

New York Times Index AI21.N45 (Microforms Rm)

Goes back to 1851. We also have the actual newspaper on microfilm in the same room.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890- Index Table #1)

Indexes general interest and popular magazines.

Book Review Digest (1906- Index Table #2)

Indexes and abstracts reviews in a variety of sources.

Index to American Little Magazines. AI3.I52

Covers titles that are not indexed by mainstream periodical indexes. 1900-

 

INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.

MLA International Bibliography. (VIRGO Other Databases, 1963-)

Covers the subject of literature and language. Periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc.

In book form 1920-1962. (Index Table #1)

American Literary Scholarship. PS3 .A47

A selective evaluative survey of the research of the year (books and articles). Good source for studing literary trends. Good evaluative essays. Most recent 5 years in Reference; the rest in stacks. 1963-

Expanded Academic Index (InfoTrac SearchBank) (VIRGO Other Databases)

Very general. Scholarly and more popular journals. Some Full Text. 1980-present.

America: History and Life.

(VIRGO Other Databases)

Covers the subject of American and Canadian History. Periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc. Good abstracts in the full display.

 

STYLE MANUALS

Mla Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 1998 (Ref Desk)

MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. (WWW)

http://www.mla.org/main_stl.htm#sources

Chicago Manual of Style. Z253 .U69 1993 (Ref Desk)

 

WEB SITES

Library UVA Library http://www.lib.virginia.edu

VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu

English Web

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html

Special Collections: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/

contact: Heather Moore mhm8m@virginia.edu


 

Karen Marshall 982-2677 Alderman Rm. 511 kmarshall@virginia.edu March 1999

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021   fax: 434.924.1431

English Subject Guide  Subject Guides Home
UVa Library Home
  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Karen Marshall   Last Modified: June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page English Subject Guide