Purchase Requests  | English Department | User Education | Uncover | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

ENAM 482A WOMEN IN AMERICAN NARRATIVES

Selected Library Sources in the Alderman Reference Room and on the Web

1.Library Web Page http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Links to VIRGO, journal indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic texts, etc.

2.VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/
Find what the library owns, including electronic materials. Use "Other Databases" to find journal and newspaper indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. Renew and recall books that are checked out.

henry james and women [keyword]
hurston and bibliography [keyword subject]
james and (mirth or daisy) [keyword subject]
kate chopin and (letter$ or diar$ or journal$) [keyword]
wharton and (dictionar$ or encyclopedia$ or handbook$) [keyword subject]
democracy ["begins with" title for specific title]
sister carrie ["begins with" title for specific title]
sister carrie and computer file [keyword to find full text]
cather willa ["begins with' subject to get topics]
new england quarterly ["begins with" journal title]

INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.

3.MLA International Bibliography, 1963-. ( VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of literature and language. Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc.

henry adams and democracy
henry adams and henry james
henry adams and women
henry adams and (women or gender or femini$)

4.Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of English (and American) literature and language. Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, and book reviews. Suprisingly little duplication with the MLA.

5.American Literary Scholarship, 1963-. PS3 .A47
A selective evaluative survey of the research of the year (books and articles). Good source for studing literary trends. Good evaluative essays. Most recent 5 years in Reference; the rest in stacks.

6.Expanded Academic Index (InfoTrac SearchBank) (VIRGO Other Databases)
Very general. Scholarly and more popular journals. Some Full Text. 1980-present.

7.Uncover (Carl), 1988- (VIRGO Other Databases)
Scholarly periodicals articles in all subjects.

8.Twentieth Century Literary Criticism. PN771.T88
Trace criticism of a work from when it first appeared till the present. Use the cumulative indexes at the back of the most recent volume to find where your work is treated.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

9.Evaluative lists of works about the authors, literary works, subjects. Often chronologically arranged. To find in VIRGO do a subject keyword search:
willa cather and bibliography

Also look in the Z8000 section of the reference room and in the stacks.

NEWSPAPERS AND CONTEMPORARY JOURNALS

10.New York Times Index, 1851- AI21.N45 (Microforms Rm)
We also have the actual newspaper on microfilm in the same room.

11.Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 ( VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers all subjects.

12.Readers's Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890- (Index Table #1)
Indexes general interest periodicals and magazines.

13.Poole's Index to Periodical Literature , 1802-1906. (Index Table #1)
Indexes general interest periodicals and magazines.

14.International Index to Periodicals, 1907- (Index Table #1)
Scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.

Book Reviews (Index Table #2)

Many of the titles mentioned in this guide are excellent sources of book reviews. See also Index Table #2, second on the left as you are walking down the reference room, and filled with excellent sources of book reviews -- contemporary and retrospective

15.Book Review Digest, 1905- (Index Table #2)

16.Guide to finding Book Reviews: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/usered/reviews.html

WOMEN

17.Handbook of American women's history. HQ 1410 .H36 1990

18.The women's chronology. HQ 1122 .T73 1994
Year-by-year record through history of what was going on in all spheres, including suffrage, the arts, etc.

18a. Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States. PS147.094

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

19.Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E363 (current & 1910) http://search.eb.com/

20.Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html

WEBSITES

21.Electronic Text Center (UVA) http://etext.virginia.edu
Find full text of literary works.

22.English Web http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html
This guide will be here under "Guides"

23.Author Sites
Nathaniel Hawthorne Website http://eldred.ne.mediaone.net/nh/hawthorne.html
Calendar and Register of Henry James's Correspondence http://jamescalendar.unl.edu/
Henry James Scholar's Guide to Websites http://www.newpaltz.edu/~hathaway/
Kate Chopin http://www.angelfire.com/nv/English243/Chopin.html
http://www.kutztown.edu/faculty/reagan/chopin.html
Edith Wharton Society http://www.gonzaga.edu/faculty/campbell/wharton/index.html
Willa Cather http://www.courses.fas.harvard.edu/~cather/
International Theodore Dreiser Society http://www.uncwil.edu/dreiser/right_frame.htm
Zora Neale Hurston http://pages.prodigy.com/zora/content.htm
Henry Adams. http://www.csustan.edu/english/reuben/pal/chap5/adams.html

STYLE MANUALS

24.Mla Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 1998 (Ref Desk)

25.MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web.
A Style: Documenting Sources from th http://www.mla.org/style/sources.htm

BIOGRAPHY

26.Dictionary of Literary Biography (PN466.D52)
Biographical bibliographical critical essays. Use the index at the back of the most recent volume to locate other authors.

27.Biography Resource Center. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Includes full-text sketches, articles, and portraits.

28.Biography and Genealogy Master Index. ( VIRGO Other Databases)

 

Karen Marshall 982-2677 Alderman Rm. 511 kmarshall@virginia.edu March 2000

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021   fax: 434.924.1431

English Subject Guide  Subject Guides Home
UVa Library Home
  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Karen Marshall   Last Modified: June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page English Subject Guide