1.Library Web Page http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Links to
VIRGO, journal indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic texts, etc.
2.VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/
Find what
the library owns, including electronic materials. Use "Other
Databases" (blue side bar, green buttons) to find journal and newspaper
indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. Renew and recall books that are
checked out.
3.Browse VIRGO for subjects:
Do
a begins with subject search on
Faulkner William
2.To do a keyword search in VIRGO. Keyword subject will give you a more
focused search.
henry
james and women
women
and (cather or Faulkner)
(women
or femini$ or gender) and (cather or faulkner)
4.To Browse the stacks
(either in person or in VIRGO with a Call Number Search)
PS2124 James
PS3505 .A87 Cather
PS3511 .A86 Faulkner
5.To find Electronic texts in VIRGO
Select “Ebooks” from the pull-down menu and do an
author or title search, e.g.
Cather
Song
of the lark
6.VIRGO – OTHER DATABASES (Green Buttons on
blue side bar)
Find indexes to journal articles in all subjects and
in many cases, the full text of the article itself, e.g.
MLA
Bibliography -- English Literature
INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL
ARTICLES (Secondary Sources)
7.MLA International
Bibliography, 1963-. (VIRGO
Other Databases)
Covers
the subject of literature and language.
Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc.
Women and cather
Women and (cather or Faulkner)
Henry james and (women or gender or
femini$)
8.Expanded Academic
Index (InfoTrac SearchBank) (VIRGO
Other Databases)
Very general.
Scholarly and more popular journals.
Some Full Text. 1980-present.
9.Annual Bibliography of
English Language and Literature, 1920-.
(VIRGO
Other Databases)
Covers the subject of English literature and
language. Scholarly periodical
articles, books, chapters in books, book reviews. Suprisingly little duplication with the MLA.
10.American Literary
Scholarship, 1963-. PS3
.A47 (Ald Ref)
1998- http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/als/
A selective
evaluative survey of the research of the year (books and articles). Good source
for studying literary trends. Good evaluative essays.
Most recent 5
years in Reference; the rest in stacks.
11.To find JOURNALS in VIRGO
Do a “Begins with” “journal title” search, e.g.
differences
Print journals
live in the Periodicals Rm (3rd fl.) for about a year and then are
bound and placed in the Stacks in call number order. All our journals can be checked out.
12.Evaluative lists of works about the authors, literary works,
subjects. Often chronologically
arranged. To find in VIRGO do a subject keyword search: cather and
bibliography
Also look in
the Z8000 section of the reference room and in the stacks.
13.Historical Index to the New York Times,
1851-1922 (VIRGO
Other Databases)
New York Times Index, 1851- present AI21.N45 (Microforms
Rm)
We also have
the actual newspaper on microfilm in the same room.
14.Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers all
subjects.
15.Readers's Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890- (Index Table #1) (Ald Ref)
Indexes general
interest periodicals and magazines.
16.Poole's Index to Periodical Literature,
1802-1906.(Index
Table #1) (Ald Ref)
Indexes
general interest periodicals and magazines.
17.International Index to Periodicals, 1907- (Index Table #1) (Ald Ref)
Scholarly
journals in the social sciences and humanities.
18.Dictionary of Literary Biography (VIRGO Other Databases)
Biographical,
bibliographical, and critical essays on authors.
19.To get a listing of how many times each word in a work is used and in what context, do a VIRGO search for concordances:
Faulkner and
concordances
BOOK REVIEWS (Index Table #2) (Ald Ref)
Many of the
titles mentioned in this guide are excellent sources of book reviews. See also
Index Table #2, second on the left as you are walking down the reference room,
and filled with excellent sources of book reviews -- contemporary and
retrospective
20.Book Review Digest, 1905- (Index Table #2) (Ald Ref)
21.Guide to finding Book Reviews:
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/usered/reviews.html
22.Encyclopedia Britannica.
http://search.eb.com (current)
http://www.1911encyclopedia.org/
(1911)
23.Oxford English Dictionary.
http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html (2nd ed.)
http://dictionary.oed.com/ (3rd ed)
24.Electronic Text Center (UVA) http://etext.virginia.edu
Find full
text of literary works and then search or browse them. You can also find these texts by searching
in Virgo. To search texts word for
word:
and
constrain your search to an author or work.
Or follow this path at the Etext Center’s Homepage:
Collections
| English | Online Holdings | Modern English Collection | Search all the texts.
25.English Web http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/index.html
This guide
will be here under "Guides"
27.Mla Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444
1998 (Ald Ref Desk)
28.MLA
Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide
Web. http://www.mla.org/
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/
Hours:
9:00am-9:00pm Monday-Thursday and 9:00am to 5:00pm Friday-Saturday.
Extraordinary
collection of unpublished materials, e.g. diaries, letters, manuscripts; plus
rare and valuable published works, including first editions of most significant
American literature. All of their
holdings are searchable in VIRGO and your search can be limited to Special
Collections, or more specifically, to Manuscripts. Our Library has the most significant Faulkner collection in the
world.
30.Best Search Engine for the
Web:google.com
“William Faulkner”
Karen Kates Marshall *
kmarshall@virginia.edu * 982-2677*Alderman Library 511 * April 2002