THE AMERICAN WEST
ENAM484
Karen Marshall**Alderman Library Rm503b**982-2677kmarshall@virginia.edu
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/Subjects/English/guides/enam484.htm
Alta Vista Web Search Engine
http://altavista.digital.com
Sample searches:
"American West"
+"American West" +women
+"American West" +women +url:.edu
Other Search Engines:
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/search.html
1. University of Virginia
http://www.virginia.edu
2. University of Virginia Library
http://www.lib.virginia.edu
3. VIRGO
http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/uva/uval.html
keyword search:
cowboy art
american adj west
west (u.s.) and video$
american women and (biography or diaries)
keyword subject:
west (u.s.) history
west (u.s.) bibliography
4.Other Databases
-
VIRGO
-
MLA International Bibliography (literature)
Art Abstracts (art)
Humanities Abstracts (includes history, literature, art , religion, etc.)
RILM (music)
Arts & Humanities Search (includes history, literature, art , religion, etc.)
Social Sciences Abstracts (includes history, government, anthropology, etc.)
Books in Print (what's available to buy)
WorldCat (books owned by UVA and other libraries)
Dissertation Abstracts (dissertations)
-
America:History and Life (American history)
Religion Index (Religion)
Film Index Inetrnational (Film)
OCLC First Search - over 60 databases (Descriptions), most duplicated in VIRGO.
WINSPIRS -- available only in libraries; much duplication with VIRGO; can search multiple databases simultaneously
5. Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Galenet)
http://galenet.gale.com/m/mcp/db/bgmi
6. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedia Britannica, the Oxford English Dictionary,
and more.
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/encyc.html
7. Books and Other Electronic Texts
Full text of works literature and non-fiction
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu
8.Digital Images
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/dic/
9. Subjects Guides to the Web by Academic Department
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/
10. Web Directory -- YAHOO
Search by subject categories. Updated daily.
http://www.yahoo.com/
11. Library Short Courses
Free courses on Web, Newsgroups, FTP, HTML, Scanning, and
more.
http://poe.acc.virginia.edu/~libinstr/courses.html
12. Selected Print Sources in Alderman Reference Department
-
1.Balay. Guide to Reference Books. Z1035.1.G89 1996 (2d
copy at Ref Desk)
2.Harner. Literary Research Guide. Z2011.H34 1993
3.Oxford Companion to American Literature. PS21.H3 1983 (Reference Desk)
4.Bibliography of American Literature. Z1225.B55 1955
5.Literary Writings in America. Z1225.L58
6.Dictionary of American Biography. E176.D563
7.American Diaries. Z5305.U5A74 1983
8.Harvard Guide to American History. Z1236.F77 1974
9.Dictionary of American History. E174.D52
10.Dictionary of American Regional English (in progress). PE2843.D52 1985
11.Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates. E174.5.C3 1987
12.Historical Statistics of the United States. HA202.B87 1975 (Reference Desk)
13.American Newspapers, 1821-1936. Z6945.A53
14.Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1881. (Index Table 1)
