Purchase Requests  | English Department | User Education | Uncover | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

INTRODUCTION TO LITERARY RESEARCH

ENCR 801

Alderman Library Presentation

Materials are located in the Alderman Reference Room unless otherwise noted.

 

GUIDES

1. Harner. Literary Research Guide. Z2011.H34 2002 [Harner number]

2. Marcuse. Reference Guide for English Studies. PR56.M37 1990 [90]

3. Balay. Guide to Reference Books. Z1035.1.G89 1996 [60]

 

 

HANDBOOKS

4. Oxford Companion to English Literature. PR19.D73 2000 (Ref Desk) [1330]

5. Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable. PN43.B65 1999 (Ref Desk)
http://www.bibliomania.com/Reference/PhraseAndFable/ (1894 ed.)

6. Cyclopedia of Literary Characters. PN44.M3 1963

7. Holman. Handbook to Literature. PN41.H355 2000 (Ref Desk) [105]

8. Handbook of British Chronology. DA20.R93 no. 2 [1350]

9. Orbis Latinus. G107.G82 1972

10. London Stage, 1660-1800. PN2592.L6 1960 [2370]

 

 

CATALOGS: NATIONAL AND UNION

11. National Union Catalog. (NUC) Z881.A1U518 1968 (South End) [235]

      Library of Congress Catalog http://catalog.loc.gov

12. OCLC WorldCat (VIRGO Other Databases) [225]

12a RLIN Research Libraries Network (VIRGO Databases) [230]

13. Evans. American Bibliography. Z1215.E92 1903 [4005]

      Early American Imprints. (texts of Evans) Micfich 1077 (Ald Periodicals/Microfrms Rm)

14. British Library. General Catalogue of Printed Books to 1975. Z921.B87 [250]

http://blpc.bl.uk

15. Bibliotheque Nationale. Catalogue General. Z927.P2

http://gallica.bnf.fr [255]

16.National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections. Z6620.U5N3 [295]

in Archives USA (VIRGO Databases)

17. Ash. Subject Collections. Z731.A78 1993 (Ref Desk) [205]

18. Union List of Serials. Z6945.U45 1965 [640a]

19. Brigham. American Newspapers, 1690-1820. Z6951.B86 1947 [4035]

 

 

SHORT TITLE CATALOGS AND STATIONERS' REGISTERS

20. Pollard and Redgrave. (1475-1640) Z2002.P77 1976 [1990]

in English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) (in progress) and

Early English Books Online(EEBO) (VIRGO Databases) [1377]

             Early English Books. (texts of P & R) Micflm S-8 (Ald Periodicals/Microfrms Rm) [1990a]

21. Wing. (1641-1700) Z2002.W52 1994 (VIRGO Databases) [1995]

in English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) (in progress)and

Early English Books Online(EEBO) (VIRGO Databases) [1377]

             Early English Books. (texts of Wing) Micflm S-9 (Ald Periodicals/Microfrms Rm) [1995a]

22. Eighteenth Century. [2230]

in English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) (VIRGO Databases) [1377]

Eighteenth Century. (texts of ESTC) Micflm S-976 (Ald Periodicals/Microfrms Rm) [2230]

 23. Nineteenth Century. (in progress) Z2013.N5  [2475]

 24. Stationers' Registers. Z2002.S79 1950 [1380]

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIES OF SECONDARY SOURCES

25. MLA International Bibliography. Z7006.M64 (Index Table 1) (VIRGO Databases) [335]

26. MLA directory of periodicals. Z7006 .M643a (Ref Desk) [615

27. Humanities Index. AI3.H8 (Index Table 1) [385]

For comparable electronic access see Expanded Academic Index (VIRGO Databases: Infotrac)

28. Arts & Humanities Citation Index. (AHCI) Z5931.A78 (VIRGO Databases) [365]

29. Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. (ABEL) Z2011.M69 (Ald Stacks) (VIRGO  Databases) [340]

30. New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. (CBEL)  Z2011.N45 [1385]

31. Year's Work in English Studies. (YWES) PE58.E6 [330]

32. Bibliographic Index, 1937-1998. Z1002.B594 [145]

33. John Donne: An Annotated Bibliography. (author bibliography) Z8237.R6 1982

34. Eighteenth Century British Novel. (genre bibliography) Z2014.F4H33 1985 [2340a]

 

 

DICTIONARIES

 35. Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. PE1625.087 1989

  [1410]

             NEW Third Edition: http://dictionary.oed.com/

 36. Oxford Latin Dictionary. PA2365.E5O9 1982

 37. Dictionary of American Regional English. (in progress) PE2843.D52 1985 [3350]

 

 

QUOTATIONS, PROVERBS, CONCORDANCES

 38. Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. PN6080.O95 1999 (Ref Desk) [6315a]

 39. Tilley. Dictionary of the Proverbs. PN6420.T5 1950 [5915a]

 40. Concordance to Milton's English Poetry. PR3595.I5 (http://etext.virginia.edu/)

 

 

BIOGRAPHY

 41. Biography and Genealogy Master Index. (VIRGO Databases) [565]

 42. Dictionary of American Biography. (DAB) E176.D563 [3380]

 43. Dictionary of National Biography. (DNB) DA28.D4 1950 [1425]

 44. Halkett and Laing. Anonymous and Pseudonymous Literature.  Z1065.H17 1926 [5110]

 44a.Dictionary of Literary Biography. PN466.D52 (VIRGO Databases) [600]

 

 

SPECIAL INDEXES

 45. Book Review Digest, 1905-1998. Z1219.C96 (Index Table 2) (VIRGO Databases) [415a]

 46. Essay and General Literature Index. AI3.E75 [380]

 47. Granger's Index to Poetry. PN1022.H39 1997 (Ref Desk) (VIRGO Databases) [1235]

 48. Index of Middle English Verse. Z2012.B86 [1940]

 49. Dissertation Abstracts. AS30.M5 (Classroom) (VIRGO Databases) [465]

 50. Short Story Index. Z5917.S5C6 [1085]

 51. Play Index.  Z5781.P53 [1155]

 

 

CULTURAL THEORY AND POPULAR CULTURE

52. Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory.  HM101.D527

53. Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture.  E169.1G7555

54. Variety Film Reviews, 1907-1980.  PN1995.V34

(Also see http://www.mrqe.com)

 

 

WEB SITES

UVA Library http://www.lib.virginia.edu

VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu

Bryson Clevenger's Guide to Electronic Sources http://www.people.virginia.edu/~bec/encr801.html

English Web http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html

Book Review Finder Page (VIRGO Databases)

Etext Center http://etext.virginia.edu

Proxy Server Account Instructions http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/proxy.htm/

ITC (Information, Technology, & Communication) http://www.itc.virginia.edu

phone:924-3731 email:consult@virginia.edu

 

 

 

 

Karen Marshall 982-2677 Alderman Rm. 511 kmarshall@virginia.edu August 2003
Slightly revised by Bryson Clevenger 243-8701 Reference bec@virginia.edu August 2003

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021   fax: 434.924.1431

English Subject Guide  Subject Guides Home
UVa Library Home
  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Karen Marshall   Last Modified: June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page English Subject Guide