ENNC481E
LITERARY TRAVEL
1.Browse VIRGO for subjects:
Do a BEGINS WITH SUBJECT search on
Bronte
2.To
do a KEYWORD search in VIRGO
dickens and travel
dickens and travel$
dickens and (travel$ or guide$ or map$)
3.To Browse the
stacks (either in person or in VIRGO with a Call Number Search)
Bronte
PR4162 –
editions
PR4168 –
biography
PR4169 –
criticism
TEXTS
4.To
find electronic texts in VIRGO
Select “Ebooks, etc Search” from
the top of the blue sidebar under “Search Virgo” and do an author search, e.g.
Hnery
James
For texts on the Etext server you
can browse/read the whole text or search texts word for word:
·download the
whole text and the use the find function in your browser. OR
·choose
“All on-line databases”; “English”; “Modern English Collection” (for most)
·”Search
all the texts”
·put in your
search and constrain by author or title, e.g. word: travel and author: james, henry;
or travel and title: daisy miller
For texts not on the etext server, there will be others specific
instructions.
10.Periodicals Contents
Index, 1770-1993 (VIRGO
Other Databases)
Covers all subjects and includes some full text. International in focus.
11. American
Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 (VIRGO Databases / Journal Articles)
Full text of over 1000 journals
published in the
NEWSPAPERS
– Full Text
12.Lexis-Nexis
(VIRGO Databases/Newspaper Articles)
http://web.lexis-nexis.com/universe
Wonderful source for full text of current
Newspapers and other media, including the New York Times, London Times, Irish
Times. Find Book reviews, articles, interviews, etc. Truncation=*
Sense
and sensibility
13.ProQuest
Historical Newspapers (VIRGO Databases/Newspaper Articles)
Search and see full text of
articles from the New York Times (1851-1999), the Wall Street Journal
(1889-1995), and the Washington Post (1877-1987). Good for reviews and interviews.
14.The
Times, Digital Archive 1785-1985 (VIRGO Databases/Newspaper Articles)
Search the full text of The Times (
INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL
ARTICLES
15.MLA International
Bibliography, 1963-. (VIRGO
Databases / Journal Articles)
Covers the subject of literature and
language. Scholarly periodical
articles, books, chapters in books, etc.
Travel literature
Dickens and travel*
Also try a
subject guide search
on “travel”
16.Annual Bibliography
of English Language and Literature, 1920-.
(VIRGO Databases / Journal
Articles)
Covers the subject of English literature
and language. Scholarly
periodical articles, books, chapters in books, and book reviews. Suprisingly little
duplication with the MLA. Also included in #19 LION.
17.Expanded Academic
Index (InfoTrac OneFile) (VIRGO Databases / Journal Articles)
Very general. Scholarly and more popular
journals. Some Full
Text. 1980-present.
18.
One stop
shopping for secondary sources in literature.
Includes MLA Bibliography (# 15) and Dictionary of Literary Biography (#25 )
19.LION - Literature Online (VIRGO Databases / Journal Articles)
One stop shopping for primary and secondary
sources in literature. Includes Annual
Bibliography of English Language and Literature (#16)
FULL TEXT DATABASES
20.Early
American Imprints, Series I, Evans (1639-1800) (VIRGO
/ Databases/E-Books) Based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography this
database lists books published in 17th- and 18th-century America and links to
images of the books themselves.
author
search: montagu or
genre
search: travel literature
21.Eighteeenth
Century Collection Online (ECCO) (VIRGO / Databases/E-Books) Searchable
fulltext and page images for works printed between 1701-1800 in any language in
the British Isles and North America, and in the English language throughout the
rest of the world. Includes books on every subject, almanacs,
broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons. For books before
1701, see Early
English Books Online.
22.Early
English Books Online (EEBO) (VIRGO / Databases/E-Books)
Digital collection of every significant work published in
English from 1475 to1700. The works appear as page facsimile images and include
books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars and other
primary sources in all subjects. For books printed after 1701, see Eighteenth
Century Collections Online.
23.Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5
.E363 (current & 1910) (VIRGO Databases / Reference Sources)
24.
NEW Third Edition: http://dictionary.oed.com/
BIOGRAPHY
25.Dictionary of
Literary Biography (VIRGO Databases / Reference Sources)
Biographical bibliographical critical
essays. See #18
26Oxford Dictionary of National
Biography. (VIRGO Databases / Reference Sources)
Biographies of British persons from the
earliest times to the end of the 20th century.
GEOGRAPHICAL
27.Geographical and Statistical
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/
Alderman Library 3rd
fl. West.
Geostat (the
Geospatial and
28. Library of Congress Digital Map Collections:
1500 - 2004
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than
4.5 million items, of which Map Collections represents only a small
fraction, those that have been converted to digital form. The focus of Map
Collections is
Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general,
are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.
29. U
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/index.html
The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection is a general collection of more
than 250,000 maps covering all areas of the world. More than 5,000 map
images from the collection are available online. This includes the general
use maps such as those produced by the CIA as well as some historic city
plans that are included from travel guides and bluebooks.
30. David Rumsey Collection
http://www.davidrumsey.com/
The David Rumsey Collection is a privately held map collection housed in
Amreicas. Areas included, but not limited to:
STYLE MANUALS
31.MLA Style Manual and
Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 1998 (Ald Ref Desk)
32.MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/style_faq4
OTHER
33.ACCESSING UVA DATABASES FROM
OFF-GROUNDS
To access all of the databases we looked at today, plus
more, from off grounds or when away from
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/authent.html
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/leo/
When in VIRGO, choose Interlibrary
Services from the blue side bar on the left and fill out a request form for
items we don’t own or which are missing from our collection. We try to get books to you within a
week. Journal articles come sooner,
sometimes on the same day.
35.REQUEST
A TITLE BE PURCHASED
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/purch/purch.html
Request that the library buy a book, journal, or database
that the Library does not own. In the
case of books, request an additional copy if book is frequently checked out.
36.REFWORKS
BIBLIOGRAPHIC CITATION MANAGER
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/endnote.html
RefWorks has the
ability to import citations, store them in a database until you need them, and
then format them for use in your footnotes and bibliographies. Go to www.refworks.com, sign up for an account,
and then go to the RefWorks Web site whenever you want to add to your data or
use it.
37.FIND
@ UVA (ELECTRONIC JOURNALS)
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/finders.html
Find electronic journals that UVA provides access to.
38. http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/
Harrison-Small Library (one floor down)
Hours:
Extraordinary collection of unpublished
materials, e.g. diaries, letters, manuscripts; plus rare and valuable published
works, including first editions of most significant American literature. All of their holdings are searchable in VIRGO
and your search can be limited to Special Collections, or more specifically, to
Manuscripts.
Karen Marshall *
Alderman 511* 982-2677 * kmarshall@virginia.edu
* September 2005
IM: Karma0412 (when I
am online) * UVALibRef
(Reference chat service)