Aestheticism
ENNC986
Karen Marshall**Alderman Library Rm503b**982-2677kmarshall@virginia.edu
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/Subjects/English/guides/ennc986.htm
1. University of Virginia
http://www.virginia.edu
2. University of Virginia Library
http://www.lib.virginia.edu
3. VIRGO
http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/uva/uval.html
-
keyword search:
aesthetic$ and pater
gauthier theophile
james adj henry
baudelaire bibliography [keyword subject]
aesthetic$ and (james or wharton)
4.Other Databases
-
VIRGO
-
MLA International Bibliography (literature)
Art Abstracts (art)
Humanities Abstracts (includes history, literature, art , religion, etc.)
RILM (music)
Arts & Humanities Search (includes history, literature, art , religion, etc.)
Social Sciences Abstracts (includes history, government, anthropology, etc.)
WorldCat (books owned by UVA and other libraries)
Dissertation Abstracts (dissertations)
-
America:History and Life (American history)
Historical Abstracts (European History)
Philosopher's Index (Philosophy)
Religion Index (Religion)
OCLC First Search - over 60 databases (Descriptions), most duplicated in VIRGO.
WINSPIRS -- available only in libraries; much duplication with VIRGO; can search multiple databases simultaneously
5. Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Galenet)
http://galenet.gale.com/m/mcp/db/bgmi
6. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedia Britannica, the Oxford English Dictionary,
and more.
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/encyc.html
7. Books and Other Electronic Texts
Full text of works literature, philosophy, etc.
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu
Rossetti Archive (text and image)
http://jefferson.village.virginia.edu/framesindex.html
8.Digital Images
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/dic/
9. Subjects Guides to the Web by Academic Department
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/
10. Web Directory -- YAHOO
Search by subject categories. Updated daily.
http://www.yahoo.com/
11.Alta Vista Web Search Engine
http://altavista.digital.com
Sample searches:
"Walter Pater"
+Ruskin +art
Other Search Engines: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/search.html
12. Library Short Courses
Free courses on Web, Newsgroups, FTP, HTML, Scanning, and
more.
http://poe.acc.virginia.edu/~libinstr/courses.html
13. Selected Print Sources in Alderman Reference Department
-
1.Balay. Guide to Reference Books. Z1035.1.G89 1996 (2d
copy at Ref Desk)
2.Harner. Literary Research Guide. Z2011.H34 1993
3.Literary Writings in America. (1850-1940) Z1225.L58
4.Dictionary of National Biography. DA28.D4 1950
5.Allibone. Critical Dictionary of English Literature. Z2010.A43O4 1900
6.Dictionary of American Biography. E176.D563
7.Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1881. AI3.P7 (Index Table 1)
8.Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974
Z6265.C65 1982 (Index Table 2)
9.Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900. Z2005.H6 1966
10.Literary Index to American Magazines 1850-1900. Z1225.W38 1996
11.Literary index to American Magazines, 1815-1865. Z6513.W44 (ald stacks; soon to be in ald ref)
12.Encyclopedia of Philosophy. B41.E52 1967
13.Author Bibliographies (to find these in VIRGO do a keyword subject search, e.g.baudelaire bibliography>)
