Purchase Requests  | English Department | User Education | Uncover | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

ENTC482B-1

CONTEMPORARY AFRICAN AMERICAN WOMEN PLAYWRIGHTS

Alderman Library Presentation

Note: Materials are located in the Alderman Reference Room unless otherwise indicated.

Library Web Page http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Links to VIRGO, journal indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic texts, etc.

VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/
Find what the library owns, including electronic materials. Use "Other Databases" to find journal and newspaper indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. Renew and recall books that are checked out.
african american drama
hansberry lorraine
(Black or african american) and (theater or theatre or drama or playwright$) and (women or feminism or matriarchy)

BIOGRAPHY

Do VIRGO subject searches, e.g. rita dove and biography

Afro-American Writers After 1955: Dramatists and Prose Writers. PN 466 .D52 Vol. 38
Or other appropriate volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography Series. Use Index.

Biography Resource Center. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Includes full-text sketches, articles, and portraits.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Tells you where you can find biographical information. Good for minor characters, as well as major.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E363 (1998 & 1910) http://search.eb.com/

Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. PE1625.087 1989 (WWW)
(http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html)

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

You can find bibliographies on authors or topics in VIRGO. In VIRGO do a subject search, e.g.
lorraine hansberry and bibliography

THEATER REVIEWS AND POPULAR PRESS

LEXIS NEXIS (VIRGO Other Databases)
Lots of full-text newspaper coverage. Covers mostly 1990-present, but in some cases may go back further.
colored girls and review!

New York Times Index AI21.N45 (Microforms Rm)
Goes back to 1851. We also have the actual newspaper on microfilm in the same room.

Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature (1900- Index Table #1) (1983- VIRGO Other Databases)
Indexes general interest periodicals and magazines.

INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.

Expanded Academic Index (InfoTrac SearchBank) (VIRGO Other Databases)
Very general. Scholarly and more popular journals. Some Full Text. 1980-present.
shange and feminism
Venus and review*

MLA International Bibliography. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of literature and language. Periodical abstracts, books, chapters in books, etc.
kennedy and funnyhouse
(black or african american) and (theater or theatre or drama) and feminis$

Humanities Index/Abstracts (1920- Index Table #1) (1984- VIRGO Other Databases)
Also good for reviews.

STYLE MANUALS

Mla Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 1998 (Ref Desk)

MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. (WWW)
http://www.mla.org/style/sources.htm

WEB SITES

English Web (This guide will be here under "Guides")
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html

International Centre for Women Playwrights http://www.cadvision.com/sdempsey/icwphmpg.htm

Voices From the Gaps: Women Writers of Color http://voices.cla.umn.edu/

Women of Color, Women of Words http://www.scils.rutgers.edu/~cybers/home.html

Lorraine Hansberry http://www.accd.edu/sac/english/bailey/hansberr.htm
http://voices.cla.umn.edu/authors/LorraineHansberry.html

Adrienne Kennedy http://voices.cla.umn.edu/authors/AdrienneKennedy.html
http://www.scils.rutgers.edu/~cybers/kenn.html

Ntozake Shange http://www.public.asu.edu/~metro/aflit/shange/

Aishah Rahman http://www.scils.rutgers.edu/~cybers/rahman.html

Anna Deavere Smith http://www.fas.harvard.edu/~art/anna.html

Suzan-Lori Parks http://www.scils.rutgers.edu/~cybers/park.html

Rita Dove http://voices.cla.umn.edu/authors/RitaDove.html
http://www.accd.edu/sac/english/bailey/doverita.htm
http://www.people.virginia.edu/~rfd4b/


 

Karen Marshall 982-2677 Alderman Rm. 511 kmarshall@virginia.edu February 2000

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021   fax: 434.924.1431

English Subject Guide  Subject Guides Home
UVa Library Home
  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Karen Marshall   Last Modified: June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page English Subject Guide