ENTC 484 WOMEN AND MODERNITY
Selected Library Sources in the Alderman Reference Room and on the Web
1.Library Web Page http://www.lib.virginia.edu/
Links to VIRGO, journal
indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, electronic texts, etc.
2.VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu/
Find what the library owns,
including electronic materials. Use "Other Databases" to find journal
and newspaper indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. Renew and recall books
that are checked out.
Anti-suffragism [keyword]
Anti-suffrag$ [keyword]
Contraception and united states [keyword subject]
Djuna barnes and bibliography [keyword subject
Gertrude
stein and (letter$ or diar$ or journal$) [keyword]
wharton and (dictionar$ or encyclopedia$ or handbook$) [keyword subject]
edna millay [Ebooks
author search to find full text]
hull house [“begins with’ subject to get topics]
godey’s [“begins with” journal title]
literature and medicine [“begins with” journal title]
INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.
3.MLA International Bibliography, 1963-. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of literature and language. Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc.
gilman and illness
gilman and (sick$ or ill$ or mental or hyster$ or health or nerv$)
4.Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers the subject of English
(and American) literature and language.
Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, and book
reviews. Suprisingly little duplication
with the MLA.
6.Expanded Academic Index (InfoTrac SearchBank) (VIRGO Other Databases)
Very general. Scholarly and more popular journals. Some Full Text. 1980-present.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
9.Evaluative lists of works
about the authors, literary works, subjects.
Often chronologically arranged.
To find in VIRGO do a subject
keyword search:
djuna
barnes and bibliography
Also look in the Z8000
section of the reference room and in the stacks.
NEWSPAPERS AND
CONTEMPORARY JOURNALS
10.New York Times Index, 1851- AI21.N45 (Microforms Rm)
We also have the actual
newspaper on microfilm in the same room.
http://historynews.chadwyck.com/noframesny/search
covers
1863 to 1905, and 1913 to September 1922.
11.Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 (VIRGO Other Databases)
Covers all subjects.
12.Readers’s Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890- (Index Table #1)
Indexes general interest
periodicals and magazines.
13.Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature , 1802-1906. (Index Table #1)
Indexes general interest
periodicals and magazines.
14.International Index to Periodicals, 1907- (Index Table #1)
Scholarly journals in the
social sciences and humanities.
Book Reviews (Index Table #2)
Many of the titles mentioned
in this guide are excellent sources of book reviews. See also Index Table #2,
second on the left as you are
walking down the reference room, and filled with excellent sources of book reviews
-- contemporary and retrospective
15.Book Review Digest, 1905- (Index
Table #2)
16.Guide to finding Book Reviews: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/usered/reviews.html
WOMEN
17.Handbook of American women's history. HQ 1410 .H36 1990
18.The women's chronology. HQ 1122 .T73 1994
Year-by-year record through
history of what was going on in all
spheres, including suffrage, the arts, etc.
18a.Oxford Companion to Women’s Writing in the United
States.
PS147.094
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES
19.Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E363 (current & 1910) http://http://www.britannica.com/
20.Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html
NEW Third Edition: http://dictionary.oed.com/
WEBSITES
21.Electronic Text Center (UVA) http://etext.virginia.edu
Find full text of literary
works.
22.English Web http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html
This guide will be here under
"Guides"
22a. Women’s Studies Primary
Source microform materials in Alderman Periodicals Rm. (3rd. fl.)
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/permic/women.html
23. North American women's
letters and diaries (Full text)
Arranged
by date, author, subject, and historical events.
http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/efts/asp/NAWLD/
23a. Women’s Suffrage
http://www.nara.gov/education/teaching/woman/home.html
23b.Author Sites
Edith Wharton Society http://www.gonzaga.edu/faculty/campbell/wharton/index.html
Jane Addams and Hull House http://www.uic.edu/jaddams/hull/hull_house.html
STYLE MANUALS
24.Mla Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444
1998 (Ref Desk)
25.MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/style/sources.htm
BIOGRAPHY
26.Dictionary of Literary Biography (VIRGO Other Databases) (Ald Ref)
Biographical bibliographical
critical essays. Use the index at the back of the most recent volume to locate
other authors.
27.Biography Resource Center. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Includes full-text sketches,
articles, and portraits.
28.Biography and Genealogy Master Index. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Tells you where you can find
biographical information. Good for
minor characters, as well as major.
29. http://www.lib.virginia.edu/speccol/
Alderman Library, 2nd fl.
Hours: 9:00am-9:00pm Monday-Thursday and 9:00am to 5:00pm Friday-Saturday.
Extraordinary
collection of unpublished materials, e.g. diaries, letters, manuscripts; plus
rare and valuable published works, including first editions of most significant
American literature.
All
of their holdings are searchable in VIRGO and your search can be limited to
Special Collections, or more specifically, to Manuscripts.
30. http://www.lib.virginia.edu/govdocs/
Alderman
Library, 3rd fl.
A
repository for the entire output of the U.S. Government, including Census
material, and international documents as well.
Visit the GeoStat Center for statistical and geographical data.
Karen Kates Marshall * kmarshall@virginia.edu * 982‑2677*Alderman Library 511 * February 2002