Purchase Requests  | English Department | User Education | Uncover | Reserves/Toolkit | Faculty Services

ENTC 858 Modern Irish Literature

Selected Library Sources , Pt 2

WEB SEARCH ENGINES

1. Google http://www.google.com
Uses a unique relevancy ranking algorithm.
\223catherine byron” poet OR poem OR poems OR poetry

“anvil press”

2. MetaCrawler http://www.metacrawler.com/
Differs from others in that it sends your query to multiple search engines, organizes the results into a uniform format, ranks them by relevance, and returns them to the user.

NEWS

3. Lexis-Nexis (VIRGO Other Databases)

Wonderful source for full text of Newspapers and other media, including the Irish Times. Find Book reviews, articles, interviews, etc. Check under General News, World News, Transcripts, Arts, etc.

“Marie Heaney”

“Patrick Kavanagh” and Canad!

BIOGRAPHY

4. Biography and Genealogy Master Index. ( VIRGO Other Databases)
Tells you where you can find biographical information and we will own many of the biographical sources it indexes. Good for hard-to-find subjects. Look the sources up in VIRGO.

eilis ni dhuibhne

5. Dictionary of Literary Biography   PN466 .D52 (Ald Ref)  http://www.galenet.com/servlet/GLD/form?l=4

6.Contemporary Authors.  Z1224 .C62 (Ad Stks)

Full text, biographical, bibliographical, and critical essays on authors.  Search an individual author and then find out who his contemporaries were by searching the whole “volume” that the essay was in.

nuala o’faolain

7.Biography Resource Center.(VIRGO Other Databases)
Full-text sketches, articles, and portraits from works such as “Contemporary Poets”.  More mainstrean and not as good for hard to find subjects.  Also includes the full text of journal articles.

anne devlin

JOURNAL ARTICLES

8.Expanded Academic Index (InfoTrac SearchBank) (VIRGO Other Databases)
Scholarly and more popular journals. Some Full Text. Book Reviews. 1980-present.

paula meehan
mary o’malley and poet*

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

9. Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E36 http://www.britannica.com/

DICTIONARIES

10. Oxford English Dictionary 

Most authoritative dictionary for English language. Based on historical principles.

Second edition     http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html

NEW Third edition     http://dictionary.oed.com/

11. Irish and Gaelic Dictionaries PB1291-1591

BOOK REVIEWS

Many of the titles mentioned in this guide are excellent sources of book reviews, e.g. Lexis-Nexis, Expanded Academic Index, etc.

12. Book Review Digest. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Index to book reviews in a number of sources.

13. Guide to finding Book Reviews: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/usered/reviews.html

PUBLISHERS

14. International Literary Market Place Z291.5.I5 (Information Desk)

15.Ulrich’s International Perodicals Directory. (VIRGO Other Databases)
Complete information on periodicals – how to contact them, who edits them, what the periodical is all about, etc.

Also look for publishers’ web pages.

 

WAS THIS GUIDE AND COURSE USEFUL TO YOU?  PLEASE SEND SUGGESTIONS AS TO HOW IT MIGHT BE IMPROVED.

 

Karen Marshall 982-2677 Alderman Rm. 511 kmarshall@virginia.edu March 2001

University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113
Charlottesville VA 22904-4113
434.924.3021   fax: 434.924.1431

English Subject Guide  Subject Guides Home
UVa Library Home
  Search the Library Site
Maintained by: Karen Marshall   Last Modified: June 02, 2008
© The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Subject Guides home page English Subject Guide