ENWR 110-11 Magnificent Obsession
Selected
Library Resources
FINDING BOOKS, VIDEOS,
JOURNALS, NEWSPAPERS, CD’s, etc.
1.Search VIRGO catalog to see which
books, videos, journals, newspapers, CD’s, etc. we own and find out where they
are. To do a keyword search in
VIRGO:
fear and media
media and terror$
fear and (internet or web or blog$)
time [“first words” journal title]
2.Finding a Book in Alderman Stacks
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/find/
INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY AND POPULAR JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.
3. InfoTrac OneFile, 1980- (VIRGO Databases; Journal Articles)
All topics, scholarly and popular journals. Lots of Full Text.
Also good for book, film, theater, and television
reviews. Truncation symbol=*
Gun
violence
4.MLA
International Bibliography, 1963-. (VIRGO
Databases; Journal Articles)
Covers the
subject of literature and language. Scholarly periodical articles, books,
chapters in books, etc. Truncation symbol=*
September
11 Terrorist Attacks and poetry
5. ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials , 1942- (VIRGO
Databases; Journal Articles)
Lists articles on religious
studies from journals in many disciplines. Truncation=* war and religion
6.
Covers the history
of the
CONTEMPORARY NEWSPAPER COVERAGE
7.Lexis-Nexis (VIRGO Databases; Newspaper Articles)
http://web.lexis-nexis.com/universe
Wonderful
source for full text of current Newspapers and other media, including
the New York Times, London Times, Irish Times. Find Book reviews, articles, interviews, etc. Truncation=*
republican campaign
wolves
7a.ProQuest
Historical Newspapers (VIRGO
Databases; Newspaper Articles)
http://www.galenet.com/servlet/BioRC?finalAuth=true
Search and see
full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-1999), the Wall
Street Journal (1889-1995), and the Washington Post
(1877-1987). Good for reviews and
interviews. Truncation=*
IMAGES
8.Associated Press Photo Archive (VIRGO
Databases; Reference Sources / Images)
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/dmc/colls/ap/ap.html
Searchable
database containing 400,000 images, taken since late 1995. Features state, regional, and national photos.
Hundreds of images added daily.
bush ads
9.Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5 .E363 (current
& 1910) http://search.eb.com
10.
NEW
Third Edition: http://dictionary.oed.com/
STYLE MANUALS
11.MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing.
PN147.G444 1998 (Ald Ref Desk)
12.MLA Style: Documenting
Sources from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/style_faq4
13.ACCESSING
UVA DATABASES FROM OFF-GROUNDS
To access all of the
databases we looked at today, plus more, from off grounds or when away from
http://www.itc.virginia.edu/desktop/proxy/
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/authent.html
When in VIRGO, choose Interlibrary
Services from the blue side bar on the left and fill out a request form for
items we don’t own or which are missing from our collection. We try to get books to you within a
week. Journal articles come sooner,
sometimes on the same day. We can also
purchase titles that we don’t own and have them for you within a week. Fill out a purchase request form
to have this done.
15. CALL NUMBER ORDER
P1
.R98
PR7
.L2 A43
PR67
.A12 1960
PR423
.A10
PR2069.
M39
Karen Marshall * Alderman
511* 982-2677 * kmarshall@virginia.edu
* November 2004
IM HELP From Reference Desk -- UVALibRef
IM Help from Karen -- Karma0412 (whenever I’m logged on)