ENWR110-33 IDENTITY POLITICS
Library Session
1.Library Web Page
2.Searching
VIRGO (Library Catalog of
Books, Videos, Journals, etc.)
toni Morrison and race
sex and the
city
“sex and
the city”
“queer as
folk”
“angels in
race and stereotyp$
3.Finding
a Book in Alderman Stacks
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/find/
INDEXES
TO SCHOLARLY AND POPULAR JOURNAL ARTICLES etc.
4. InfoTrac OneFile,
1980- (VIRGO
Databases; Journal Articles)
http://web5.infotrac.galegroup.com/itw/infomark/0/1/1/purl=rc6_ITOF?sw_aep=viva_uva
All
topics, scholarly and popular journals. Lots of Full Text. Also good for book, film,
theater, and television reviews.
Race
and affirmative action
Sex
and the city
“Sex and
the city”
“Sex and the city” and Television
Program Review
“Queer as folk” and Television Program
Review
“angels in
toni morrison
and (rac* or identity)
5.MLA International Bibliography,
1963-. (VIRGO
Databases; Journal Articles)
http://web5.infotrac.galegroup.com/itw/infomark/0/1/1/purl=rc6_MLA?sw_aep=viva_uva
Covers the subject of literature
and language.
Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc.
Toni Morrison and
recitatif
Toni Morrison and
race
Toni Morrison and
identity*
“sex
and the city”
“angels
in
6.Lexis-Nexis
(VIRGO
Databases; Newspaper Articles)
http://web.lexis-nexis.com/universe
Wonderful source for full text of
current Newspapers and other media, including the New York Times, London
Times, Irish Times. Find Book reviews, articles,
interviews, etc. Choose “Guided News Search”.
Check under General News, World News, Transcripts, Arts, etc. Truncation=*
“angels in
barbara ehrenreich
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
AND DICTIONARIES
7.Encyclopedia Britannica. AE5
.E363 (current & 1910) http://search.eb.com
8.
NEW Third Edition: http://dictionary.oed.com/
STYLE
MANUALS
9.MLA
Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. PN147.G444 1998 (Ald Ref Desk)
10.MLA Style: Documenting Sources from
the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/style_faq4
11.ACCESSING
UVA DATABASES FROM OFF-GROUNDS
To access all of the databases we looked at today, plus
more, from off grounds or when away from
http://www.itc.virginia.edu/desktop/proxy/
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/indexes/authent.html
When in VIRGO, choose Interlibrary
Services from the blue side bar on the left and fill out a request form for
items we don’t own or which are missing from our collection. We try to get books to you within a
week. Journal articles come sooner,
sometimes on the same day. We can also
purchase titles that we don’t own and have them for you within a week. Fill out a purchase request form
to have this done.
Karen
Marshall * Alderman 511* 982-2677 * kmarshall@virginia.edu
* September 2004
IM HELP From Reference Desk -- UVALibRef
IM
Help from Karen --
Karma0412 (whenever I’m logged
on)