ENLT247M & ENAM482B — HARLEM RENAISSANCE

Selected Resources in Alderman Library and the Web

 

1.VIRGO

harlem renaissance  [keyword]

Harlem renaissance and women  [keyword]

harlem renaissance and (play$ or film$)  [keyword]

afro-american arts and new york  [keyword]

harlem and intellectual life  [keyword]

hurston and eyes   [keyword subject]

Hughes Langston  [begins with subject]

Langston Hughes  [Ebook search for full text]

 

GENERAL

2.The Harlem Renaissance : a historical dictionary for the era.  NX511.N4 H37 1984 (Ald Ref)

Appendices include a chronology of significant events; chronological listing of books published; bibliography; plays by, about, or featuring Afro-Americans; list of newspapers and magazines from the period; glossary of Harlem slang; bibliography.

 

3.Encyclopedia of African‑American culture and history. 5 vols.  E185 E54 1996  (Ald Ref)

 Covers all topics.

 

4.The Harlem Renaissance : an annotated bibliography and commentary. Z5956.A47 P47 1982 (Ald Stks)

 

5. History Resource Center VIRGO (Other Databases)

 Primary and secondary source documents, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day. Complete full-text coverage of approximately 65 scholarly periodicals.

 

6.Timetables of African-American History.  E185.H295 1995 (Ald Ref)

Chronology of all significant events, year by year.

 

 

 

LITERATURE

7.Oxford Companion to African American Literature.  PS153.N5O96 1997 (Ald Ref)

Handbook to people, places, writing, terms, and related topics.

 

8.Black Plots & Black Characters: A Handbook for Afro-American Literature.  PS153.N5S65  (Ald Ref)

 

9.Black American writers : bibliographical essays.  PS153.N5 B55  (Ald Ref)

 

10.Black Literature, 1827‑1940.  Microfiche Set (Ald Per. Rm, 3 east); CD‑ROM Index  (Ald Ref)

Brings together the fiction, poetry, and reviews which appeared in black newspapers and periodicals published in the United States between 1827 and 1940.  This significant repository compiles over 150,000 works (including over 1000 new novels) which were previously scattered, unknown or inaccessible to scholars.  The project was edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. at the W.E.B. DuBois Institute of Harvard University. The CD‑ROM index to the set can be searched by author, title, keyword title, genre, publication date, periodical title, etc.

 

11.Harlem in review : critical reactions to Black American writers, 1917‑1939.  Z 1229 .N39 B37 1992. (Ald Stks)

 

 

BIOGRAPHY

12.Afro-American Writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Volume 51.  PS 153 .N5 A396 1987  (Ald Ref)  (VIRGO Other Databases)

Select Dictionary of Literary Biography in “Other Databases”.  Then type “Harlem Renaissance” in the title line, or a specific author’s name in the author line.  Authoratative lengthy literary bio-bibliographies.

 

13.The Harlem Renaissance and beyond: literary biographies of 100 Black women writers,   1900‑1950.   PS 153 .N5 R65 1990  (Ald Ref)

 

14.Biography Resource Center. (VIRGO Other Databases)

Includes full-text sketches, articles, and portraits.

 

15.Biography and Genealogy Master Index.  (VIRGO Other Databases)

For harder to find people.

 

16.Black biography, 1790‑1950 : a cumulative index.  Z 1361 .N39 B52 1991 (Ald Ref)


Listing of the 30,000 individuals described in Black Biographical Dictionaries. Includes full name, birth and death dates, place of birth, occupation and religious affiliation for each individual, as well as the location of every biographical sketch and every photograph.

 

17.Black biographical dictionaries, 1790‑1950.  Micfich 2129. 1 (Ald Per. Rm, 3 east)

The largest biographical compilation ever gathered to document the lives of black Americans.  Particularly good for minor hard-to-find figures.

 

MUSIC

18.New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.   (VIRGO Other Databases)

 

19.The new Negroes and their music : the success of the Harlem Renaissance.  ML3556 .S77 1997 (Clem and Music)

 

20.Black music in the Harlem Renaissance : a collection of essays.  ML 3556.8 .N5 B6 (Clem Res)

 

 

NEWSPAPERS AND MAGAZINES

21.Periodicals, Newspapers, and Microforms Room (Ald 3rd fl. East)

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/permic

 

22.African‑American Newspapers on Microfilm in Alderman Periodicals/Microforms,

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/permic/afampap.html

 

23.African‑American Journals at Alderman and Clemons Libraries

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/permic/afamjournals.html

 

24.Harlem: Mecca of the New Negro: A Hypermedia Edition of the March 1925 Survey Graphic Harlem Number.

http://etext.virginia.edu/harlem/index.html

 

25.New York Amsterdam News (1922‑1972) (Micflm) (Ald Per. Rm, 3 east)

 

26.New York Times and Index, 1860-  (Micflm) (Ald Per. Rm, 3 east)

                                                               

27.Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature.  AI3.R48  (Ald Ref Index Table 1)

 

28.Periodicals Contents Index, 1770-1993 (VIRGO Other Databases)

Covers all subjects.

 

 

INDEXES TO SCHOLARLY LITERATURE

VIRGO/Other Databases/Humanities

Indexes to scholarly literature for Art, Architecture, Literature, Music, etc. 

 

29.MLA International Bibliography, 1963-.  (VIRGO Other Databases)

Covers the subject of literature and language.  Scholarly periodical articles, books, chapters in books, etc.

            Countee cullen

            Toomer and cane

            Harlem renaissance and (women or gender or fem$)

 

30.Expanded Academic Index  (InfoTrac SearchBank) (VIRGO Other Databases)

Very general.  Scholarly and more popular journals.  Some Full Text.  1980-present.

 

31.JSTOR   (VIRGO Other Databases)

FULL TEXT scholarly journal articles.  Select the “African American Studies” category.

 

32.America: History and Life  (VIRGO Other Databases)

The authoritative database for the literature of American History: journal articles, book reviews, dissertations.  Includes abstracts.

 

33.Film Index International   (VIRGO Other Databases)

Entries for nearly films produced since the beginning of sound, and earlier for some directors. For each film there is a plot summary, citations to critical articles and reviews, and a list of characters, actors, directors, and producers.

 

34.Black Studies Index (Web). (VIRGO Other Databases)

Includes the catalog of the holdings of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, including material in all formats; and the annual Index to Black Periodicals (1988 through 1998), covering a wide range of scholarly and popular journals with articles by and about people of African descent worldwide. Materials are primarily in English.

 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

35.Evaluative lists of works about the authors, literary works, subjects.  Often chronologically arranged.  To find in VIRGO do a subject keyword search:

            landston hughes and bibliography

Also look in the Z8000 section of the reference room and in the stacks.

 

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

36.Encyclopedia Britannica.  AE5 .E363  (current & 1910) http://http://www.britannica.com/

 

37.Oxford English Dictionary. (OED) 2d ed. http://etext.virginia.edu/oed.html

NEW Third Edition: http://dictionary.oed.com/

 

 

STYLE MANUALS

38.Mla Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing.  PN147.G444 1998 (Ref Desk)

 

39.MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web. http://www.mla.org/style/sources.htm  

 

 

 

WORLD WIDE WEB

http://www.google.com

“Harlem Renaissance”

”Harlem Renaissance” photograph OR photographs

”Ma Rainey”

 

American Memory Project: Library of Congress

http://lcweb2.loc.gov/amhome.html

A collection of primary source documents and archives from the Library of Congress pertaining to American history and culture. Includes “Creative Americans: Portraits by Carl Van Vechten: 1,400 Portraits of literary figures, artists, and celebrities; scenic views.

 

Electronic Text Center

http://etext.lib.virginia.edu

Full text of many African American writers.

 

UVA Library  http://www.lib.virginia.edu

 

VIRGO http://virgo.lib.virginia.edu

 

English Web http://www.lib.virginia.edu/subjects/English/english.html

 

 

 

 

 

*Karen Kates Marshall* kkm7m@virginia.edu *Ald 511* 982-2677*February 2002*